Facebook

Eileen S. (smileen) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 154 - Page:
Bulls Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 9)
Bulls Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 9)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/21/2014


As with all her books, this author's story was so well written,you feel like you are right there smelling the water, feeling the breeze. A wonderful story that you never want to end!


By Invitation Only
By Invitation Only
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/22/2019


I am a huge Dorotheea Benton Frank fan. I've read all her books. She always writes about the places and characteristics of the Low Country,and the people living there.This one was so different.It almost felt like a comedy. Can books be comedies?We have the daughter of a northwestern wealthy family, where money is no object, meeting and marrying a southern boy, who's family is not as crazy as she had you believing at first.A very delighful tale, the feel of southern peaches and pies, and how things can change in an instant.


The Christmas Pearl
The Christmas Pearl
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/16/2014


I have been devouring all her books lately. This book was not like the rest!I didn't think I'd like it part way through it, but it finished up in an interestering story. Just a quirky kind of Low-Country tale, I guess.


Cilka's Journey
Cilka's Journey
Author: Heather Morris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/13/2019


Just finished this incredible book. It's by the author of The Tattoist of Auschwitz, and while it's not a continuation of the story, it's about one of the characters in that book and her story. It's based on facts of a woman who was in the concentration camps and then sentenced to fifteen years in Siberia at a Russian camp afterward. Her story is just amazing.


Counting by 7s
Counting by 7s
Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/15/2014


I'm not sure what or who prompted me to order it. It's an interesting tale of an 11 year old girl with autism/ Aspbergers, or at least that is the assumption I made from reading her story. She is suddenly orphaned and with the help of a very odd assortment of characters, slowly starts falling into a new family dynamic. It is interesting to ready this diary written story from her point if view. I highly enjoyed this very easy read.


Dangerous Games
Dangerous Games
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/8/2017


Pretty good book for Danielle Steel. Has a lot of intrigues, romance,excitement, travel, backstabbing...her usual story!


Distant Shores
Distant Shores
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 7/30/2015


I am a Kristin Hannah fan,and love everything she writes. So much so, that a few chapters into this book, I realized I had read it already, but enjoyed it all over again! I love stories about families and relationships.This one was interesting, in that we watched the main character, Elizabeth, finally become her own person after living in here husband's shadow for their whole married life.


Drenched in Light
Drenched in Light
Author: Lisa Wingate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/17/2019


The continuing story of Dell, the orphan child we met in Tending Roses and Language of the Sycamores. She is now the foster child of Karen and attending the prestigious Harrington School for the arts. People are aware of her talents in voice and music,but she is far behind in English,math and science. Julia is the new guidance counselor,with a whole background story of her own. She takes an interest in Dell, knowing what she is going through being completely out of her element. Interesting look at the drug use that goes on with the privileged students, and how one woman stands up for what she believes. I am now looking forward to the next book, A Thousand Voices,which I think deals with Dell in later years! I'm a HUGE Lisa Wingate fan!!


The Duchess: A Novel
The Duchess: A Novel
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/23/2017


Pretty much the typical Danielle Steel novel. This one involves a young girl who's life changes drastically at every turn. I enjoyed watching her evolve, and there was an element of surprise in some of her choices. Danielle is back to repeating the same things quite a lot throughout the story.If you love her stories, you will like this one.


Dune Road
Dune Road
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/11/2016


I really enjoyed this book.I do love stories about relationships between women friends. Jane Green had an odd style of writing, I felt. Almost like she was narrating the story instead of telling it. Maybe it's a British thing. Anyway, I loved the characters, each with their own stories and secrets, and it took me a while to figure some things out. But a nice story!


The Dutch Wife
The Dutch Wife
Author: Ellen Keith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/4/2020


Interesting story told from three people's views. During the Holocaust, a woman and her husband are taken to the camps for working with the resistance. They are separated,and she ends up working in the camp brothel. The women are used to reward prisoners for good behavior, but she catches the eye of an SS officer. His story and hers are told,as is one from another political prisoner. This one, Luciano,in Argentina in 1977. I kept waitng to see how they would connect. This is about the horrors of the concentration camps in WWII. I am very much interested in reading stories from that time.Very graphic details.


Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Author: Gail Honeyman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 10/22/2017


I just loved this book! I laughed and cried throughout the story. Such a quirky woman, the story slowly unfolds about her life, giving an explanation of why she is the way she is. A story that will touch your heart as you grow to love all the characters in it.


The Empty Place at the Table
The Empty Place at the Table
Author: John Ellsworth, Jode Jurgensen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/27/2020


This book started out really exciting. A woman visiting her young daughter in the hospital goes to grab a sandwich,and when she returns the daughter is missing. Then it develops into two more stories, both highly unbelievable (to me) . I won't talk about them due to spoilers. It kept me going, because I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next. I am really not a fan of suspense books, maybe that's why I wasnt that crazy about it.


Every Note Played
Every Note Played
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/3/2018


Another exceptional book by Lisa Genova. She was the author of Still Alice,and my favorite of hers, Left Neglected. This book was about a concert pianist who is suffering from ALS. The story starts when he begins to have truoble with his fingers playing the piano during a tour. Lisa Genova gets right into the souls of her characters and their illnesses-Alzheimer's Disease in Still Alice, traumatic brain injuries in Left neglected, and other drastic illnesses in her other books. She does have a degree in biopsychology,and a PhD from Harvard in neuroscience. I imagine that is why she describes every tiny nuance in the mind of the main character going through the progression of his disease. Tis isn't for te faint of heart. I happen to love stories that delve into the "whys' of diseases. The back story of how he and his wife met,and their marriage and divorce come into play,as se ends up taking him in because he cannot live alone and he has nowhere else to go. If this kind of story piques your interest,I highly recommend it.


A Fall of Marigolds
A Fall of Marigolds
Author: Susan Meissner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 10/18/2020


Wonderful story in two parts, which of course, finally came together in the end. September 1911, The Triangle Shirtwaist Fire in New York and the tale of a nurse, Clara Wood and her story. And September 2011,and the bombing of the Twin Towers in New York,and the story of Taryn Michaels.Both stories tugged at my heartstrings.


Falling Home
Falling Home
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 5/25/2020


I absolutely adored this book! I laughed,I cried, ..a lot. Just goes to show you that you don't need to look any further than your own back yard :)


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1039
Review Date: 3/23/2014


I have been hooked on Kristen Hannah since I read my first book she wrote. This book is no exception It's a wonderful story of two misfit girls who find each other and the trials and tribulations they have through a lifelong friendship. I laughed, I cried, and I thouroughly enjoyed every page! Please, after reading this, read "Fly Away". It's a sequel that picks up with the same two characters years later, and equally as heart warming. I have now read every single book she has written!


The First Time
The First Time
Author: Joy Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 10/31/2017


I enjoyed this book.It had romance, sadness, illness, betrayal,heartbreak, travel, and in the end, love and family won out. First time I'd read this author, who I believe is Canadian, and her book must have been given to me by one of the snowbirds who are here from Canada!


Forget You Know Me
Forget You Know Me
Author: Jessica Strawser
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/24/2020


I received an advanced reader copy of this book.The first two chapters had me hooked! Then all of a sudden, I was completely lost,and the rest of the book just seemed to drag on. This was supposed to be a suspense/mystery story. By the end of the book, the mystery was solved and I could have cared less . The only interesting part is watching how a person can get so deep in debt that there is no way out.I really can't recommend it.


Four Friends
Four Friends
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/4/2015


I really enjoyed this story about four women,neighbors,all going through their own trials and tribulations. Three who have known each other a long time,and the new neighbor who finally lets them into her life, and she into theirs. If you like stories about women and friendships, you will enjoy this story.


21 to 40 of 154 - Page: