Amy L. - , - Reviews

21 to 31 of 31 - Page:
The Pilgrim of Hate (Brother Cadfael, Bk 10)
The Pilgrim of Hate (Brother Cadfael, Bk 10)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 10/24/2006


Cadfael is an unlikely monk due to his worldly background, but that makes his have insight into people that the others at the abby don't have. I didn't think I could place myself in a 1100 AD setting very well, but Ellis Peters helps one really feel like they're on the scene.


Prelude to Foundation (Foundation, Bk 6)
Prelude to Foundation (Foundation, Bk 6)
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 4/3/2007


Go back in time to before the foundation series. Find out about how Hari Seldon manuveurs events to start his plan & who is still around to guide him.


Prey
Prey
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 618
Review Date: 4/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a scary book. Crichton keeps you on the edge of your seat. I had to read this in the daytime. Could nanomachines become intelligent & dangerous? This story makes it sound plausible.


Rising Sun
Rising Sun
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 425
Review Date: 4/1/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Older book but Crichton tells a good story. Inner workings of Japanese business - very interesting & an unexpected ending.


She Came Back (aka The Traveller Returns) (Miss Silver, Bk 9)
She Came Back (aka The Traveller Returns) (Miss Silver, Bk 9)
Author: Patricia Wentworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/10/2012


Ms Wentworth captured my attention right from the start and the book took some turns which I didn't expect. Miss Silver is a treasure & one step ahead of the police.


Smokescreen
Smokescreen
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/13/2006


Edward Lincoln is the cool, self-effacing Englishman that makes the perfect hero. A little insight into an actor's psyche, but mostly a quessing game till almost the end as to who is the evil culprit. A good early Dick Francis novel


Treasure (Dirk Pitt, Bk 9)
Treasure (Dirk Pitt, Bk 9)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 4/1/2007


An adventure that spans thousands of years & 4 continents. If only it were true. Nevertheless, a good story that might have happened.


Trial Run
Trial Run
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/28/2006


This was written before the iron curtain fell & it has an interesting back story of how a foreigner was dealt with in Russia. As usual, Dick Frances weaves a great mystery right up till he end.


Trial Run
Trial Run
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/24/2006


The background for this mystery is in Russia while still communist. It gives an interesting view of Russian life & a foreigners difficulties in that country. a good read


Trojan Odyssey (Dirk Pitt, Bk 17)
Trojan Odyssey (Dirk Pitt, Bk 17)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 10/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A good adventure story although a little far fetched since it is set in 2006. I like the suave Pitt, but much of this book features his children, Dirk & Summer. Pitt has aged over the years, so maybe this will be the last Clive Cussler Pitt & Giordino book.


Vitals
Vitals
Author: Greg Bear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 12/28/2006


A very involved conspiracy novel. Are we living our own lives or are we being controlled by bacteria? Good right to the end.


21 to 31 of 31 - Page: