Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Nicole B. (shootingstar985) - - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
All-Star Feast Cookbook: Over 130 Star Athletes Reveal Their Favorite Recipes
Review Date: 5/9/2009


Most of these recipes are fairly easy to make and the athletes' background stories make it interesting. The recipes themselves aren't organized too well by category.


Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Author: Michael J. Fox
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 7/22/2009


I wanted to love this book because I have great respect for him as both an actor and a philanthropist. While some of his anecdotes stand out in my mind, this book simply didn't connect many of the major themes well and it was chronologically confusing. I skimmed or skipped pages in the 'politics' and 'faith' sections because they were repetitive and boring. It was a very eye-opening book about the challenges of Parkinson's and his fundraising efforts, but overall, it's not a book I would recommend or read again.


Don't Eat This Book: Fast Food and the Supersizing of America
Don't Eat This Book: Fast Food and the Supersizing of America
Author: Morgan Spurlock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was my main inspiration to begin (and maintain) healthier eating habits. Although it isn't your traditional 'diet' book, this book opens your eyes to the dangers of eating fast food and all the yucky consequences that go with it. Although it focuses on obesity and McDonald's, it also touches on outsourcing of children's cafeteria lunches, supermarket products, diet fads, bariatric surgery and more. A good, but sometimes scary (it takes 7 hrs of straight walking to burn off a supersized coke, fries & big mac) read!


The Idiot
The Idiot
Author: Fyodor Dostoevsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/14/2014


This book could've been just as complex & beautiful if it lost about 200 pages. Lots of characters, lots of grand oratory speeches from individual characters, yet the ending in the last 50ish pages seemed rushed & didn't give much insight into the "after" impact of the big event on the main characters.


The Last Summer (of You & Me)
The Last Summer (of You & Me)
Author: Ann Brashares
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 6/30/2009


I would've liked this book in middle school...but since I'm in my early twenties, it just did not leave an impression on me. The story and the characters lacked depth. Some of the smaller plot points such as an affair and the Robbie/Lia relationship were much more interesting to me than the actual lead characters. It made me long for the beach though, the author did a great job describing the environment and what life at a summer beach house would be like.


Lucky
Lucky
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1366
Review Date: 5/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was unsettling because it was real, but I'm glad I read it. The author doesn't just describe the rape- you learn about the aftermath, how it affects her friendships and family relaionships and how difficult her pursuit for justice was. What she went through during the lineup situation was horrible. I would recommend this book to high school and college age girls, it's a real eye opener.


Mercy
Mercy
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 796
Review Date: 4/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book was more about Cameron's affair than mercy killing, which was disappointing. What was even more disappointing was that Cameron was totally unlikable and that I couldn't grasp why he was having an affair in the first place. The notes that prefaced the chapters and the multiple Scottish references were cutesy and boring. You have practically no background information on the characters of Jamie and Maggie. This book basically feels pieced together, with little emphasis on the 'moral controversy' that Picoult usually tackles so well....


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4051
Review Date: 3/31/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This book was outstanding! Picoult did a great job of describing the family dynamic, especially when there's a sick child involved. This book brought up some controversial issues- medical ethics and organ donation. I couldn't put it down and I was so emotionally involved myself- Kate's mother just irritated me. I would highly recommend this.


Paint It Black
Paint It Black
Author: Janet Fitch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 5/9/2009


I read three chapters and I gave up. Despite all the drama of the punk scene, I was bored. I definitely liked 'White Oleander' by the author better.


Plain Truth
Plain Truth
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 658
Review Date: 3/22/2009


Couldn't put this book down, one of the better Picoult books I've read. I really enjoyed learning more about Amish life and the relationships between the main characters (both family and romantic) were well-written. The ending wasn't amazing, but I could see why that character made that choice. A nice, quick read...


Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood
Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood
Author: Koren Zailckas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 5/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I read this in college & it resonated with me. I looked back and saw moments when I was 'that' girl, which is scary in retrospect. It did a really good job of showing the motivations behind binge drinking for girls. I liked it, but I don't think I'd appreciate it as much when I'm older and my memories of college aren't as substantial.


The Tenth Circle
The Tenth Circle
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1429
Review Date: 3/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't find the characters to be likable (especially Trixie's parents) and the ending was disappointing. Don't give up on Picoult though, read 'My Sister's Keeper' instead...


Think Twice (Rosato and Associates, Bk 13)
Think Twice (Rosato and Associates, Bk 13)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 8/11/2012


It was my first book by this author & I wasn't very impressed. The short chapters were annoying & most of the characters were caricatures or just unlikeable. I am reading "Look Again" by her right now, which is much better, although still over the top.


The Witch of Portobello
The Witch of Portobello
Author: Paulo Coelho, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 11/11/2013
Helpful Score: 5


The story is engaging and the wording is exquisite at times, but it was a chore and ultimately, an annoyance, to read this book. I did not "like" many of the characters, especially the main ones. It was pounding you over the head with its excessive use of spiratulism/sacrifice,"mother" worship, etc.


1 to 14 of 14
Want fewer ads?