Robin C. (RobinMarie) - Reviews

21 to 28 of 28 - Page:
Revenge of the Kudzu Debutantes (Kudzu Debutantes, Bk 1)
Revenge of the Kudzu Debutantes (Kudzu Debutantes, Bk 1)
Author: Cathy Holton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/29/2008
Helpful Score: 3


The back cover reads:
The Kudzu Debutantes' 5 Rules of Revenge

1. Drink tequila, early and often. It puts you in a retaliatory mood.
2. Kick your cheating husband where it counts. Need we say more?
3. Complete secrecy is a must. Master the fine art of the poker face.
4. Forensic technology is a bitch. Kill without a trace.
5. Listen to the advice of your mother in law... then do the opposite.

This book is funny and an easy-read for vacation. I enjoy reading books like this on the plane. It's the type of book which keeps your interest but allows you to pause to listen for your flight call.


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1452
Review Date: 12/29/2008


Delores is someone we have all known, and hope to never become. I wanted to love the book, but it depressed me mostly.


The Sisters Mallone
The Sisters Mallone
Author: Louisa Ermelino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was just browsing through books, adjusting my wishlist and such when I remembered this book. I picked this book up in the new section years ago at the library. I always enjoy a read about Italian heritage in the NYC/CT section of the country. My family hails from Italy and Ireland so this book caught my interest.

I loved this book. Even years later, I think about the characters in this book.


The Sisters Mallone : Una Storia di Famiglia
The Sisters Mallone : Una Storia di Famiglia
Author: Louisa Ermelino
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/3/2010


I loved this book! It's a story about women, relationships, immigrants and all of the human drama that goes with it.


Still Summer
Still Summer
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


It wasn't an awful book. I was enjoying it until more than halfway through when it because so predictable and drama queen like.

If you don't want to think too hard and want something similar to what I'd call a beach read, this give it a try.


The Sweet Potato Queens' Book of Love
The Sweet Potato Queens' Book of Love
Author: Jill Conner Browne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 376
Review Date: 12/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I tried to get into this book. I just did not enjoy it. I didn't finish the book, which is saying something for me.


A Thousand Splendid Suns
A Thousand Splendid Suns
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 408
Review Date: 4/17/2010


I loved this book. I loved how Khaled Hosseini is flexible enough to detail the relationship and histories of women as effectively, if not better, than the male relationships detailed in his Kite Runner.

Very tough to put this book down.


Toys
Toys
Author: James Patterson, Neil McMahon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 10/21/2011


I liked the book. I am a sci fi fan and thought while the plot was a tad predictable, it was a fun and easy read.


21 to 28 of 28 - Page: