Krista A. (magicalfire) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Abduction (Audio MP3-CD) (Unabridged)
Abduction (Audio MP3-CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Robin Cook, Dick Hill (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first Robin Cook book I've read, and definitely won't be the last. If you've ever wondered about Atlantis, this book will grip you with plausible explanations. Wow!!


The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Bk 3)
The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Bk 3)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 12/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


While the genre of this series usually says teenager, I disagree completely. It is a great series, thoroughly absorbing, but aimed at an adult reader.


Review Date: 9/23/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This one had me going from the beginning. The voice actors are great (and numerous), and this is obviously not a low budget production. James Patterson is a new author for me, but I will continue to look for more of his works. This book was riveting from the beginning, and WOW, what an ending!


Beyond the Farthest Star
Beyond the Farthest Star
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/6/2006


By Edgar Rice Burroughs


Daughter of Fortune (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Daughter of Fortune (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Isabel Allende, Blair Brown (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/22/2009


The author makes you feel like you are right there. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.


Dragon Bones (Hurog, Bk 1)
Dragon Bones (Hurog, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 10/5/2009


MUCH better than her Sianim series! The two Hurog books are finally keeping my interest in Briggs books. I was just about to give up on this author.


The Fabulist
The Fabulist
Author: John Vornholt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/2/2006


What a great book! I thoroughly enjoyed it from the first page. Imagine if Aesop had a story written about HIM!


First Dawn (Lost Millennium, No 1)
First Dawn (Lost Millennium, No 1)
Author: Mike Moscoe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


VERY impressive! Moscoe manages to mix sci-fi and prehistoric fiction in a believable way. The characters are strong, the action is dramatic, and the book is hard to put down. The second in the series is even better than the first!


The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, Book 1)
The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, Book 1)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 459
Review Date: 12/20/2006


While the genre of this series usually says teenager, I disagree completely. It is a great series, thoroughly absorbing, but aimed at an adult reader.


Killashandra (Crystal Singer, Bk 2)
Killashandra (Crystal Singer, Bk 2)
Author: Anne Mccaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 11/1/2006


Excellent sequel to "Crystal Singer". I can hardly wait to finish "Crystal Line" the 3rd book in this series.


A Little Book of Dreams
A Little Book of Dreams
Author: Randy Burgess
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/21/2006


Very cute little book, great gift or stocking stuffer.


Man In The Tree
Man In The Tree
Author: Damon Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/9/2006


I really enjoyed this book. The main character is very human and very real.


Masques (Sianim, Bk 1)
Masques (Sianim, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/5/2009
Helpful Score: 6


If you can even get this book, you'll probably be disappointed. Yes, it is a rare book, but as a fantasy lover, I just don't see why it is in such high demand! Here is a copy of the review I wrote on Amazon...

It really was not that great. While the story is OK and -maybe- worth more than one star, I've read MUCH better fantasies for MUCH less hassle! If you like female authors with something of substance to offer, look to Tanya Huff, Amelia Atwater-Rhodes, Gael Baudino, Anne Bishop, Meredith Anne Pierce, Marion Zimmer Bradley, P.C. Cast, Diane Duane, Esther Friesner, Yasmine Galenorn, Robin Hobb, Marjorie Kellogg, Ursula LeGuinn, Holly Lisle, Jennifer Roberson, etc. While the story and the romance between the two characters was OK, I did not think the characters were as developed as they could have been, especially the ae'Magi and Myr. I didn't think there was enough plot to explain how the ae'Magi managed to convince entire populations of countries that he was really a nice guy, and I thought the constant use of Uriah every time they turned around got old. I have seen this used book priced at $349 and up!!! Don't waste your hard-earned money! Unless you can get ahold of an e-book or library version, it will sorely disappoint you. Maybe Briggs' later books got better. Lets hope so. There are so many other books out there to spend money on, if this book is priced at more than $4.99, buy yourself a cappuccino instead. It will entertain you a bit longer.


Mother Earth, Father Sky (Prehistoric Trilogy, Bk 1)
Mother Earth, Father Sky (Prehistoric Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Sue Harrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 10/9/2006


I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and highly recommend it to anyone!!


Revenge of the Fluffy Bunnies (Cineverse Cycle, Bk 3)
Revenge of the Fluffy Bunnies (Cineverse Cycle, Bk 3)
Author: Craig Shaw Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The last book in the Cineverse series, you'll laugh out loud! I was sorry that the series was over.


Slaves of the Volcano God (Cineverse Cycle, Bk 1)
Slaves of the Volcano God (Cineverse Cycle, Bk 1)
Author: Craig Shaw Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The first book in the Cineverse series, you'll laugh out loud!


Spirits of Flux & Anchor (Soul Rider, Bk 1)
Spirits of Flux & Anchor (Soul Rider, Bk 1)
Author: Jack L. Chalker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/16/2007


This is a great series, by a great author. I'm very impresssed!!


Steal the Dragon (Sianim, Bk 3)
Steal the Dragon (Sianim, Bk 3)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 10/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


While this one is certainly better than the first one, Masques (way overrated!), I never had that 'gotta find out what's happening next' feeling while reading it. It is perfectly OK to read alone, and just barely ties into the first book, though that tie-in is not intrinsic to the plot. As for the story... Well, this author is getting better, though I still like the substance of such writers as Meredith Ann Pierce and Tanya Huff. Briggs' stories are just too full of questions and unresolved plot elements.


The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials, Bk 2)
The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials, Bk 2)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 12/20/2006


While the genre of this series usually says teenager, I disagree completely. It is a great series, thoroughly absorbing, but aimed at an adult reader.


Swiss Family Robinson
Swiss Family Robinson
Author: Johann Wyss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/20/2006


A classic! Who cannot love this timeless tale?


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: