Mike J. (mikej) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 69 - Page:
The 47th Samurai (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 4)
The 47th Samurai (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 4)
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 9/24/2012


Like many of the once interesting characters in a book that becomes a series, Bob Lee Swagger has become an unrealistic superhero. Not much going for this book unless you are very interested in Japanese swords. I have read a few of the Swagger books and am a big fan of Stephen Hunter, I don't think I would enjoy Bob Lee's company... he doesn't have a lot going for him. The story in this one is a little over the top for me, the coincidences and storyline are just too much.


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/8/2017


Not my cup of tea, tried too hard to be quirky.


Alibi (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Alibi (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Teri Woods, Paula Jai Parker-Martin (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/20/2017
Helpful Score: 1


Simplistic. Not a very interesting book, wouldn't recommend.


Annapolis
Annapolis
Author: William Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/24/2016


A good read if you are interested in Naval history, or the Annapolis area, but it copies the style of Michener without the depth. I found the tie in from the past to the present, a descendant writing a novel about the family as they work for ownership of the family home, tedious.


Baa Baa Black Sheep
Baa Baa Black Sheep
Author: Gregory 'Pappy' Boyington
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/11/2012


Interesting book in that it was written in 1958... so Col Boyington's views are still fresh and also unencumbered by today's political correctness. He also writes as if we are very aware of his post war troubles with alcohol and the law, like he is giving his side of the story that we have all heard before. The last third of the book covers his battle with post war alcoholism, if you are looking for a aviation centered book or the hijinks the the TV Black Sheep got away with, this is not the book for you.


Badlands (Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano, Bk 4)
Badlands (Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano, Bk 4)
Author: Richard Montanari
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/28/2011


I liked the plot and character development for three quarters of the book, but then it seemed the author was trying to wrap it up and it became jumbled. So so book, I wouldn't recommend it.


The Big Bounce
The Big Bounce
Author: Elmore Leonard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/11/2012


Maybe my least favorite Leonard book, I love his writing because of the coolness of his characters and the witty dialogue. This one just didn't have it. Normally the main characters are flawed but likable, but the girl, Nancy is not. It's a mildly depressing look at a depressing situation.


Bitterroot (Billy Bob Holland, Bk 3)(Audio CD)(Abridged)
Review Date: 10/16/2010


Not a bad story, I listened to it straight through on a long drive, and thought if I hear him describe the color of the sky one more time I might drive into a bridge abutment. I was able to keep it together


Bravo Romeo
Bravo Romeo
Author: Ralph Peters
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 1.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/16/2015


Too dated to be a good spy thriller. I would not recommend.


Brimstone (Virgil Cole and Everett Hicks, Bk 3)
Brimstone (Virgil Cole and Everett Hicks, Bk 3)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 1/21/2012


I am enjoying the series with Cole and Hicks, Brimstone is a good read like the first two. I enjoy the dialogue between Virgil and Everett, but find that the books are getting a little cookie-cutter'ish. Somewhat like the western films of the 40's and 50's. Identify bad guy, save innocents, and so on. Didn't stop me from ordering book 4 though.


Buffalo Girls
Buffalo Girls
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/22/2019


If you are looking for a book set in the West about depressed people becoming more depressed, this may be the book for you. I enjoy Mr McMurtry's work because of the quirky characters and witty dialogue, this had neither. Pass on this one unless you are on a quest to read all of his work.


Chasing the Bear  (Spenser, Bk 37)
Chasing the Bear (Spenser, Bk 37)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 12/8/2016


This, on the cover says it's a young Spencer novel, which let me to believe it was the backstory for the character I have read about so many times. What it means is yes, it is about Spencer when he was young, but it is a young adult (teen) novel. I have reviewed Spencer books before when the relationship between Spencer and Hawk became too much of a Bromance, this one has it in spades, with Susan, they are going to dislocate an elbow patting each other on the back. It got old quick, but it's only a two hour read. Too many good Parker novels out there to read this one.


China Lake
China Lake
Author: Anthony Hyde
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/11/2018


Reviews on other sites claim that the book picks up after a very slow first half. Life's too short to drag through that for me, I passed on waiting it out.


Cinderella Story : My Life in Golf
Cinderella Story : My Life in Golf
Author: Bill Murray, George Peper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/17/2017


A truly awful book, if Mr Murray was trying to come off as goofy and disjointed, he succeeded. Several times you have to flip back to see if you missed a page or a chapter... there was a part about the Cuban Boat-lift, that I still don't get but lack the energy to investigate. Bill's sense of humor does not translate to the page. Caddyshack references were minimal and seemed forced. Pass on this one.


Cold Service (Spenser, Bk 32)
Cold Service (Spenser, Bk 32)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 8/13/2013


This was my first non-western Parker book... I didn't think much of it, the story was fine but the relationship between Spencer and Hawk was too much for me, couple of hundred pages of "You're cool, Hawk", No, you be cooler then me, Spencer". Maybe I should not have started with book 32.


The Colorado Kid (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Colorado Kid (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Stephen King, Jeffrey DeMunn (Reader)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 5/19/2010
Helpful Score: 2


It's a story that right up front tells you is about a non-story, and it certainly was. Cute dialogue, on the audio CD the reader does a very good Maine accent, but when it ended I thought I was missing a disk. If Steve King came over to my house and told me this story, when he was done I would have said, "And...?"


Covert Warriors (Presidential Agent, Bk 7) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/7/2019


Another typical modern Griffin/Butterworth Leadership, other than our hero, is completely incompetent. This one our team of Covert Outlaws is even more snarky than they were previously. The line "if I told you, I would have to kill you" is used to the extreme.


Dead Eyes
Dead Eyes
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/13/2011


Certainly not Mr. Woods' best. Predicable, yet unbelievable.


Deep Black (NSA Series)
Deep Black (NSA Series)
Author: Stephen Coonts, Jim DeFelice
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/5/2018


I didn't like it. The characters have over the top capabilities and think that constant smart ass comments serve as wit. Cookie cutter techno thriller once the author realized he can print money by grinding out books.


Deep Shadow (Doc Ford, Bk 17) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/16/2013


I didn't enjoy this book. I listened to the audiobook on a long trip, and let me just say this; I was four hours into it and our heroes were on their first scuba tank of air that could run out ANY SECOND!


1 to 20 of 69 - Page: