Facebook

Sonja M. (meri) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/20/2012


My review has more to do with the narrator, a woman whose voice was very hard to like at first. It took fully one cassette before I could listen to her voice with pleasure, but I finally got used to it. She has a hard, dramatic sounding voice. I would still recommend this audio book because of the thoroughly mysterious crime story and the beginning of the friendships of the women's murder club and for the twists at the end.


American Wife
American Wife
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 298
Review Date: 3/6/2010


Didn't really like it. Almost stopped reading it because it just didn't ring true. I felt like the author did not really like the main character, Alice. It just wasn't as good as Prep by the same author.


Bloodroot
Bloodroot
Author: Amy Greene
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 10/9/2010
Helpful Score: 5


This book spans the history of Myra Lamb's relatives from her Grandmother, Byrdie, who co-narrates the first third of the book, telling stories from her own past and that of older relatives. I didn't want the Douglas and Byrdie part of the book to end, but then got just as drawn into the Johnny and Laura part of the book. This book gets sadder and sadder as it goes along, but it also answers questions, leading the reader along as you begin to care about or hate each character introduced. It is such a believable story and really understated when it comes to the mental illness that one of the characters suffers from. It never hits you over the head about the mental illness, but you can see how it happened. Very emotional. I highly recommend it. If you like the author, Sandra Dallas, this feels a lot to me like something she might have written. Bravo, Amy Greene.


Blowing My Cover: My Life as a CIA Spy
Blowing My Cover: My Life as a CIA Spy
Author: Lindsay Moran
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/8/2011


I thought this was well written book but she veered off toward the end and got a little political. Still, it was her story, and she told it well. As she stated more than once, she does know how to write.


The Brady Bunch Files : 1,500 Brady Trivia Questions Guaranteed to Drive You Bananas!
Review Date: 8/15/2009


This book is really fun. We used it to quiz each other on a long road trip. Reading the questions and answers gave us a lot of flashback memories of watching the Brady Bunch back when we were kids.


Brooklyn
Brooklyn
Author: Colm Toibin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 10/2/2010


I thought it would be better than it was.


Buy Ketchup in May and Fly at Noon: A Guide to the Best Time to Buy This, Do That and Go There
Review Date: 1/15/2010
Helpful Score: 5


This book was a disappointment to me. I found the information in the book to be kind of repetitive and not very interesting. I think this book might be helpful for very young adults. The rest of us probably already know most of this stuff if we've read any magazines or newspapers over time. Still, I will give it one and a half stars because it was an amazingly quick read, and while repetitive knowledge, it was written in a fun way.


Confessions of a Prairie Bitch: How I Survived Nellie Oleson and Learned to Love Being Hated
Review Date: 12/28/2011
Helpful Score: 4


This is such a great memoir. It is the best of the recent three memoirs from the 'girls' of Little House on the Prairie. Alison gives all the nitty gritty of her own life, and also some of the stuff that went on during the filming of this memorable series.

She ended up not being close to Melissa Anderson, but very close with Melissa Gilbert. However, in Melissa Anderson's memoir, there was no unflattering information or even any animosity towards Alison Arngrim. I got a feeling that each one of these girls did the best they could and got the most out of the experience that they could.

They each certainly had life changing experiences being such famous child actors, and to a person, seemed to look up to and respect Michael Landon. It seems he had strong relationships with just about everyone on the set.

As other reviewers have mentioned, Alison's memoir has some very tough to read sections regarding the abuse she suffered within her family unit. I admire her for her activism and most especially for her as a person, to have survived and thrived. Bravo!


Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Author: Blaize Clement
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 2/4/2010


This book is about a pet sitter who has lost her family (husband and young daughter) to a tragic accident. She lives close by her brother and his partner. The story is about a murder that she discovers in one of her client's homes and her trying not to get too involved, but of course, she used to be in the sheriff's department, so she ends up getting involved after all. A main character is a young gay man who she befriends and tries to help save from his conservative parents. It is a gay friendly read. There are also explicit descriptions of sexual photographs she finds in the course of her search for the killer. This is something I would have liked to have known before I ordered this book.


The Duggars: 20 and Counting! Raising One of America's Largest Families
Review Date: 3/21/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Well, we love the show on tv, so I bought the book. I think they are a really nice family and have chosen to raise their kids in a loving, closed environment. Those kids could do worse, that's for sure. I don't agree with all of their methods (blanket time, huh?) but they do have a lovely family. Compared to Octo-mom, this family clearly has the advantage!


Fair and Tender Ladies
Fair and Tender Ladies
Author: Lee Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 3/20/2010


Very well written, and while I liked to read the history side of this, I couldn't enjoy the morally insensitive lead character. Still, I gave this 2.5 stars for the writing!


The First Patient
The First Patient
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 6/20/2010


I give this a 2.5 star rating. It was full of twists and turns and it was a quick read.


The Florabama Ladies' Auxiliary  and Sewing Circle
The Florabama Ladies' Auxiliary and Sewing Circle
Author: Lois Battle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 10/2/2010


I picked this book because it had sewing circle in the title, and I belong to a sewing circle (quilting). However, it really was more about the main character who had a life changing divorce and found out how to stand on her own two feet. It was a quick read and a cute story.


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 5/15/2015
Helpful Score: 1


This book was so good, suspenseful, well written, fast-paced, yikes! It was wonderful. If you love thrillers, get this book!


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 455
Review Date: 5/15/2015


One of the most hard to figure out thrillers I've read in ages. I didn't see the end coming, no way, no how. Man! Great, suspenseful, fast paced, wonderful book.


Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 3/7/2011


The reason I gave this book five stars is because I could really hear the voice of the characters shining through. I was predisposed to like this book, because I enjoyed the author's book, The Glass Castle. This book was even more enjoyable for me, because it told the story of the author's grandmother, who lived through the Great Depression, and was a remarkable, hard working woman. I was sad that she had a problem controlling her anger, especially when it was directed at her kids. If you read between the lines, you realize that some of the problems the author's mother had later in life could be traced back to some of the extreme situations she lived through as a child. If you like American history, though, and an honest, non-judgmental story, this will be enjoyable.


How High the Moon
How High the Moon
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/24/2013


My first Sandra Kring book, but I did not enjoy it. I could not believe that the voice of Teaspoon was coming from a 10 year old girl. It was too quick and flippant.


If You Lived Here, I'd Know Your Name : News from Small-Town Alaska
If You Lived Here, I'd Know Your Name : News from Small-Town Alaska
Author: Heather Lende
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 6/20/2010


The book is all about a mom living in Alaska and just basically being an obituary writer and a wife and mother. There seemed to be a lot of death in it, but let's face it, she is an obituary writer. I kind of had to remind myself of that. My bad. I didn't finish the book because it was kind of boring in that she just detailed characters and friends of hers, and I have lots of characters and friends of my own who are even more interesting.


Little Billy's Letters: An Incorrigible Inner Child's Correspondence with the Famous, Infamous, and Just Plain Bewildered
Review Date: 6/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I checked this out from the library and I am sure glad I didn't spend money on it. It just wasn't that funny. The answers that Little Billy got were strangely appropriate to the letters he sent. I didn't find one that was hilarious or inappropriate. If you perpetuate a scam and have it be funny, it should be a little bit more far fetched. Even the Tim Russert "Cheaper Chocolate Milk" comment was appropriate and encouraging had Little Billy been a real kid. I would have been delighted as a kid to get a response from any one of these folks. Too bad, I wish it had been funnier.


Making Rounds with Oscar: A Doctor, His Patients, and a Very Special Cat
Review Date: 7/9/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book is wonderful. I read it during a time of my life when my MIL was very ill and hospice began to come in to her home. This book gives a compassionate look at the comfort families get from the smallest acts of kindness, even a cat's steady determination to pay homage to those on their way out. Friends of mine also enjoyed this book.


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: