Amy N. (nanaamy) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
Agenda 21 (Agenda 21, Bk 1)
Agenda 21 (Agenda 21, Bk 1)
Author: Glenn Beck, Harriet Parke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/18/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I wasn't sure about this book when I picked it up. However, I was pleasantly surprised as I started reading. The story flows well and I couldn't put it down. I've already got the next book in this series.


A Box of Matches
A Box of Matches
Author: Nicholson Baker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/3/2011


I ordered this book after reading the synopsis. It sounded like it would be interesting. I loved it. It was one of the best books I've read in a while that I couldn't put down. One of my top Ten favorite books of all time. Reading the book was like having a conversation with the main character. I could see everything he described very clearly. I can't wait to get other titles by this author.


Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (Friday Harbor, Bk 1)
Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (Friday Harbor, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 8/28/2011


One of best. The story flowed well and had me hooked. I couldn't put it down.


Cross Fire (Alex Cross, Bk 17)
Cross Fire (Alex Cross, Bk 17)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 2/23/2011


Another Alex Cross story that I couldn't put down until I had finished this book. I was surprised, that Alex Jr.'s mother was in this one quiet a bit. She had been an old memory in the back of my reader's mind that I didn't pay a lot of attention to her.


The Cross Gardener
The Cross Gardener
Author: Jason F. Wright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/21/2012


I picked up The Cross Gardener because I had been hoping to read something by this authoe. It was a wonderful choice. The story about a boy whose mother dies after giving birth to him on the side of the road. The story follows him through adoption at five and the love of a girl he meets in school. They marry and Lou Lou their daughter comes along. Soon Emma Jane is pregnant with their second child, a boy they are naming Willard. A car accident takes mother and unborn child leaving loss, sorrow, and griief behind. The Cross Gardener comes along and helps guide John through this rough time. Teaching him things he has forgotten.
This book is wonderfully written, the story brought tears to my eyes, but also uplifted my spirit. I would recommend it to anyone.


Damien (Nightwalkers, Bk 4)
Damien (Nightwalkers, Bk 4)
Author: Jacquelyn Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 427
Review Date: 9/11/2010


This was a great book. I have enjoyed reading this entire series.


The Dead Will Tell (Kate Burkholder, Bk 6)
The Dead Will Tell (Kate Burkholder, Bk 6)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 7/29/2014


This was a great book. The plot was good and flowed well. The main character Kate Burkholder is a great strong woman, but also soft when needed.


Defending Jacob
Defending Jacob
Author: William Landay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 6/24/2014


This book had me enthralled from the moment I started reading. Being in the position of parent, but also position of DA. And my son being the one accused. And still at the end not knowing if he's guilty or not.


The Glass Kitchen
The Glass Kitchen
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/21/2014


I enjoyed this book. It really flowed well and I sat up all night reading it, because I couldn't put it down.
It's a feel good, family drive me crazy, laugh out loud book.


How to Knit a Love Song (Cypress Hollow Yarn, Bk 1)
How to Knit a Love Song (Cypress Hollow Yarn, Bk 1)
Author: Rachael Herron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/20/2012


I love reading books about knitting that also includes a pattern for the project the characters have knitted. I also love a good romance. I got both in this book. The heroine is looking to start a new life, after her dear friend dies and leaves her an inheritance. A cottage on a piece of property, and the contents of the cottage. At ftrst glance it looks like someone was a hoarder, but the hoarded contents is wool and fiber to be spun into yarn for knitting. The nephew of the friend lives on the ranch she owned and is very surprised about the will when its read. However, every girl needs a guy that can drive her crazy in more way than one. I enjoyed this book and look forward to more by this author.


The Husband's Secret
The Husband's Secret
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 5/30/2014


I picked this book up, because it sounded interesting. When I started reading I expected the story to revolve around one husband's secret. But the story revolved around a community and brought out each character and secrets that effect them. And then to realize what would have happened if circumstances had been different.
A great read!


Lone Wolf
Lone Wolf
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 3/7/2012


Jodi Picoult is an excellent writer and Lone Wolf, is another example of her skill.
The struggle between siblings when there is a difference of opinion about medical issues involving parents takes center stage.
Edward and Cara have been estranged for years. Edward returs after their father is in a devastating car accident. The siblings don't agree on the choice of what Luke their father would want or what he would consider quality of life.
Its a heart wrenching and eye opening story that I couldn't put down until the end.


Marked by Moonlight (Moon Chasers, Bk 1)
Marked by Moonlight (Moon Chasers, Bk 1)
Author: Sharie Kohler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 9/18/2010


This was the first book I have read by this author. The book moved well and I enjoyed it. The story was very good. I will read more titles by Sharie Kohler.


Nicholas (Lords of Satyr, Bk 1)
Nicholas (Lords of Satyr, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Amber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 266
Review Date: 9/17/2010


I was disappointed by this book. The story was slower than I expected it to be. It doesn't flow well from one part to another. The story Erotica, but I had trouble believing the bad guy was dangerous. There needs to be a back story. I was left with more questions than the story answered.


No Mercy (Dark-Hunter, Bk 20)
No Mercy (Dark-Hunter, Bk 20)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 9/11/2010
Helpful Score: 5


Once again Sherrilyn Kenyon has written an awesome book in the Dark Hunter Series. Each title I've read has always had the flair for who ever the main story was about, but the crew was all there. Picking up one of her titles is like having an outing with old friends. You know they're there because they're needed. I enjoyed it. I had been impatiently waiting for a copy and was in no way disappointed.


One Kick (Kick Lannigan, Bk 1)
One Kick (Kick Lannigan, Bk 1)
Author: Chelsea Cain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 8/28/2014


I really enjoyed this book, it read well and moved quickly. It was hard to put down, because I wanted to know what happened next. I love a book that pulls at my emotions, and this accomplished that. I so hope this is tithe first in a series with Kick Lannigan.


The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
Author: Aimee Bender
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 4/19/2012


I was excited to get this book. I thought the synopsis made the book sound so interesting. The idea of eating food made by someone and know their emotions. As the book started off I was hooked by the young voice. Then the family dynamic came into play. I expected some struggle for the characters, but the brother Joseph began to stick out. And suddenly he was completely disappearing. And the entire book went haywire. The story read well, but I was disappointed with the ending of the book.


Private Berlin
Private Berlin
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/5/2013


This book is fast paced. The action starts in the first paragraph and doesn't stop until the end. The pages turn quickly and you can't wait until the next thing happen.


Private (Jack Morgan, Bk 1)
Private (Jack Morgan, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 7/26/2010


I Loved It. I'm always happy when James Patterson introduces a new set of characters and these were some of the best. It' Alex and Lindsey in the same book. I will certainly read it again. It was hard to put down when I started.


Rainshadow Road (Friday Harbor, Bk 2)
Rainshadow Road (Friday Harbor, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 3/24/2012
Helpful Score: 4


I loved it. The first book in the series was also a great book and this one is great, as well. I love how the town and houses are characters themselves in the context of these books. I enjoy following the Nolan brothers as life opens to them. And now I await the next book that will tell the third son's story.


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: