Kristin C. (klokanek) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 65 - Page:
Aftershock: Penance / After the Lightning / Seeing Red (Silhouette Nocturne, No 49)
Review Date: 9/21/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Interesting reading if you're interested in psychic abilities and what could happen with Near Death Experiences. Each of the stories has its own strength and weakness, but one thing you will not question is how the characters really *love* each other. Even when my disbelief gets stretched to the point of snapping with some of the characters' behaviors, the authors never once let me doubt the depth and sincerity of the love in the story, and that really impressed me.


BLACKBOX : A Novel in 840 Chapters
BLACKBOX : A Novel in 840 Chapters
Author: Nick Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very, very excellent, and very, very hard to describe. Very glad someone in my bookclub chose this--just wish I always liked other people's selections this much!


Bring It On (Retrievers, Bk 3)
Bring It On (Retrievers, Bk 3)
Author: Laura Anne Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 1/10/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Eh, it's all right, but it's taking me a lot longer to finish than normal for a LUNA book. The problem isn't so much the focus on the Council but rather that there IS no focus. The plot feels very disjointed, what there is of one.


By Arrangement
By Arrangement
Author: Madeline Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 8/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A dishy, smart story with two compelling characters. After I finished it, I wanted to read Christiana's brother's story--I was that interested! Since that wasn't available, I ordered a whole mess of Hunter's books through PBS, and I'm loving her intelligent, thoughtful prose. If only all romances had such depth!


By Design
By Design
Author: Madeline Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 8/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Another thoughtful, compelling romance from this author. I enjoy how she shows the stupidity of class as a way to gauge worth.


Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 12/7/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is a puntacular little book, clever and fun. If you're tired of vampires and werewolves, and you've ever wondered how to combine the supernatural with family life, then this book is right for you!


Casanova's Parrot
Casanova's Parrot
Author: Mark Bryant
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/7/2006


This was loads of fun to read, particularly seeing what people named their pets! A very ice gift for an animal lover.


Cast In Courtlight (Chronicles of Elantra, Bk 2)
Cast In Courtlight (Chronicles of Elantra, Bk 2)
Author: Michelle Sagara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 12/7/2006


Michelle Sagara is one of my favorite LUNA writers--and this is a great sequel to Cast in Shadow. Excellent work!


Click Here for Murder (Turing Hopper, Bk 2)
Click Here for Murder (Turing Hopper, Bk 2)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 2/26/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Not as much fun as the bird-themed mysteries, but still a hoot (yes, pun fully intended). The second in the series, and I strongly recommend starting with the first!


The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 461
Review Date: 12/7/2006


Another fantastic Harry Bosch novel. Very atmospheric.


Coyote Dreams (Walker Papers, Bk 3)
Coyote Dreams (Walker Papers, Bk 3)
Author: C. E. Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 5/2/2007


Book three in this trilogy.


The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 909
Review Date: 6/18/2008
Helpful Score: 4


A few good sex scenes surrounded by silliness. Plot and characters laughable.


The Dawn Star (Lost Continent, Bk 3)
The Dawn Star (Lost Continent, Bk 3)
Author: Catherine Asaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/7/2006


Book three in this trilogy, from the LUNA division of Harlequin. Lots of mathiness, particularly geometry. Recommend.


Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Bk 1)
Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Bk 1)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1428
Review Date: 2/7/2007


Great, great, great fun! Totally loved this book and have read all the others in the series.


Deadly Redemption (Daughters of Myth, Bk 3) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 47)
Deadly Redemption (Daughters of Myth, Bk 3) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 47)
Author: Kathleen Korbel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/21/2008


I have to say that I've come to expect the Nocturne books to be fair-to-middlin, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this book to be a cut above. Despite the fact that the main characters are not human, their behavior couldn't be more human and somehow makes sense. The book also speaks most eloquently to the utter importance of women's authority--and how devastated a society can be, diseased, when women are denied their voice.


Dime Store Magic (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 3)
Dime Store Magic (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 3)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 657
Review Date: 12/7/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I love Kelley Armstrong's books. Love them. I'm fascinated that she can do witches so well, as she does in this novel, when she started off with the best werewolf novel I've read (Bitten). Highly recommend.


Eye of Heaven (Dirk & Steele, Bk 5)
Eye of Heaven (Dirk & Steele, Bk 5)
Author: Marjorie M. Liu
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 12/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A Dirk and Steele Agenxy paranormal romance. Typical fare for this author. Everyone's a little too perfect for my tastes, which I find rather boring, but Liu keeps me interested with her flare for description.


Eyes of Crow (Aspect of Crow, Bk 1)
Eyes of Crow (Aspect of Crow, Bk 1)
Author: Jeri Smith-Ready
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 12/9/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Stunning. A heavy leaning on Native American traditions concerning totem animals. A LUNA book.


The Fire Opal (Lost Continent, Bk 4)
The Fire Opal (Lost Continent, Bk 4)
Author: Catherine Asaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/29/2008


Good fare from this author. Recommend.


Forbidden City (Rogue Angel, Bk 5)
Forbidden City (Rogue Angel, Bk 5)
Author: Alex Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/6/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This one was better than the first one. I liked the main character a lot more. It reads very much like a screenplay for a film in some ways--heavy on action, short on depth--so a fun and light read.


1 to 20 of 65 - Page: