Facebook

Rick P. (rickt) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Baking Cakes in Kigali
Baking Cakes in Kigali
Author: Gaile Parkin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Excellent! It made you see life and life's problems through others' eyes and others' upbringings as well. Inspirational with horrific happenings dealt with in a way that explains without scaring you! Reminded me of "The First Ladies' Detective Agency" series in the way the lady baking cakes, forgot her name, thought from all angles about the issues she and others, faced!


The Black Tower (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 5)
The Black Tower (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 5)
Author: P. D. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Always a favorite! Had me fooled til the end! As usual!!


The Boy-Bishop's Glovemaker (Medieval West Country, Bk 10)
The Boy-Bishop's Glovemaker (Medieval West Country, Bk 10)
Author: Michael Jecks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Good but convoluted story set during the middle ages. Church rules, regulations, and who's who in the church made it a little difficult. But still enjoyable!


The Case of the Missing Servant (Vish Puri, Bk 1)
The Case of the Missing Servant (Vish Puri, Bk 1)
Author: Tarquin Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/21/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was expecting something like "The Number 1 Ladies Detective Agency" but this wasn't quite as good, BUT sometimes you need to read a couple to really get a feel for the characters. I enjoyed reading it, though!


A Constellation of Vital Phenomena
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena
Author: Anthony Marra
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/20/2015
Helpful Score: 1


A very thought provoking and insightful book about time and a war(s) that I vaguely remember even though I should have. This really brings it home in full color and yet has an amazing story of the ways in which people cope in the face of such hopelessness. Definitely recommend it!!


Crafts and Hobbies: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creative Skills
Crafts and Hobbies: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creative Skills
Author: Daniel Weiss (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Wonderfully full of crafts and how to's! Makes you anxious to get crafting!


Death of a Perfect Wife (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 4)
Death of a Perfect Wife (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 4)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 6/5/2014


Had me going, as usual! I keep guessing first one suspect and then another! And Hamish's personality is so quirky - I love it!


Death of an Outsider (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 3)
Death of an Outsider (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 3)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/21/2014


Another interesting Hamish MacBeth mystery. You see a lot of development in him and his thoughts on life and love with different books. He's a little immature here but it was still enjoyable! I recommend it!


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 9/27/2012


Starts off in a mixed up way but settles down later. Ever read Farquarson's Physique? Draws you in some place where you don't really want to go! And those dogs!


England as You Like It: An Independent Traveler's Companion
England as You Like It: An Independent Traveler's Companion
Author: Susan Allen Toth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Detailed but still homey guide to all things English with emphasis on gardens, etc. Subtle humor with personal stories that illustrate the places reviewed and living in England for more than a few days! Lots of background information on the sites listed that make you want to visit! Her enthusiasm for England is catching! I can't wait to go again to England and see some of her recommendations!


A Home at the End of the World
A Home at the End of the World
Author: Michael Cunningham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 12/7/2011


Really interesting look at families, especially with gay characters. Not what I thought it would be but also WAS what I thought it'd be. Life is what you make it or how you react to what happens to you.


Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John, Bk 1)
Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 5/17/2014


Great book with an unusual twist! Loved the period detail and an interesting new fictional character as well as an author I was unfamiliar with.


Malice in Cornwall (Erskine Powell, Bk 2)
Malice in Cornwall (Erskine Powell, Bk 2)
Author: Graham Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/30/2014


My daughter and I BOTH enjoyed it. Nice pace, plenty of local color and detail, interesting plot. Can't wait to get #1 to read.


Malice in the Highlands (Erskine Powell, Bk 1)
Malice in the Highlands (Erskine Powell, Bk 1)
Author: Graham Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/2/2014


Read book 2 first, as did my daughter and immediately requested book 1, as we enjoyed the other so much! Interesting detective and we always enjoy reading about this part of the world! Try it!!!


The Martha Stewart Living Cookbook
The Martha Stewart Living Cookbook
Author: Martha Stewart Living (Editors)
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/9/2013


Just can't get enough Martha! Fabulous!!!!


Mistress of My Fate (Confessions of Henrietta Lightfoot, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Cute romp through the back door of English society!


The Prague Cemetery (in Greek)
The Prague Cemetery (in Greek)
Author: Umberto Eco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Weird but fascinating reading. Hard to keep track unless you read it steadily! Explains a lot about the mistrust of the various religious and fraternal groups through the ages.


Scent of Darkness: A Novel
Scent of Darkness: A Novel
Author: Margot Berwin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Very weird! Not a favorite!


Simple Earth Science Experiments With Everyday Materials
Simple Earth Science Experiments With Everyday Materials
Author: Louis Loeschnig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/6/2012


Full of clever experiments that are easy to do, using commonly found objects and ingredients.


Simple Gifts : Lessons in Living from a Shaker Village
Simple Gifts : Lessons in Living from a Shaker Village
Author: June Sprigg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/17/2015


Although a little slow, I enjoyed Simple Gifts as a great way to step back from our hectic pace and relive the simpler times enjoyed by the author. The history of the Shakers was sort of hit and miss in that what she wrote was from the standpoint of those she lived with there - sort of a close-up view which was at odds often with the interesting history of the early leaders. But it did help fan the spark of interest in the Shaker story that made me order the book in the first place. I sometimes felt as if the author was given an assignment to write in a literature class and enlarged it for publication. Still I'd recommend it.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: