Facebook

Reina B. (maddiesmommy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Baby 411: Clear Answers and Smart Advice for Your Baby's First Year
Review Date: 7/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Every new parent should own this book! It is the Encyclopedia of everything you ever need to know abotu your new baby. This book was given to me when I had my daughter and I have made sure to get it for every new mom I know, because it is a must have. When you need answers at 4AM, this is the book!


The Birthday Party: A Memoir of Survival
The Birthday Party: A Memoir of Survival
Author: Stanley N. Alpert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/21/2008


This was an incredible book. The details of his ordeal were amazing and the fact that he adds humor to such a horrible crime made this even more interesting. A quick read, highly recommend it.


Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 689
Review Date: 8/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A really wonderful book. It's better than the movie. I'd recommend this book for a 5th grader and up. A great book for a young reader or an adult.


Bringing Down the House: The Inside Story of Six M.I.T. Students Who Took Vegas for Millions
Review Date: 9/15/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A really interesting insight into the double lilfe of these MIT Students and how they bamboozled Vegas. It was a really good book. It made me want to go to Vegas!


Clapton: The Autobiography
Clapton: The Autobiography
Author: Eric Clapton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great book. Slow getting started, but I am of a "younger" generation and so I didn't know a lot of the names he throws out there in the beginning. It got really interesting for me about page 50 or so, because he starts talking about The Beatles and the Stones and then I "got it". A very interesting life story. I am not a huge Clapton fan, I actually read the book for my book club and it's something I would have never picked, so I am glad I had the opportunity to peek in on his life. It's amazing to me that he's still alive. Overall, a great read, I highly recommend it to anyone whether you're a Clapton fan or not.


Confessions of a Nervous Shiksa
Confessions of a Nervous Shiksa
Author: Tracy McArdle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/5/2007


A really funny, witty book. She is so funny how she relates her relationships to movies. If you are a movie buff and you like chick lit, then you will love this book. A good, quick read.


Dating Without Novocaine (Red Dress Ink)
Dating Without Novocaine (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Lisa Cach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 10/27/2007


This book was just "okay". It was a little boring. It started out kinda slow, then picked up. It was cute, just not anything memorable. It's a quick read, but I've certainly read better. Definitely reminded me that the dating scene sucks and made me appreciate being married.


Eat, Pray, Love : One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 8/1/2008


This was a great book. I was hooked from page 1. She writes like she is sitting on her couch with you and you are just to girlfriends having a chat. A great book. If you are looking to "find" yourself or even if you're not, it was a great read from start to finish.


From the Mississippi Delta: A Memoir
From the Mississippi Delta: A Memoir
Author: Endesha Ida Mae Holland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a really great book. This woman is amazing. She pulled herself out of prostitution among other things and educated herself and became a very highly respected person. A great read.


The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 573
Review Date: 8/3/2007


Really good read. It's a young readers book, but an interesting story with a different perspective on the world.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3423
Review Date: 4/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was a great book. I had to continuously remind myself that this REALLY happened to this woman as a child. It surely makes any dyfunctional family look like the perfect family compared to how screwed up this family was. Yet, as dysfunctional as they were, there was a bitter sweetness to it. A must read.


Hillbilly Gothic : A Memoir of Madness and Motherhood
Hillbilly Gothic : A Memoir of Madness and Motherhood
Author: Adrienne Martini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a decent book. She has a great way of writing about Post Partum Depression from a funny perspective. It started out really funny, then got more serious toward the end. Not the best book I've ever read, but it was an enjoyable read. I'd recommend it for any mother.


How Do Dinosaurs Learn to Read?
How Do Dinosaurs Learn to Read?
Author: Jane Yolen, Mark Teague (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 9/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This whole "How Dinosaurs".....series is really cute. If your kids love Dinosaurs, they will love these books.


I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell
I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell
Author: Tucker Max
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of the funniest books I have EVER read. If you get offended easily, not the book for you. If you find crass, obnoxious "boy humor" funny, then you'l will laugh out loud at this book. He talks all about his sexual escapades, his drunken stupors, etc, but it is SO funny. At least I found it to be. If you have kind of a gross sense of humor and don't get grossed out easily, you like this book! Don't say I didn't warn ya!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5726
Review Date: 12/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I have ever read. It was so compelling that I just could not put it down. It was excellent. Get ready for the fact that it's very depressing at times, but worth it. Highly recommend.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1410
Review Date: 3/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Oh my gosh, what a sweet book. Any dog lover should read this book for sure! Especially, if you have/had a dog that was crazy. We had a crazy Border Collie named Charlie and this was Charlie to the "T"! A great book, a lot of laughs and tears, well worth the read.


Me Talk Pretty One Day
Me Talk Pretty One Day
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1916
Review Date: 8/7/2007


You will laugh out loud. He is hilarious. This book I think is the best one he's written.


Number the Stars
Number the Stars
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 422
Review Date: 8/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorite books. I have read this book several times. The main character is not Jewish, but her best friend is and it's about how the main character's family protects her friend's Jewish family during the WWII Nazi regime. A great book for a young reader or adult. Highly recommend. Surprised this one hasn't been made into a movie yet.


Riding the Bus with My Sister : A True Life Journey
Riding the Bus with My Sister : A True Life Journey
Author: Rachel Simon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 2/26/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Kind of a slow read for me, but overall a very sweet book. The relationship that Rachel has with her mentally challengd sister, Beth, definitely keeps her on her toes. Rachel learns some life lessons and she has Beth to thank for that.


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2122
Review Date: 7/12/2009


I really liked this book overall, I just thought it was really slow. I don't know why. usually when I read, I want to pick it up and read it and read it and I just didn't get that with this book. It was a bit of a struggle to get through, but I thought it was a really good story, just took me a long time to read.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: