Larisa M. (citycat) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
All Aboard Airplanes (All Aboard Books)
All Aboard Airplanes (All Aboard Books)
Author: Frank Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/5/2011


My 5-year-old son enjoys this book. The illustrations are good; the book is informative and well-suited for young readers. I was, however, surprised that about half the airplanes featured in the book were military planes.


Charlie Bone and the Hidden King (Children of the Red King, Bk 5)
Charlie Bone and the Hidden King (Children of the Red King, Bk 5)
Author: Jenny Nimmo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 12/27/2015


One of the scarier but ultimately more satisfying books in the series. I enjoyed reading this with my 9-year-old son.


Charlie Bone and the Time Twister (Children of the Red King, Bk 2)
Charlie Bone and the Time Twister (Children of the Red King, Bk 2)
Author: Jenny Nimmo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 7/10/2015


I was impressed with the first book in the series and am also enjoying the second. I've been reading it aloud to my 9-year-old son, who seems to like this one better than the first, and it's all I can do not to take it into my room after he goes to bed, because I want to keep reading.


Coyote Places the Stars (Aladdin Picture Books)
Coyote Places the Stars (Aladdin Picture Books)
Author: Harriet Peck Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/4/2012


Lovely art and an engaging story. My 6-year-old and I both love this book!


A Fatal Grace (Three Pines, Bk 2)
A Fatal Grace (Three Pines, Bk 2)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/18/2012


Masterfully plotted and full of heart.


Miss Smith's Incredible Storybook
Miss Smith's Incredible Storybook
Author: Michael Garland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/29/2011


When Miss Smith reads, stories truly come alive, with characters coming out of the book and running rampant in the classroom. My son and I read the sequel, "Miss Smith Reads Again", first and I have to say I prefer that one for its more sustained story line. This book gets a little too chaotic and silly but it's still a fun read and my 5-year-old enjoys it. I hope there will be more in the series.


Official Pokemon Pokedex
Official Pokemon Pokedex
Author: Tracey West, Katherine Nolls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/27/2012


My son loves this book and reads it often. Since I knew almost nothing about Pokemon when my son became obsessed with it, I've found it helpful to read, too, so I now understand more of what he is talking about. It's well-organized and has lots of pictures.


Pokemon-- double book- Meet Cyndaquil and The Runaway Pokemon
Pokemon-- double book- Meet Cyndaquil and The Runaway Pokemon
Author: Scholastic
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/16/2013


My 7-year-old Pokémon fanatic loves this book combo. It's a good choice for young Pokémon fans.


Race to Danger (Pokemon Chapter Book, 13)
Race to Danger (Pokemon Chapter Book, 13)
Author: Tracy West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/2/2014


My 7-year-old loved this book! It's a pretty good story, and I liked the additions of the map of Pokémon locations and words to the Pokémon show theme song.


Zen Shorts
Zen Shorts
Author: Jon J. Muth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/29/2011


Stillwater the panda meets the neighbor children and tells each one a short zen story that is in some way a response to their situation. The stories are thought-provoking and make this a great book for discussion with older children.


1 to 10 of 10