Facebook

Eileen S. (smileen) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 149 - Page:
28 Summers
28 Summers
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/21/2020


I had so much fun reading this book! I felt like I smiled through every chapter. The premise is like one of my favorite films, Same Time Next Year. And every year for twenty eight years, I waited for them to wake up and realize what they were missing! Another fine story set on the island of Nantucket where you can practically smell the salt water when you turn the pages!


Accidental Heroes: A Novel
Accidental Heroes: A Novel
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/27/2018


This was a story that got me hooked right away,and didn't stop! Started with the every day life of a TSA employee who may or may not have uncovered a sinister plot.We delve into the private lives of agents,pilots,stewardesses and everyone involved in this day. I couldnt put it down! She had a few moments or repetative boredom, but I have come to expect that from her. If you like a good who-dunnit to keep you occcupied,and dont have a fear of flying, I suggest you read this one!


The Alice Network
The Alice Network
Author: Kate Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 3/28/2020


I absolutely agree with Reese's recommendation for her book club! Historical fiction, but based on real people in the Alice Network, who had enlisted women to spy during the war. This book goes from 1917,where we meet Eve being recruited for the network, to Charlie's story in 1947 about trying to find out what happened to her cousin,and meeting up with Eve.I gasped so many times throughout this book at the unexpected,and finally shed a tear on page 489. I'd definitely recommend this book!


All Fall Down: A Novel
All Fall Down: A Novel
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/4/2019


This entire book read like an autobiography. Not that that is a bad thing.I checked several times to see if she was actually writing from experience. And what an experienc! Wife, mom and daughter who's life starts unravelling one pill at at time. High pressure job, daughter with needs, father with memory loss, husband who seems to be spending time with a friend from the office. Life just piled up,and slowly it started, until her whole life is out of control. She really brought me into the world of addiction and rehabilitation. I thought it was very well written.


All the Summer Girls
All the Summer Girls
Author: Meg Donohue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/16/2014


My favorite genre is books about women,and when the story takes place at the beach, all the better! This was a wonderful story about three lifelong friends, secrets from their past,and coming together for a much needed girls weekend. Being from the Jersey Shore area made it more enjoyable for me, as they frequented places that I have been to in real life. I will be looking for more stories from this author.


Already Home
Already Home
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 12/25/2014


Susan Mallery always takes me away! Her characters are so real. She puts you in a position where you feel like you are working right beside them. I knew nothing of being a chef, or running a store, but it was nice to learn all about. I love how she makes each character someone you really care about, even the secondary ones. This was a wonderful story about how family and friends will bring you through anything.


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 580
Review Date: 8/31/2010


This was my first book by this author, and I was looking for a summer read. I found it! She had me hooked as soon as these women got off the plane. Loved the characters, loved her writing!


Beach Town
Beach Town
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 6/8/2020


Fun beach read. Of course I like most books with beach or lake in the title! Hollywood comes to small town on the Florida coast,and probems ensue. Not everyone in town is glad to have them invade. I enjoyed the characters,and some were really characters. Typical Mary Kay Andrews story ,for those of her fans.


The Beach Trees
The Beach Trees
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 5/20/2018


What a fascinating story by Karen White! However, this was one of those books where I had to draw out the family tree and keep checking back to see which generation I was in. Although I do love family stories that cross the years, I sometimes get confused about which person was related to which and in which time period these people were in. I'm sure its just me, because in each chapter she laid out the year of the flashback, but it spanned three or four generations,and was just told by two main characters. Throughout the whole book we were trying to solve the mystery of two family deaths,and how these two protagonists were ultimately going to come together. I'm not one for mysteries, but it was a heartwarming family story that kept you interested til the very last page. I do love Karen White stories. She is a good friend of my favorite author, Wendy Wax! I also loved the story behind the Katrina trees and did some research on them upon finishing the book. Having lived through a Florida hurricane, it was interesting to me to read about hurricane Katrina and learn why people will go to any lengths to save their homes and property.


Beachcombers
Beachcombers
Author: Nancy Thayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 2/6/2013


One of my favorites of Nancy Thayer's books so far. I am trying to read them all! Wonderful story about a family devestated by their mother's death years ago, who come together in the beach house on the island they grew up in to help get each other through ther various problems all summer. The one thing I didn't like was it seemed as though the instant one of the 4 women took a liking to their men,into bed with them it was! Didn't even take a first date! It didn't seem very realistic! Other than that, it was a simple,quick read,and very enjoyable.


Beauchamp Hall: A Novel
Beauchamp Hall: A Novel
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/12/2020


Usual Danielle Steel book, but enjoyable. Woman in a rut takes herself on an adventure from Detroit to England chasing a dream, and finds herself all involved with a television show she'd fallen in love with from watching videos! I adored the story and the characters. You just have to keep skimming where the author repeats the same things over and over. You'd think that would be the editor's job!


Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Author: Lisa Wingate
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 7/23/2017
Helpful Score: 4


What an amazing story based on facts about children being stolen and placed in a facility called The Tennessee Children's Home Society where they were put up for adoption. This is the story of four children who were taken off the riverboat they lived on, and forced to live in deplorable conditions, and how they found their way back to each other years later. I love reading stories and finding out they were not altogether fiction. Highly recommend this book!


The Best of Friends
The Best of Friends
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 3/11/2015


I have read several books by Susan Mallery. This one is about the relationship of two lifelong friends, that seems to be tested every step of the way. Throw in a woman who was not much of a mother to both of them,and the handsome brother, who is trying not to be a part of the madness, and you have a great story line!


Best Thing Ever (Ten Beach Road, Bk 6)
Best Thing Ever (Ten Beach Road, Bk 6)
Author: Wendy Wax
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/1/2018


This book is actually called Best Beach Ever. The perfect ending to the series I never wanted to end! It all started when I picked up a book called Ten Beach Road-and I felt as if these women had become my closest friends,and their adventures were what I looked forward to in each book. I know the area by St. Petersburg, Florida,and every mention of places familiar to me made me smile! From Fish spread to Gators, so many familiar names and places and foods! I was so excited to meet Wendy Wax after the previous book came out. From the audience ,she knew this series had to go on! Each of the books left us hanging on what would become of these women, but I am sad to say,I think everything is now wrapped up. Although,...if they do purchase the old YMCA and start renovations...


Blessing in Disguise
Blessing in Disguise
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/12/2019


Mother -daughter stories-my favorite! This story is about a woman who hasn't had the easiest life. She always seems to end up with the wrong man, but she is always left with a daughter from the relationship. Each daughter completely unique from the other-and each one is so much like their father. Each character has a tale of their own, and the action seemed non stop. I read this book quickly, because I couldn't wait to see what would hapen next!


Blue Skies
Blue Skies
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/4/2015


I just love Robyn Carr's stories! This one was no exception. Her characters are always so true to life.They always feel like people you'd want to be friends with. This one delved into the area of aircraft, and I came out knowing so much more about airlines, schedules, pilots and what makes an airline run. Her usual assortment of characters was so enjoyable, from the nasty mother to the father who just adores her to the gay best friend. Highly recommend this book!


Blueprints
Blueprints
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/8/2019


This was my first book by this author. The story was about a mother and daughter who worked together in a family business, and all the people who surrounded them. Both mother and daughter fall in love at the same time, and keep it secret from each other, which causes some hard feelings between several of the characters. The story held my interest, and gave me insight into a business I'd never known much about.


The Book of Lost Names
The Book of Lost Names
Author: Kristin Harmel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/30/2020


Another amazing and heartwrenching tale of the Holocaust. Eva gets thown into the inner workings of the resistance by becoming a forger of documents. They are mostling smuggling children into Switzerland,but also soldiers and others. There are many famlies hiding Jewish children,and they work to get them out of the country.Eva,a talented artist works with Remy in the back of a church headed by a kindly priest, forging baptism records and birth certificates,and offical papers from other countries. It is important to her to record the children's names into an old religious book in code, before they are given new identities and may never remember who they are. Many times I was on the edge of my seat. It's a story of present day and the 1940's. but it doesn't keep jumping back and forth, so it's easy to follow.


The Bookshop on the Corner
The Bookshop on the Corner
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 12/26/2017


This was recommended by a friend who read it for her book club. Marvelous tale about a librarian, obsessed with books,who is let go from her job in England,and dares to try something new in her life. She travels to Scotland, buys an old van and converts it into a bookshop, and moves to the little town where she bought the van. She has a best friend of a roommate in England that cheers her on all through the story. Two railroad train engineers, who help her bring her stash of books into Scotland. One she has a romantic flirtation with. And the curmudgeonly owner of a ranch where she is renting a place to live , who finally starts to come around buy the end of the story. If you like âtake me awayâ stories, this is for you!


Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 16)
Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 16)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 11/4/2017


The last one in the Virgin River series for me to read,and my favorite one of all! I truly cried near the end of this story.I have developed such a love and attachment for all the characters in Virgin River. In my fantasy world I would love to live there!


1 to 20 of 149 - Page: