Facebook

Jennifer H. (zakoka) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
All I Ever Wanted Was a Piece of Cornbread and a Cadillac
All I Ever Wanted Was a Piece of Cornbread and a Cadillac
Author: Bo Whaley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/2/2013


This book is afunny, light read. It is one you can read a little, then pick up weeks later and still laugh.


And Then There Were None (aka Ten Little Indians)
And Then There Were None (aka Ten Little Indians)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 12/2/2013


This is my favorite Agatha Christie book. I see the whole thing happening as I read.


A Baker's Field Guide to Cupcakes: Deliciously Decorated Crowd Pleasers for Parties and Holidays
Review Date: 6/16/2014


The decorating ideas in this book are okay, but there is nothing I cannot get online or in a similar book. I needed a good yellow cake recipe, but this was not it! It was very bland and not at all light and fluffy. I have made scratch cakes before, and this is one of the worst I have come across. It was so bad, that I will not try anything further from the book.


A Bend in the Road
A Bend in the Road
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1126
Review Date: 1/8/2014


This is another good book, like all his stories. However, I did not like how it ended. He went into detail in the beginning and through the middle. But, once all is revealed, it just kind of comes to a quick end with not nearly enough information. It was as if he had a limit on the pages and had to abreviate the end. This could go on further into the story, easily.


Blue Skies, No Fences: A Memoir of Childhood and Family
Blue Skies, No Fences: A Memoir of Childhood and Family
Author: Lynne Cheney
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/30/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This was an interesting story. I am glad I listened to it instead of read it. It moves rather slowly and gives a bit tto much detail in parts, which loses my interest. Had I been reading, I would have stopped before I finished. I loved the history, though. This is a book I would have been okay reading or not reading.


Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
Author: Bill Martin Jr, Eric Carle (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 11/22/2013


We love this story. It is easy to read, easy for kids to memorize, and fun to sing.


The Corset Diaries
The Corset Diaries
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 489
Review Date: 6/30/2014


I thought this was a funny book with a very interesting concept. I really did nto think it was at all reralistic, even in the worls of reality TV. This was a work of pure fiction and not enough real world. But, it was fun.


A Dirty Job
A Dirty Job
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 6/30/2014


This was my first introduction to the humor that is Christopher Moore! I could not wait for more! This was honestly one of the funniest books I have ever had the pleasure of reading. I laughed the entire way through the book! I felt bad for the main character in some ways, but he was such a hoot readig about, that I could not wait for more. I am now hooked to Christopher Moore and his books!


The Doctor's House
The Doctor's House
Author: Ann Beattie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/19/2014
Helpful Score: 1


The book started out very interesting. I was excited to realize the book told the same story from three points of view. However, it did not keep my interested from beginning to end. The daughter's view was interesting. The mother's view was a little less interesting, but it still kept my attention. The brother's view was really boring and a bit redundant. I did not find much in his actions that made him a deeper character than he was in the first part of the book. There were a few new things that were new, but there was not enough to warrant the length of his story.


Fool (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Fool (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Christopher Moore, Euan Morton (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/30/2014


What's better than a Christopher Moore book? A Christopher Moore AUDIOBOOK! Fool is the best version of King Leer I have ever heard! With the accents and jokes and tragedy, I could not wait to go on a long car ride and listen soem more! I listened ahead of my husband so I could hear it again! I could nto get enough. This is my absolute favorite Christopher Moore book! My husband cannot stop quoting the book with the accents! It is not exageration that this book has improved my life!


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2467
Review Date: 3/18/2013


I loved this book. It was funny, sad, and shocking at times. I found myself looking forward to reading this book every day until it was finished.


Hope (Brides of the West 1872, Book 3)
Hope (Brides of the West 1872, Book 3)
Author: Lori Copeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 1/8/2014


I really enjoyed this series. This is probably my second favorite of the series. I like that she can tell a love story without dramatic tempers and crazy sex scenes, all the while keeping my attention. I looked forward to finding out what happened next.


The House
The House
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 12/9/2013


This was predictable and okay. It was not great, but not horrible. I liked all the parts concerning the history of the house. The rest was just another romance novel with all the expected twists. Nothing special.


H.R.H.
H.R.H.
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 12/9/2013


I did not like this book very much at all. I have read Danielle Steele books before and enjoyed them. I would never say they are my favorites, but this one was long and boring. Thankfully I had it on audiobook, so I did no have to actually read it. I found myself not looking forward to listening to the next chapter. When it ended I was neither impressed or irritated. It was just blah.


June  (Brides of the West 1872, Bk 2)
June (Brides of the West 1872, Bk 2)
Author: Lori Copeland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/8/2014


I really enjoyed this series. This is my least favorite of the series, but it was still good. I like that she can tell a love story without dramatic tempers and crazy sex scenes, all the while keeping my attention. I looked forward to finding out what happened next.


Layover
Layover
Author: Lisa Zeidner, Random House Inc.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/25/2014


This book was written like a poem in that you are reading the main character's thoughts through most of it, and the meaning is rarely simplistic. Since she is going through a pretty tragic crisis, the thoughts are scattered and at times become boring. It is not bad writing, but this was pretty boring. I kept waiting for something to happen, but nothing really did.


Prejudice Meets Pride (Meet Your Match, book 1) (Volume 1)
Prejudice Meets Pride (Meet Your Match, book 1) (Volume 1)
Author: Rachael Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/30/2014


This was a very cute, feel-good, easy to read book. I thnk the way both main characters were portrayed was very realistic. One immediately thinks badly of the other, while the other is too embarrassed by her sudden situation. Overall, this was worth the read.


Sins of the 7th Sister
Sins of the 7th Sister
Author: Huston Curtis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/8/2014


I could not finish it. I really wanted to, but it got boring. I usually push through, but I just could not get into this one. It may have gotten better in the middle, though, had I gotten there.


The Wedding
The Wedding
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 623
Review Date: 4/1/2014


I loved this book. It was the first book I have read by Nicholas Sparks, and I immediately bought more. I had not seen nor read The Notebook, but this book made me want to. Definately worth every moment.


1 to 19 of 19