Ralph B. - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Altar of Eden
Altar of Eden
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 1/8/2013


this was a good read - interesting premise - plausible enough !
fast action


Cause of Death (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 7)
Cause of Death (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 7)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 3/17/2007


Classic Scarpetta !


Gideon's Sword (Gideon Crew, Bk 1)
Gideon's Sword (Gideon Crew, Bk 1)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 8/14/2012


I put it down after reading halfway !
I found it derivative and formulaic - another tragic, heroic, genius, forced to fight evil. I don't know if I'll pick it back up.
Preston & Child seem to be "jumping on the bandwagon"!


State of Fear
State of Fear
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 568
Review Date: 9/2/2009


excellent and revealing book!

not only the story, but the well documented details regarding actual facts about climate and ecology.

Mr. Crichton was a brilliant man who injects a sane perspective into this emotionally charged issue - thus the plot line, which is believable to the point of being scary.

i may hold on to this one for awhile to review the data again.


The Taking
The Taking
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 729
Review Date: 8/1/2009


Koontz's attempt at Steven King horror.
The plot takes off dramatically and kept my attention with horrific circumstances and sympathetic characters. I wanted to see how they would survive and how they could overcome the devastating circumstances.
The ending fell flat - almost "and then I woke up" type of conclusion, with a subtle morality message.


Terminal Freeze (Jeremy Logan, Bk 2)
Terminal Freeze (Jeremy Logan, Bk 2)
Author: Lincoln Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 3/3/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This book could have been the book on which "The Thing" was based - except that it post-dates the movei by almost 50 years.
Although it was still a good yarn, I can't call this Mr. Child's best work - especially since it borrows so heavily from "The Thing".
It so happens that i just watched the original version of "The Thing".
Everything from setting to plot to strategies used to defeat the monster come directly from the movie.
The side story - Film industry megalomaniacs and divas and their "daring" escape attempt failed to do much for me.


Two Graves (Pendergast, Bk 12)
Two Graves (Pendergast, Bk 12)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/27/2013


great read - several simultaneous plots - a bit implausible, but willingly suspended my disbelief !!


The Watchman (Joe Pike, Bk 1)
The Watchman (Joe Pike, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Crais
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 3/17/2007


great start to Joe Pike's legend !


1 to 8 of 8