Cameron-Ashley H. (BigGreenChair) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 356 - Page:
1776
1776
Author: David McCullough
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 6/21/2006


I never knew the American Revolution was like this. Everything you never learned in school or from tv. Excellent read!


Above
Above
Author: Isla Morley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/6/2017


Imaginative and thought-provoking. While others may have found it less so, I enjoyed it for being so different. One line stood out for me in this book: "Missing can make a day take forever to end; remembering, though, can make it fly." If I had one suggestion to improve it, it would have been that the last part of the book which takes place above-ground I would have wished took up the whole of the last half the book instead of a smaller segment.


After Long Silence
After Long Silence
Author: Helen Fremont
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 9/30/2006


Helen Fremont was raised as a Roman Catholic. It wasn't until she was an adult, practicing law in Boston, that she discovered her parents were Jewish--Holocaust survivors living invented lives. Not even their names were their own. A powerful memoir. Two sisters piece together the painful story.


The Alice Network
The Alice Network
Author: Kate Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 5/10/2019


While set with a few fictional characters, many were real women heroes in a network of spies in World War I. This combination of historical fact with some fiction makes the book very readable, and interesting. A good balance and a nice read.


All Over But the Shoutin'
All Over But the Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 9/17/2010


Beautiful book--the sequel is good too. I put it on my keeper shelf.


All the Little Live Things
All the Little Live Things
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/21/2018


There's nobody like Wallace Stegner who can write so vividly and well from the heart, allowing such vulnerability that we the readers are taken right into his heart as he describes his emotions. His prose is as always, just beautiful. Cover said 'will hold any reader to its last haunting page'--that was true.


Angle of Repose (Contemporary American Fiction)
Angle of Repose (Contemporary American Fiction)
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 12/22/2011


Just damn FINE writing--what a journey inside this man's mind. I loved this book.


Any Place I Hang My Hat
Any Place I Hang My Hat
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 11/16/2013


I usually avoid all books recommended by Oprah or about dysfunctional families; I found the main character likable and the book not great, but okay for a cold winter night.


Anya
Anya
Author: Susan Fromberg Schaeffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/24/2019


Well worth reading! It's on my keeper shelf.


Arcadia Falls (Random House Large Print)
Arcadia Falls (Random House Large Print)
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/7/2016


Really? It started out beautifully written and continued to interest me all the way to the 'almost end.' Then it becomes bizarre, unbelievable and loses all the good writing of the other 2/3..just a mishmash of 'oh here's the answer to the mystery'--oh no I thought of a better one, here's answer #2--oh no? well...here's....


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 894
Review Date: 3/30/2007


New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice
Selected Best Book of the Year
Winner National Book Critics Circle Award


Bad Land: An American Romance
Bad Land: An American Romance
Author: Jonathan Raban
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 4/28/2007


New York Times Editors' Choice for the Year
Winner of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Award
Win of the Pen West Creative Nonfiction Award


Barbara Bush : A Memoir
Barbara Bush : A Memoir
Author: Barbara Bush
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/21/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I admired and like Barbara Bush and I liked her even more after reading her memoir. She wrote it herself and it's a beautiful reflection of her personality and the way she thinks. "Known for her wit, honesty and compassion, Barbara Bush, in this fascinating autobiograhy candidly talks about her life. Warm, funny and touching.


The Beach Trees
The Beach Trees
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 6/15/2017


Slow, boring, schmaltzy...felt like it was written for middle school.


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 3/30/2015


Complicated, complicated. Not at all about a spelling bee. About a family that singularly and in tandem, falls apart. Well-written.


Before I Go to Sleep
Before I Go to Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/12/2018


Decidedly boring and predictable. 85% of book repeating leading up to 15% ending.


Bellewether
Bellewether
Author: Susanna Kearsley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/24/2019


I have liked other books of hers but this one read like a predictable Hallmark romance movie.


The Bells: A Novel
The Bells: A Novel
Author: Richard Harvell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/24/2012


Great book-- super fun read. In the very beginning, I was suspect--thinking, 'what kind of story is this?' but once it takes off, you are completely captivated and enchanted by all the great characters and definitely want to find out how it ends. A super love story to boot: of a man and woman, of an adopted father to a found son, of two men as lifetime partners. The addition of all that is within hearing, of life and music only makes the book that much better.


The Big Rock Candy Mountain
The Big Rock Candy Mountain
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


He was a consummate writer--this book has very very well developed characters, plot and descriptions of everything if you slow down long enough to really really read them, are wonderful. Found myself going back pages when I was reading too fast because I realized I was missing the whole, round 'sense' of a scene he set up with incredible descriptions that made you feel like you were right there. The subtlety of how deeply he understood each of the characters was impressive.


The Big Sky
The Big Sky
Author: A. B. Guthrie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/7/2015


If you've never read the A.B. Guthrie books from 1940-1950 era, you are really missing out. He wrote several outstanding westerns that just top anything I've ever read since in Westerns. He was a beautiful writer, with that 'well-written word' I so love. The forward in this book was by Wallace Stegner, and that's saying a lot because Stegner was a phenomenal writer in his own right. Read A.B. Guthrie's westerns slowly and absorb his incredible ability to describe the surroundings, the feel of everything, the beauty of that time. The plots are fun but honestly it's the writing I feel the most in love with. Yes, he's got great characters and it's fun to follow their paths, but oh don't miss the beauty of the writing and prose. Historical fiction big-time.


1 to 20 of 356 - Page: