Kelly (macewoman) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
All Night Inn (Hollywood After Dark, Bk 1)
All Night Inn (Hollywood After Dark, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/10/2007


Unique world full of vampires, shape shifters and spell casters. Vampires have companions that can supply them with blood more often than humans, but require a mental link between the two. Since Jonathon and Sharon both have serious issues with linking and trust, there doesn't seem to be a way for them to stay together. When vampires and companions start dying, Jonathon has to make a choice about staying in his comfortable world or taking the responsibility his age requires.


Bad Boys to Go: Bringing Up Baby / The Wilde One / Going After Adam
Review Date: 9/12/2006


Not the best in the "Bad Boys" series of books.


Benjamin Franklin : An American Life
Benjamin Franklin : An American Life
Author: Walter Isaacson
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/27/2008


History has never been an attention-grabber for me, but recently I've been on a American history kick. I found that washing dishes was the perfect time to listen to this book. There is a lot more to Benjamin Franklin than the kite flyer of my childhood history. A lot of his press was written by him, which I think was a pretty smart move, but the information from contemporary sources also has a positive feeling. When refering to "founding father", you couldn't be more accurate than Benjamin Franklin.


Beyond the Pale (Darkwing Chronicles, Bk 1)
Beyond the Pale (Darkwing Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Savannah Russe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 5/30/2008


Interesting take on the vampire romance. Starts off slow, but by the middle it captured my interest.
Daphne has no interest in military affairs or the government, but when the choice is participate or die. Well, the choice seemed rather obvious. Darkwing is military group of vampires with the job of hunting terrorists. The leader is a human that goes by J and is none to fond of vampires. Daphne isn't sure who she can trust, and it is getting harder to tell the good guys from the bad guys. I liked that the story didn't end with a cliffhanger, but with some lead-in to the next installment.


Bloodstone
Bloodstone
Author: Gwen Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 10/18/2006


There are so many twists and turns that it is almost impossible to figure everything out before the main characters do. Jubal, Isaac, Jane and Aunt Matilda are interesting additions to the story.


Blow Me Down
Blow Me Down
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 408
Review Date: 2/19/2007


Another really fun read by MacAlister. You find yourself wanting to dig out an eyepatch and rapier and join Corbin and Amy in their battle to save themselves and the game.
The quote from Booklist is true --"Wickedly sensual and irresistibly amusing."


Born To Be Wild
Born To Be Wild
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 435
Review Date: 2/1/2007


Mary Lisa has a stalker, but no one can come up with any legitimate ideas. None of her friends can imagine someone trying to harm her and the police are out of leads.
During one of her visits to her hometown and less-than-welcoming family, she and her friends manage to step smack-down in the middle of a murder investigation.
The reason for the switches between real-life and the story on Born to be Wild is never really clear, but the factoids at the beginning of each chapter are interesting.
Lots of action, romance and interesting people make this an amusing way to spend a couple of hours.


Code Name: Nanny (Code Name, Bk 1)
Code Name: Nanny (Code Name, Bk 1)
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 258
Review Date: 4/19/2008


This is the first book I've read by Skye, and I'll be looking for more by her. Quite a few books I've read recently seem to have two different, but connected romances within the story. It keeps the storyline moving and adds more meat to the plot. This one is no exception and there is an additional mystery that's solution was quite unexpected


Dates From Hell: Undead in the Garden of Good and Evil / The Claire Switch Project / Chaotic / Dead Man Dating
Review Date: 4/27/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed the stories by Sands, Armstrong and Handeland, but I was confused and lost the entire time while reading the story by Harrison. I haven't read any of her books, so I don't know if that would clear up the confusion or not.


Even Vampires Get the Blues (Dark Ones, Bk 4)
Even Vampires Get the Blues (Dark Ones, Bk 4)
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 10/16/2006


Another fun Moravian Dark One story with fairies, elves, and demon lords thrown in for some action.


Highlander In Her Bed (Highlander, Bk 1)
Highlander In Her Bed (Highlander, Bk 1)
Author: Allie Mackay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 9/5/2007


Mara owns and operates a tour guide service. Her current trip is leading a group of ghost hunters throughout London. During this trip she is contacted by a lawyer, who tells her that she has inherited a castle in Scotland.
When Mara finds an old four poster bed in a antique shop in London and meets the man that is protecting it, she decides that she has to have it for the castle. Little does she know the bed is not protected by a man, but rather a ghost, who will stop at nothing to keep the MacDougalls from sleeping in it.
Medieval Sir Alexander Douglas, of the bed, and Mara find themselves at odds when they all reach the castle.
How can a modern woman fall in love with a ghost? Better yet, how can she keep him?


Houston, We Have a Problem (Florida Doctors, Bk 1)
Houston, We Have a Problem (Florida Doctors, Bk 1)
Author: Erin McCarthy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 9/5/2007


Josie has always had trouble being taken seriously, but now her life is a disaster. Whenever, Dr. Houston Hayes in around she is a complete klutz, and it is driving her crazy. When Dr. Hayes suggests one night of passion to to relieve their sexual tension, Josie is torn between her desire and her fear.
This romance follows the trail of most romances, but it was a lot of fun getting there. With a couple of unexpected twists and some really hot love scenes, it kept me up until 2am finishing.


I Brake for Bad Boys: Drive Me Wild / Something Wilde / Touch Me
Review Date: 9/16/2006


Another hot and steamy bad boys book.


If Only It Were True
If Only It Were True
Author: Marc Levy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 10/7/2006


Sweet, unexpected love story.


The Iron Hunt (Hunter Kiss, Bk 1)
The Iron Hunt (Hunter Kiss, Bk 1)
Author: Marjorie M. Liu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 8/13/2008


The premise of the story caused me to buy this book, but it fell short of the mark. There is so much information that it becomes confusing and hard to keep in order. I'll try the next and see if the series improves.


Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed, Bk 2)
Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed, Bk 2)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 627
Review Date: 6/19/2008


2nd in the Midnight Breed series.
Dante, a Breed warrior, inherited his ability to see his future death from his human mother. And he's been running from that future his entire life. He believes there is no chance for love or happiness in store for him. Tess fled her home in terror and has never stopped running from her past. When Dante is attacked by Rogues intent on killing him, Tess is the only one that can save him. This meeting sparks a connection that neither can seem to resist.


Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 1)
Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 1)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 719
Review Date: 6/15/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This started really slow, and I actually put it down for quite a while. I decided to send it to a friend and needed to finish it. So I picked it up and reread a few pages before my last stop and couldn't put it down. It has a strong JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood feel to it, but there were enough differences to keep my interest (and the ones that were the same are the reason I love BDB, so who can resist). I'm now looking forward to the next in the series and, of course, I already have my favorite warrior that I can't wait to read about. Strong, tortured gorgeous men are really hard to resist, at least in books.


The Kitchen Witch (Accidental Witch, Bk 1)
The Kitchen Witch (Accidental Witch, Bk 1)
Author: Annette Blair
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 458
Review Date: 1/28/2007
Helpful Score: 11


Anyone worrying that this is a how-to witch book will be sorely disappointed. It is most definitely a romance, but the main character may be a witch. She does have the wand, hat and broom. She also has a father, who thinks money is love, and a need to find a job, since a spell cost her the last one.
Logan is a reformed bad boy who has become a stuffed shirt. He has a new job and no one available to baby-sit his four-year-old son. He convinces Melody to baby-sit after agreeing to find her a job at the TV station. She takes him up on the offer, but not quite in the way he expected.
One very mismatched couple, three meddling parents/friend, and an adorable little boy make for an interesting story.


Kitty and the Silver Bullet (Kitty Norville, Bk 4)
Kitty and the Silver Bullet (Kitty Norville, Bk 4)
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 382
Review Date: 3/24/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This wasn't my favorite installment in this series, but it is a solid story that continues to fill in Kitty's world. I miss the interaction between Cormac and Kitty, but I'm starting to really like Ben as a werewolf and alpha.


Loving Lies (Men of Summer, Bk 1)
Loving Lies (Men of Summer, Bk 1)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 3/29/2008
Helpful Score: 7


Slade has waited 5 years for Jessie to turn 21, and that day has arrived. But he's afraid his sexual preferences will scare her. It turns out sex isn't their problem, but his job is.
I'm a fan of strong men, but Slade was over-the-top arrogant. He took the 'I know what's best" attitude to the extreme. After coming back into Jessie's life, he continued to lie and manipulate her. Definitely a man who is sexy in a book, but I have no desire to meet one like him in real life. The sex is hot and the romance has its sweet moments, so I didn't completely dislike it.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: