Facebook

TeaWithMe - Reviews

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
10 Truths About Socialism
10 Truths About Socialism
Author: John Aman, Karen L. Gushta, Robert H. Knight, Andrew Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/28/2011


Interesting, disquieting, alarming, enlightening...can't say enough about this book


All the Places to Love
All the Places to Love
Author: Patricia MacLachlan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


All I want to say about this LOVELY book is that I want to live there, too.


Review Date: 10/5/2007


Settle down in a cozy chair with a cup of tea, and wander aimlessly through this book~ but don't rush, there's no hurry. When you have finished your tea and found your way back from where ever you visited, you will feel as though you've just come home from a delightful vacation. You may even have found something to make for dinner! =)


Among the Hidden (Thorndike Press Large Print Young Adult Series)
Review Date: 10/5/2007


This book will leave you anxious to know what happens next. After you've finished, you'll catch yourself wondering; could that really happen? THEN you'll have to hand it over to your kid, who's been waiting impatiently to read their book. Oops!
Read them all, it's a great adventure series.


Beautiful Girlhood: A Timeless Guide for Christian Adolescence
Beautiful Girlhood: A Timeless Guide for Christian Adolescence
Author: Mabel Hale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/8/2010


Wholesome and lovely; what a delightful way to spend some mom and daughter bonding time. Some of it will surely be spent giggling together over the quaint and pretty ways of the past. But somehow it lingers and makes you want to be more than just an average "modern day" woman...


The Christmas Sweater
The Christmas Sweater
Author: Glenn Beck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 11/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Decent story line, interesting and well written for the most part; I thought it got a little corny at the end, though.


Classic Fairy Tales
Classic Fairy Tales
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/23/2007


Scott Gustafson's illustrations are charming, beautiful...like a fairy tale come true. I wish he'd do nursery rhymes, also. And some Bible stories??


Do Elephants Jump? (Imponderables Books)
Do Elephants Jump? (Imponderables Books)
Author: David Feldman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is quirky, comical, dare I say educational...great fun for those curious children who have time and inclination to wonder WHY about every thing. (Even better for their parents, as it makes us look very smart.) Several of these questions have crossed my mind in the past- some have even crossed my lips. NOW I know who I can safely ask! No more of those strange 'why do you care?!' looks, eh?


Duck and a Book
Duck and a Book
Author: David Shannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Very very short! More like a brochure than a book, but has a cute ending; especially for a small child who is discovering that if Duck can read, so could they!


The Final Journey
The Final Journey
Author: Gudrun Pausewang
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The horrors of Naziism as seen through the bewildered eyes of a child. A heartbreaking perspective, and one that won't be forgotten.


Gathering Blue (Giver, Bk 2)
Gathering Blue (Giver, Bk 2)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 306
Review Date: 6/29/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Gathering Blue is the second book in a 3 book series that started with The Giver, a fascinating, startling book. While the first two books appear to have no relation to each other, the third and final book, The Messenger, ties thm all together beautifully. Fantastic set of books.


The Ghosts
The Ghosts
Author: Antonia Barber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book captured my imagination as a child. I read it again before giving it to my daughter and I still liked it just as much.

The lives of four children are woven together - across the span of a hundred years. In spite of the title, this book is not a ghost story. Both sets of children are alive in their own times, and travel back and forth- one set to beg for help, and the other to come to their rescue.


The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 11/8/2010


Just incredible; the whole trilogy is so worth the read!


Good Night, Gorilla
Good Night, Gorilla
Author: Peggy Rathmann
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 1/2/2008


Youngsters are delighted by this book of few words with a BIG story. The pictures make it possible for the child to 'read' it to you instead of the other way around. So fun!


How to Tell Time
How to Tell Time
Author: Klutz Editorial Staff
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/9/2018


Okay, I see lots of low stars on this because Klutz seems to have used a watch with a cheap battery that was dead on arrival.
The instructions on telling time, however, were so quick and easy, my kiddos were telling time on an analog clock in nothing flat. I loved the book.


The Lightkeeper's Daughter
The Lightkeeper's Daughter
Author: Iain Lawrence
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Yikes! Explores suicide, depression, teen pregnancy, abortion, heartbreaking brother/sister attraction (ya, eewww) and pedophilia. All very well written and woven into a haunting tale.
Moms, I'd pre-read this one if I were you. There are some things you'll want to be able to talk over with your child after they read this; that is, IF you decide to have them read it.

I didn't.


Lord of the Nutcracker Men
Lord of the Nutcracker Men
Author: Iain Lawrence
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I notice that it lists age 4-8 reading level for this particular printing; it should be Young Adult.


Lord of the Nutcracker Men
Lord of the Nutcracker Men
Author: Iain Lawrence
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Breathtaking~ Iain Lawrence is a master storyteller!


More How Do They Do That?: Wonders of the Modern World Explained
Review Date: 10/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


How Do They Do That? Wonders of the Modern World Explained...with at least one BLIGHT on the Modern World explained!! Do we really want to call Crack Cocaine a WONDER OF THE MODERN WORLD???? And why describe in detail how it is made??!!

I would never have gotten this book had I known that it doesn't stick with real wonders of the world, but delves into the sewers and rot.


Ordinary Days: Family Life in a Farmhouse
Ordinary Days: Family Life in a Farmhouse
Author: Dorcas Smucker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Dorcas Smucker has a way with words. She has had me laughing out loud and choking back tears at the SAME time. I didn't grow up in a cheerful, noisy, loving, safe and peaceful home...but after reading her stories, I feel like a familiar friend who grew up playing in their yard and coming in for dinner around their over-flowing (with family) kitchen table. Reading these books feels like a warm and welcome homecoming.


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: