Alice H. (read-to-me-gran) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
The American Heiress
The American Heiress
Author: Daisy Goodwin
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/1/2016


Shades of Downton Abbey, we have a very rich American girl becoming the bride of the Duke of Wareham in England. The new Dutchess has much to learn and her new husband has many secrets he is not sharing with her. I found the book fascinating and the narrator impressive with her many interpretations of the characters. It is long--14 hours--but well worth the time. It takes you back to a time we can only imagine.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 472
Review Date: 3/14/2011


After being disappointed with several of Grisham's latest books, this one stands out. Grisham's got his groove back. Lots of lawyer-ese without boring the reader. And the subject is certainly timely and interesting, with a range of fascinating characters. Not as gripping as The Firm, but definitely a good read.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 2/23/2011


This author is one of my favorites and I enjoyed this book a lot. The characters are well developed and a little quirky. The setting is interesting and the story well told. Just a light read with laughs and a few sad incidents. If you enjoyed Lucia, Lucia you will probably like this one, too.


Cracking Da Vinci's Code: You've Read the Fiction, Now Read the Facts
Cracking Da Vinci's Code: You've Read the Fiction, Now Read the Facts
Author: James Garlow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/1/2011


This book takes Dan Brown's fictional story and holds it up to the light of historic facts. I found it quite interesting in that it disproves many of the rather bizarre claims about Christian practices. This book is for the person who wants to know the facts behind the fiction.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 498
Review Date: 2/23/2011


Not up to Sparks' earlier stories, in my opinion. The characters are likable and the father, in particular, was exceptionally well depicted. The story is a tear-jerker, let's face it, but the book had more substance than the movie. (I always like the book better.)


The Everything Internet Book: Talk to Your Friends, Shop for Bargains, Find the Information You Need, and Get Free, Cool Stuff Online (Everything Series)
Review Date: 2/23/2011


Great book if you are new to surfing the net. It is very easy to follow and even us old senior citizens can learn lots of new ways to find information. Especially helpful for the un-initiated computer user.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1400
Review Date: 7/30/2011


In spite of being "turned off" by the title, this was a sweet little book, easy to read and several of my friends had recommended it. The format is in letter form which I often do not find appealing. This time it was a good way to tell the story. Interesting characters, a part of the world not often used as the setting for a story. I think I would designate this a "chick flick" sort of book, not one many guys would find interesting even if it does refer to WW2 and describes the occupation of Guernsey by the Germans. Having just read "THe Postmistress" which is also set in the same time period and is based on the WW2 bombing of England, I found it interesting to compare the two stories. Not a great book but worth reading.


The Loop
The Loop
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/30/2011


If you liked "Horse Whisperer" you'll also enjoy this story by the same author. This time it is about wild wolves and the young woman biologist sent into the hostile countryside to protect the wolves. To quote the cover, "a haunting exploration of man's conflict with nature." It has a love interest, of course, but captures the flavor of the west in an epic story.


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 1001
Review Date: 8/16/2011


After The Secret Life of Bees, it's pretty hard to keep on getting better. This story is about mid-life crisis in a woman's life and the rather extreme way she copes. I guess I liked the writing--lots of detailed imagery about the island on the North Carolina coast which almost made you smell the swamp--but I really didn't like Jessie very much. Kidd really kept you in the dark about the reasons for the Mother's unbalance and the story was well crafted. Well, ok, I liked the story, just not as well as I expected. But not a waste of time, by any means.


Midwives
Midwives
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1157
Review Date: 3/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This story is really gripping and thought provoking. It is told from a daughter's viewpoint and digs into the reasons her mother became a midwife. Because I am of the generation who had their babies in a hospital with plenty of painkillers, it was quite an eye-opener to read about the natural birth process. I found this story a page-turner that was more fascinating than I expected.


MONTANA 1948
MONTANA 1948
Author: Larry Watson
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/30/2011


Great book to listen to on a road trip. The characters are funny and believable, especially the young narrator. It gives a wonderful look at small-town life in an era when things were simple. I especially liked Marie Little Soldier, the Sioux housekeeper, whose secret is at the heart of the story. It is a revelation of love and courage and the terrible choice between family loyalty and justice.


The Shadow of Your Smile
The Shadow of Your Smile
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 5/28/2012


Typical Mary Higgins Clark but I liked it more than some of hers lately. Seems a bit "over the top" to have a nun giving birth to a love child but it did add drama to the secret. The characters were believable and I enjoyed the twists and turn of the plot.


T is for Trespass (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 20)
T is for Trespass (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 20)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 298
Review Date: 8/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Kinsey takes a new tact in this book, trying to solve a stolen identity that directly affects her neighbor. Grafton does her usual good job of storytelling, although I wasn't quite as spellbound as I have been in other books. Since this dealt with problems brought about by aging(and I have a 106 year old mother-in-law in my household) the story was very real to me. It deals with problems many people are confronted with. Grafton has a great talent for narrative. I recommend this one.


Tears of the Giraffe (No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 2)
Tears of the Giraffe (No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 2)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 617
Review Date: 3/7/2011


Precious is up to her old tricks that read so well in the first book of the series, The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency. I am always dubious of sequels, but this one introduces some delightful new characters and moves along with interesting sub plots. Once you get hooked, you will want to collect the entire series.


Very Valentine (Valentine, Bk 1)
Very Valentine (Valentine, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 8/1/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Trigiani has written several books that I really adored. This one was a little disappointing. I thought her descriptions of the big Italian family was fun and reminded me of "MY Big Fat Greek Wedding." However, Valentine was not as lovable a main character as she usually creates and I am not dying to read the next installment as I was in the Big Stone Gap series. A good enough read, but not up to the quality of her first books.


Wild Horses
Wild Horses
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 2/23/2011


Dick Francis is a great storyteller, and he deviates from his usual race track plots in this one. It is about making a movie and I really liked the new twist. Guess I just like to pretend I could live in GB and soak up that historic atmosphere. If you're a Francis fan, I think you'll enjoy this bit of a different slant on things.


1 to 16 of 16