L M. (peachstt) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 759
Review Date: 6/23/2007


This was the first James Patterson that I have read. It's not something I usually read, but once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. The plot is fast-paced and interesting. It's an easy, entertaining read. If you've never read James Patterson before, give this book a try.


The Grand Sophy
The Grand Sophy
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


My first Heyer and it didn't disappoint. It's really a great book. Sophy is the master of sticky situations and what could be better than solving problems and falling in love in the process?


The Hazards of Hunting a Duke (Desperate Debutantes, Bk 1)
The Hazards of Hunting a Duke (Desperate Debutantes, Bk 1)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 5/3/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I think this is one of her best. It's a great read and you won't be able to put it down.


Houston, We Have a Problem (Florida Doctors, Bk 1)
Houston, We Have a Problem (Florida Doctors, Bk 1)
Author: Erin McCarthy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 4/22/2007


My first McCarthy and I LOVED IT! Can't wait to read her other works.


Kill Me Tender
Kill Me Tender
Author: Daniel Klein
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/20/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Good book featuring SleuthElvis! Do not read if you are looking for historical accuracy.


The Masque of the Black Tulip (Pink Carnation, Bk 2)
The Masque of the Black Tulip (Pink Carnation, Bk 2)
Author: Lauren Willig
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 1/13/2007
Helpful Score: 6


The Black Tulip picks up immediatly where The History of the Pink Carnation leaves off. Eloise (in trying to gather research for her dissertation) has just discovered the true identity of the Pink Carnation. It's what's she's been looking for, but there's a catch. The keeper of the archives that she's searching through when she discovered the indentity belongs to Colin Selwick (descendent character from the 1st book).

He invites (relunctantly) Eloise to his home to finish her research. At the end of Carnation, Eloise discovers who the Pink Carnation is, but also finds out about the Black Tulip, a deadly instrument of the French. So, Eloise delves into her research at Colin's home, this time following the story of Richard's (from Carnation) sister Henrietta and his best friend (and wannabe spy) Miles.

Henrietta wants to by a spy and Miles is sent on a mission. The two do not realize that they are after the samething. Throughout the story sparks fly between the pair as they try to solve the mystery of the identity of the Black Tulip. This also coincides with Eloise's own life and her growing attraction to Colin.

It's a great read, even better than Carnation. If you are looking at starting with this book...don't. Read The Secret History of the Pink Carnation first. It sets up this book and if you read this book first, it takes the fun out of finding who the Pink Carnation is in the 1st. If possible, I would have the 3rd book ready (The Deception of the Emerald Ring) because this book is another 'to be continued...' like the Carnation.


Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley
Review Date: 12/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book is amazing! While this book is about the life of Jerry Schilling, it's also a huge insight into the personal life of Elvis. It starts w/ Jerry's first encounter with Elvis and ends with present day. This book is straight-forward and I think while you get to know Jerry, you also get to know Elvis. I didn't read this book to get to know Jerry, I wanted to know about Elvis. I learned more about the personal Elvis (and it's very moving), but I also found out that Jerry was a GREAT friend to Elvis. He's what Elvis needed most.

Truly a fantastic memoir. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. Don't hesitate to read. You will not be disappointed.


Puntos De Partida
Puntos De Partida
Author: Knorre
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/17/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Good beginner college-level text.


The Rules of Gentility
The Rules of Gentility
Author: Janet Mullany
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 6/29/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I'm not 100% sure why I even had this on my wish list, but I'm glad I did. It's really a great G-rated (even though I prefer mine more rated - if you know what I mean) regency romance. It's cute, funny, and I can't wait till her next release in this g-rated genre.


The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever
The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 719
Review Date: 6/27/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I've only read it once so far (I read books at least twice before I pass them along) and I will have to say that is one of Quinn's best in recent years. She's long been a favorite author and I was almost hesitant to purchase this book. I'm glad I did.

I won't go into what the book's about because you can easily find better descriptions elsewhere. What I will say is that this book is funny (I laughed out loud numerous times) and there are even points where you'll want to cry. It's classic JQ.

If you've never read Julia Quinn, you are missing out. She's one of the best in historical romance fiction. My favorite book is The Viscount Who Loved Me (#2 in the Bridgerton series â the series is a must read). I'm not sure (I'll know after my 2nd reading) how I'll rank this one among my JQ favorites, but as of right now, I can't wait to read it again.


The Secret Passion of Simon Blackwell
The Secret Passion of Simon Blackwell
Author: Samantha James
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This is not my first Samantha James. I've read several of her other books and was not impressed. I tried this because of high reveiws on other websites and I was not disappointed. I thought it was FANTASTIC. There's no real storyline. The book just focuses on the internal conflicts of the characters (which focuses on the two) and how they reslove them.

It has its sweet parts and its gut-wrenching parts -- lots of angst.

As I said, I've read the good and bad reviews and I'll have to agree with the good ones.


Secrets of a Summer Night (Wallflowers, Bk 1)
Secrets of a Summer Night (Wallflowers, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 664
Review Date: 5/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


1st in the Wallflower Series - probably the 3rd best in the series of 4.


See No Evil (No Evil, Bk 2)
See No Evil (No Evil, Bk 2)
Author: Allison Brennan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 6/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first book by this author that I have read. I was expecting the typical crime/romance, but I was surprised. The romance was there, but not overpowering. What you mostly get is crime...and it's gruesome. At least to me it is. It was horrible, made me cringe, but it also made me turn the page to see what would happen next. I finished it in one day. What I really liked about this book was that I didn't figure out whodunit until the very end. Brennan does a fantastic job at storytelling and you won't be able to put this book down. It's the first in the Evil series.


Sugar Daddy (Hardy Cates, No 1)
Sugar Daddy (Hardy Cates, No 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 3/18/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is Kleypas' first outing in the contemporary market. She does not disappoint.

I won't say what the book is about, but it's not what you think. Give yourself plenty of time to read it because you are not going to put it down. It's a really great book and I truely hope that one character gets his own story.


Surrender to a Scoundrel (American Heiresses, Bk 6)
Surrender to a Scoundrel (American Heiresses, Bk 6)
Author: Julianne MacLean
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/22/2007
Helpful Score: 3


It's set in Victorian England during a yacht race which makes it more interesting than your run of the mill romance location. It's also a really sweet story. This was my fir Maclean and it won't be my last.


Ultimate Movie Music
Ultimate Movie Music
Author: Hal Leonard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/16/2007


Great book with a lot of songs!


The Viscount Who Loved Me (Bridgerton, Bk 2)
The Viscount Who Loved Me (Bridgerton, Bk 2)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 579
Review Date: 12/14/2006


This was my first JQ novel and it's my favorite.


What an Earl Wants (Sinclairs, Bk 1)
What an Earl Wants (Sinclairs, Bk 1)
Author: Shirley Karr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 5/15/2007


This was the first Shirley Karr and it was great! I'm always hesitant to try a new author and the only reason I chose this one because the person I was trading with (Box o Books is great!) had this book.

I loved the plot (who doesn't love the boss/secretary scenario??) and the book is really sweet. There is a lot of stares, sighs, kisses, and some touching, but no sex. It's a good PG-rated romance.

It's definately worth a read.


Worth Any Price (Bow Street Runners, Bk 3)
Worth Any Price (Bow Street Runners, Bk 3)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 12/16/2006


Great story!


1 to 19 of 19