Kelli C. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
30-Minute Meals 2
30-Minute Meals 2
Author: Rachael Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 10/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


So far, I only tried one of her recipes, the one for onion rings, and it didn't really work. But it's fun to read. Who really fallows the recipes?? Maybe someday I'll try another one. I think this book would work out good for someone who has a family..... I just have a boyfriend. But he would love it if I made the recipes in this book, instead of the things that I cook, which usually have vinegar. I would say that this cook book would really appeal to men.


Anansi Boys
Anansi Boys
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 512
Review Date: 10/27/2010


It was cute. It's no American Gods...but it didn't actually annoy me, so I enjoyed it. He seems in this one to have fallen pray to the British predilection to cute, sappy endings. Like that Prachet guy. Don't they realize that life can only end in disaster? Still, it as a magic book, and those are good.


Astrology for the Soul
Astrology for the Soul
Author: Jan Spiller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/8/2010


Awesome, she is a great astrologer.... I had to show all the people I've done charts for their north node information. You can really sink you're teeth into this one, not light, or fluffy and so accurate.


Bags That Rock: Knitting on the Road with Kelley Deal
Bags That Rock: Knitting on the Road with Kelley Deal
Author: Kelley Deal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/5/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I give this book a five because of the last bag. Awesome graffiti felted bag. This book was written before felting was mad popular, adn I haven't seen this idea in anything recent. The rest of it is real late 80's early 90's. I like the bags, there aren't any super dainty ones....they are mostly felted. Pretty nice knitting book, especially for the aging riot girl.


Das Energi
Das Energi
Author: Paul Williams
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/1/2010


"We are on the verge of the new age, a whole new world. Human consciousness, our mutual awareness, is going to make a quantum leap. Everything will change. You will never be the same. All this will happen just as soon as you're ready." Originally published by Electra Records in 1973 as a paperback (the first and only book they ever published), Das Energi received no fanfare and no reviews-but slowly the word got around and now over 100,000 people have bought it. As the author says, "People tell me again and again that they like the book because it says the things they feel and think about and have never been able to put into words." Cover art by D. Chiappone.


Don Quixote (Unabridged)
Don Quixote (Unabridged)
Author: Miguel De Cervantes Saavedra, Walter Starkie (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/27/2010


I always wanted to read this but never had time. It is HILARIOUS!! I'm really looking forward to reading the other half next summer. It's a little big. I love how it's clear that you could never make a movie out of this one. It's untouchable. I'm going to go find the enemy of all mankind and punch her in the face.


A Hidden Place
A Hidden Place
Author: Robert C. Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/5/2010


This was a very bad book, you couldn't give it away. I was surprised because usually spectrum banta science fiction is amazing, but not this one. Too cliche and rapey. Don't bother, unless you like bad writing. SOme people do... If you do then check this out, it's like, romance novel quality writing.


How To Read and Why
How To Read and Why
Author: Harold Bloom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/27/2010


This is an incredible book. I wish that I had found it sooner. If you have despaired of your genera, and just want to read a really good book, then check out How To Read and Why. I read sci-fi, which I love, but sometimes, I just want to read some awesome writing, then Harold Bloom will point the way. I love the fact that this book is addressed to woman. Woman read much more than men, it's a fact. So drop those dumb detective stories ladies, and pick up a real good read.


The New Astrologer
The New Astrologer
Author: Martin Seymour-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/4/2015


I actually really enjoyed this, although it is a bit bizzare. Written before astrology became new age neutral, there are some interesting "classical" astrology tidbits here. Some of the assertions I couldn't swallow... And there were some suggestions that seemed mad interesting, but he didn't seem to have enough space to expound. An odd, fastinating older astrology book that I very much enjoyed reading, though I don't think it affected my processes much.


Nocturnal Witchcraft: Magick After Dark
Nocturnal Witchcraft: Magick After Dark
Author: Konstantinos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I love magic books, and this is one of the best ones I've seen so far. There are some pretty practical, useful suggestions for exercises in here. You'll know if it's for you before you even open it.


The Old Order: Stories of the South
The Old Order: Stories of the South
Author: Katherine Anne Porter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/1/2010


She's amazing. How many writers are this classy and original?


Spells and How They Work
Spells and How They Work
Author: Janet Farrar, Stewart Farrar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/8/2010


Well, this was a pretty cute little book, but I ended up giving to a kid that I know who is interested in magic. There was more folk lore than technique, but it was fun to read. Lots of old little penny-anny spells. There was a few things that made me stop and think, and over all it was pleasant and interesting to read. Not a hard hitter though.


You Were Born Again To Be Together
You Were Born Again To Be Together
Author: Dick Sutphen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/28/2010


This is a nice little book about reincarnation. It's not so new-agey as to be annoying. I'm fascinated by people's past life regressions, I always feel like I learn something. Love embattled, for sure....


1 to 13 of 13