Donna P. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Anastasia's Album: The Last Tsar's Youngest Daughter Tells Her Own Story
Review Date: 1/29/2011


This version of Anastasia's life story is short and sweet giving the reader all the basic's of her short life. The book can satify all readers, those wanting just basic information, as well as those that read this book and it entices them to want to read more indepth about her life. This book is also good for pre-teens who find they are interested in history.


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Having previously read Sara Gruen's Riding Lesson's and Flying Lead Changes, I knew I enjoyed her writing. Easy flowing, with writing that built the charaters personalities and emotions well enough to understand and follow, I expected the same from Ape House. I was wrong. Ape House surpassed my expectations. Not only did Sara build knowledge of characters, emotions and experiences of those characters well enough for the reader to follow, but the story she wove regarding the bonobos was based on fact. As a reader not only could I feel the emotions that Isabel felt, I immediately pulled for the bonobos safe return. This was one of those books that quickly turned into a "I can't put down" book.


City of Night (Dean Koontz's Frankenstein, Bk 2)
City of Night (Dean Koontz's Frankenstein, Bk 2)
Author: Dean Koontz, Ed Gorman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 12/16/2010


A must read after Prodigal Son! The 2nd book in the series flows right from the first, easy to pick up. Provided more indebt character traits that makes the reader feel like they really know the main characters. Fast paced, ending of some story lines but allowing others to continue so the reader is easily enticed to read the 3rd book of the sereis, Dead and Alive.......


Dead and Alive (Frankenstein, Bk 3)
Dead and Alive (Frankenstein, Bk 3)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 12/16/2010


Once again Koontz leaves us wanting more, but only after finishing the entire read. Slow at first, and not all story lines were written with as much detail as the first two books, leaving some story lines with blunt endings. Seemed the book was a bit rushed when written, when compared to book 1 and 2. However, would definately recommend reading the compelte "trilogy" set...as we wait for book 4 due out in just a few days!


Jumble Tales
Jumble Tales
Author: Steve Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/27/2011


A collection of short stories that leave you "thinking" about the possiblities or reality of the story. Some bizzare, some standard run of the mill, a good book to have nearby so when you have a few minutes of reading time you can read one of the sort stories.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3372
Review Date: 12/18/2010


The book cover reviews and online reviews are what enticed me to ready this book, as well as it being listed on a recent list of the 100 must read books of all time. But I must add that the first third of the book seemed to include long winded details that made the read boring, but I pushed on. Then on the other hand, the actual event that caused Pi to be on the lifeboat was quick and to the point with very little detail. Once Pi found himself on that lifeboat the book picked up quite a bit, and I found it extremely interesting until the end. I would suggest this book to anyone, however, encourage them to take in the long winded details in the beginning....after all it is those details that make Pi who he was.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5409
Review Date: 1/17/2011


The story catches you from the beginning, continuing to read ever waiting and wanting to find out when mom is reunited with her daughter. While the story of life as it moves on is ok, it leaves the reader still waiting and wanting. After the long awaited reunion occurs, it leaves the reader disappointed. If as much thought, time and words had been put into the reunion and the reasons behind the boxes of pictures, other than a quick explanation, the book may have had a more satisfactory ending.


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2413
Review Date: 1/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A stunning look through the memory's of the author wen he was growing up during his formative preteen and teen years. Whether exagerated or absolutely accurate, this memoir paints a picture of a youth who even with his own personal trials, is thrown into more due to the trials of the adults in his life. The outcome is a person who did not use those trials to point fingers or place blame, but used those trials to make him who he is today. Looking forward to reading the following book by this author.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4733
Review Date: 11/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


If you've previously read Sara Gruen, this book is one of her best so far. Written well, easy reading, a book that was hard to put down. The facts about the Bonobo Monkeys were amazing, and the story was woven through those facts, making it a realistic read.


1 to 9 of 9