Allene L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Bastard Out of Carolina
Bastard Out of Carolina
Author: Dorothy Allison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 361
Review Date: 11/17/2005


Really enjoyed this book.


Before Women Had Wings
Before Women Had Wings
Author: Connie May Fowler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 1/18/2006


I read about 1/3 of the book. It was very reminiscent of the other "child grows up poor with parents who drink" story. I didn't find anything "new" in the book, although other people have really liked it.


The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 754
Review Date: 8/19/2006


I liked this book alot.


Everything She Thought She Wanted
Everything She Thought She Wanted
Author: Elizabeth Buchan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/19/2005
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book. I think you need to be a certain age (over 40) to really appreciate this book. A definite read.


The Final Detail (Myron Bolitar, Bk 6)
The Final Detail (Myron Bolitar, Bk 6)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 307
Review Date: 10/31/2005


My husband loved this book and he is not a reader. Not my type of book


Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2048
Review Date: 10/23/2011


A fun book - just like all the others in the series. I suggest you start with Number 1 as they sorta build on each other. Grandma Mazur is hysterical


The Killer Angels (Civil War, Bk 2)
The Killer Angels (Civil War, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Shaara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 390
Review Date: 7/17/2009


I just couldn't get into this book. Although it got great reviews, so obviously other people liked it, it just wasn't for me.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 3/31/2006


Great book. Could not put it down


The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey
The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey
Author: Walter Mosley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/23/2011


Just could not get into this book.


The Man of My Dreams
The Man of My Dreams
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 3/19/2007


I liked this book very much. Interesting and held my attention.


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1471
Review Date: 8/19/2005


I didn't think this book was as good as her previous one The Secret Life of Bees, but I'm not a fan of the romance type novel. This is definitely a "forbidden romance" type book.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2148
Review Date: 2/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Although he did not tell the truth most of the time, it is still an incredible read


The Myth of You and Me
The Myth of You and Me
Author: Leah Stewart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 4/23/2006


Great book. Couldn't put it down


The Road
The Road
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 2008
Review Date: 2/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Very unusual book. A little difficult to get into but once I did, I couldn't put it down. If you like to read something different, this is for you.


Saint Maybe
Saint Maybe
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/3/2005


Loved the book.


Second Glance
Second Glance
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 379
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


It was okay. All her later books read the same.


The Sinner (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 3)
The Sinner (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 3)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 10/23/2011


Great, just like all her books, although I guessed "who dun it".


Still Missing
Still Missing
Author: Chevy Stevens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 2/8/2012
Helpful Score: 7


I rated this book a definite 5. I work in the mental health field so I can definitely say the description of the trauma after effects is very realistic. I could not stop reading this book. I actually closed my office door and kept reading after lunch - hoping my boss wouldn't discover me!


Teacher Man : A Memoir
Teacher Man : A Memoir
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 3/22/2007


Great book.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5276
Review Date: 9/3/2005


A great book. I could not put it down while on vacation. Read it straight through


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: