Judy P. - Reviews

21 to 40 of 49 - Page:
False Witness
False Witness
Author: Randy D. Singer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/5/2015


The book started out interesting but then it got way too violent with awful detailed descriptions of torture. The story became disjointed and just not something I enjoyed. I will try another of his books but can not recommend this one


Finding Ruth (Coming Home to Brewster, Bk 2)
Finding Ruth (Coming Home to Brewster, Bk 2)
Author: Roxanne Henke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/1/2011


I enjoyed this book very much. A great story of how important friendship is. We truly need each other to get through life's challenges.


The First Gardener
The First Gardener
Author: Denise Hildreth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/13/2017


I enjoyed this book a lot even though it was quite sad. Family tragedy brought the characters to their knees. Very well written and I was engrossed from the beginning. The reader walks with this family through tragedy, heartbreak and redemption. A lesson on how to deal with life's struggles


For Such a Time as This (Women of Hope, Bk 1)
For Such a Time as This (Women of Hope, Bk 1)
Author: Ginny Aiken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/20/2017


I enjoyed this book a lot. It is a simple and heartwarming story that I found very well written. The main character is believable and real. Enjoyable read!


Frontier Lady (Lone Star Legacy, Bk 1)
Frontier Lady (Lone Star Legacy, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Pella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/15/2015


I really enjoyed this book. Strong characters living in difficult circumstances. The main character is a woman I could really identify with in spite of overwhelming challenges. I enjoyed learning more about living on a station in Queensland Australia and the joys and difficulties the settlers faced. I have finished the 3 book series and highly recommend it to anyone enjoying real life stories with a strong Christian message.


A Hope Beyond (Ribbons of Steel, 2)
A Hope Beyond (Ribbons of Steel, 2)
Author: Judith Pella, Tracie Peterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/24/2012


Lots of history and interesting and appealing characters. I have loved the whole series


In the Shadow of the Sun King (Darkness to Light, Bk 1)
In the Shadow of the Sun King (Darkness to Light, Bk 1)
Author: Golden Keyes Parsons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/20/2015


I absolutely loved this book. It is a wonderful story and very well written. The characters are "real" and there is lots of excitement, romance, history all wrapped in a wonderful Christian message. I am sharing this book with friends who are also enjoying it very much and we have already ordered the rest of the books in the series. I plan to read everything I can get my hands on written by Golden Keyes Parsons


The Incumbent (Madison Glenn, Bk 1)
The Incumbent (Madison Glenn, Bk 1)
Author: Alton Gansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/7/2017


I enjoyed this a lot! First book I have read by this author will definitely look for more. Light reading but enjoyable!


Margo
Margo
Author: Jerry Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/22/2015


This is an older mystery series. I was uncertain about it at first but really enjoyed it. Good story line and characters. The author did a real good job and I would recommend this to all who enjoy mysteries. Twists, turns and surprises. I am currently reading the 2nd of 7 in this series. Not sure if there are more!


The Memory House (Honey Ridge, Bk 1)
The Memory House (Honey Ridge, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Goodnight
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/4/2017


I just loved this book. Wonderful story of a small southern town. Very character driven The plot concerns a wonderful old mansion converted to a bed and breakfast. The story takes you back to the history of the house during the civil war and the current life of the house as a restored bed and breakfast. Good history and very appealing characters with a little mystery and romance thrown in.


Midnight Sun (Northern Lights)
Midnight Sun (Northern Lights)
Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/23/2016


This series begins with the "The Captain's Bride" and is just great. It is a family saga about emigrants who come to America from Norway. They become quite successful starting a sailing ship building empire. The characters are compelling and the story is exciting. Good character and story development. This is my first experience with this author and I will definitely look for more of her books. All three books were really good and I highly recommend them to anyone enjoying Historical Christian fiction.


The Midwife of St. Petersburg
The Midwife of St. Petersburg
Author: Linda Lee Chaikin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/16/2017


Enjoyed the book very much great story and good variety of characters. History and insight into the times. It did seem as though it was the first book in a series but as far as I can tell it is not. An abrupt and not so satisfying ending


Millennium's Dawn
Millennium's Dawn
Author: Ed Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/31/2017


I really enjoyed this book. After reading Millennium's Eve I was anxious to hear the rest of the story. Ed Stewart does a great job and I am anxious to read his 3rd book in this trilogy. He does a great job with character development. There is a little romance, mystery and suspense. You also follow the characters faith journey.


Mountain Top
Mountain Top
Author: Robert Whitlow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/27/2015


This is a fascinating book. Lots of twists and turns, interesting and in some ways unusual character a real winner as is always the case with Robert Whitlow. He never disappoints I would highly recommend this book.


Note of Peril (Hideaway, Bk 4) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 1)
Note of Peril (Hideaway, Bk 4) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 1)
Author: Hannah Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 3/2/2017


Loved this book. Well written interesting plot and very likeable characters. Looking forward to 2nd book in series.


Pearl (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 2)
Pearl (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 2)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 9/10/2015


This entire series is well written, great plots and just plain fun and entertaining. I really enjoyed them and highly recommend them.


Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference?
Author: Philip Yancey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/30/2015


This book is one to use as an ongoing resource. It has been very helpful and revealing about what prayer is and how it impacts our daily lives. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a closer walk with God


Proof (Great Awakenings, Bk 1)
Proof (Great Awakenings, Bk 1)
Author: Jack Cavanaugh, Bill Bright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/10/2016


For anyone who enjoys history and is interested in the early church in America, this is for you. It follows the great early evangelists such as Jonathan Edwards etc. These evangelists traveled and held revivals all over the east coast. Many, many people were brought to faith. There are stories that are based on fact but the characters are fictional. it provides a picture of how people fell away from the faith of the pilgrims and early settlers. Consequently society went into decline. I found it to be a picture comparable to what is going on in our country today. The whole series is well written and thoroughly enjoyable. I learned a lot and really love these books.


The Puritans (An American Family Portrait, Book 1)
The Puritans (An American Family Portrait, Book 1)
Author: Jack Cavanaugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/5/2014


I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are very interesting and the historical facts are fascinating. There is intrigue, mystery and lots of excitement. I have read the 2nd in the series and am looking forward to the 3rd. Jack Cavanaugh is an excellent writer.


The Seat Beside Me
The Seat Beside Me
Author: Nancy Moser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/14/2017


This is a great book. I really enjoyed it. A real case of where a tragedy can turn into blessing. Nancy Moser is one of my favorite authors and this one is a real hit!
Highly recommend it.


21 to 40 of 49 - Page: