Roberta D. (pinkgirlie1977) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
Beast
Beast
Author: Judith Ivory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 4/1/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This was my first Judith Ivory book, and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. Ivory has a unique writing style that is easy to read and also very intelligent. I enjoyed this book very much -- I am a sucker for anything resembling a fairytale, and this book delivered. I found Charles quite charming and wicked -- my absolute favorite kind of hero. While I did like Louise, I didn't like that she was 18 and it showed. Good lord, that girl was immature. I appreciated her adventurous spirit, but towards the end of the book she was really setting my teeth on edge and I wanted to thump her on the head and tell her to grow up. I gave this book 4 stars -- if the heroine had been even a bit more mature it would have been an easy 5, but still so worth the read. I will definitely be reading more of her books.


The Conqueror (de Warenne Dynasty, Bk 1)
The Conqueror (de Warenne Dynasty, Bk 1)
Author: Brenda Joyce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 3/8/2010


I LOVED this book -- not for the faint of heart though. If you enjoy romping 90's romances (which I do), you will love it too. It's a keeper for me!


Cullen's Bride (Lombards, Bk 1) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 914)
Cullen's Bride (Lombards, Bk 1) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 914)
Author: Fiona Brand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/21/2009


I was extremely happy with this book. For a 250 page book it packs a big punch of romance!! I LOVED it!!! Highly romantic, I am becoming a huge fan of Fiona Brand.


Desire Untamed (Feral Warriors, Bk 1)
Desire Untamed (Feral Warriors, Bk 1)
Author: Pamela Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 12/31/2009


Pretty good -- nothing to get overly wowed over or anything, but I enjoyed this book. It's definitely one you need to check your brain at the door for. There was a couple of things that while original, were bazaar enough make me roll my eyes a little. But it was certainly sexy, and it was fun to read.


Fires of Winter (Viking Haardrad Family, Bk 1)
Fires of Winter (Viking Haardrad Family, Bk 1)
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 12/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of my all time favorite Lindsey books! Not as light as some of her books, this one tends to be a little dark, but that was part of it's charm, I thought. It had a very authentic and historically accurate feel to it. If you enjoy this one you would also enjoy Prisoner of My Desires, which is certainly one of her hottest books that I have read to date.


Flowers From The Storm
Flowers From The Storm
Author: Laura Kinsale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 12/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was my very first Kinsale book, and it will DEFINITELY be my last!! I hate to go against the flow, but to say I was not impressed with this book would be a slight understatement. I did like the idea and general plot line, but for me the hero and heroine totally ruined the book for me. She is one of the biggest prudes I have ever read about, and the hero is a bit of a wimp. No amount of great plot can hide the fact that the characterization was just horrible. I won't be reading any more books by her.


The Heart Breaker
The Heart Breaker
Author: Nicole Jordan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fantastic book. The characters were really wonderful, the story is well paced, romantic, and super sexy. If you're looking for a good old-fashioned western with plenty of heat and a heroine who makes the hero work to get her back when he loses her, this is the book for you! It's the perfect winter evening escape.


Heaven, Texas (Chicago Stars, Bk 2)
Heaven, Texas (Chicago Stars, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 460
Review Date: 5/21/2010


Gracie Snow is supposed to escort ex-football star Bobby Tom Denton to the set of the movie that he is very very late to film. Bobby Tom is bound and determined to drag his feet and take his time getting there, but he didn't count on a tenacious wallflower like Gracie. She will do whatever she needs to do to get his gorgeous butt there and save her job. And she will fall in love with her charge along the way....

There are so many things about this book I loved, I just don't know where to start. It's a little odd I loved it so much. What kind of name is Bobby Tom? What is WITH his fashion sense?? Yuck! Why does Gracie need to be plain to start?? And yet, I loved Bobby Tom so much I graciously overlooked his atrocious name and flashy apparel because how could you NOT love him? He's just so outrageous in the most adorable way. And Gracie! Poor dear! You really feel for her. She feels so boring and plain, but with the help of a makeover she starts to feel pretty for the first time ever! This book just had so much heart and emotion and it was just plain old fashioned FUN!! And I just adored the secondary romance between his mom and the town "bad guy". It was almost sweeter than the romance between Bobby Tom and Gracie. But not quite. I could just go on and on, but I'll stop now. Clearly I am keeping this one


Impetuous
Impetuous
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 1/14/2010


I actually enjoyed this book quite a lot -- it was fun and sexy with a fast moving plot. One of my favs of Foster's to date!


Innocent Fire (Bragg Saga, Bk 1)
Innocent Fire (Bragg Saga, Bk 1)
Author: Brenda Joyce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 12/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I'm REALLY glad this wasn't the first Brenda Joyce book I ever read, or I might have avoided her books. The heroine was THE biggest non-sexual heroine I have ever read about. "no, that's improper and sinful!" would be her catch phrase, I do believe. I really wouldn't have minded if the hero had dumped her butt and found someone who actually enjoys sex. For excellent Brenda Joyce reading try, "The Game", "Promise of the Rose", and "The Conqueror".


Intimate Enemies
Intimate Enemies
Author: Shana Abe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 12/30/2009


I wasn't expecting to love this book as much as I did -- one of the best historical romances I ever read. I couldn't put this book down and I never wanted it to end. The characters were fantastic, the story engrossing, and the romance between the characters was truly touching. It was a delight to read from cover to cover, and this book has permanent keeper status!!!!!


Just One Damned Thing After Another (Chronicles of St. Mary's, Bk 1)
Just One Damned Thing After Another (Chronicles of St. Mary's, Bk 1)
Author: Jodi Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 2/13/2017


If you like adventure, humor, time travel, a dash of romance, and plenty of twists and turns, I highly recommend this series. I could not put it down, and I have blown through the following two book, and am now waiting VERY impatiently to get my hands on the next book. I usually like to pace myself with book series I'm enjoying, but these are book crack. I laughed, I yelled at the room in shock, and I ugly cried. I need more!!!!


A Lady's Pleasure (Mistress Trilogy, Bk 1)
A Lady's Pleasure (Mistress Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Renee Bernard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 6/10/2013


I really enjoyed this book. It may not be the best romance ever, but it was pretty darn good, especially considering this is Bernard's first book. I enjoyed the development of the romance, the touch of spice to the sex scenes, and the ending even brought a tear to my eye. Just go into this book expecting it to be what it is, a bit of romantic sexy fluff. I have the next two books en route to me, and I'm really looking forward to reading them!


Lord of Scoundrels (Scoundrels, Bk 3)
Lord of Scoundrels (Scoundrels, Bk 3)
Author: Loretta Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 12/30/2009


A wonderful and highly romantic story -- this is just what I love to read!! The sexual tension is wonderful and this book has permanent keeper status for me.


Men of Danger: Hannah's Luck / Reckless and Yours / Tempt Me / Love Me 'Til Death
Review Date: 8/26/2011


Lora Leigh's story was great -- I really enjoyed it. It's part of the Elite Ops series and worth getting just for that story. I tried reading Red Garnier's story and found the writing style choppy with lots of short sentences. I couldn't finish it. I couldn't get into Alexis Grant's story either, as I find musician h/h storyline extremely boring. I read Lorie O'Clare's story all the way through, but felt no connection to the characters at all, and it had one or two "ick" moments for me -- like when the heroine is doing something explicit to the hero, and he thinks to himself that no woman he hadn't paid had done that for him. Gross.


On a Highland Shore (Highland, Bk 1)
On a Highland Shore (Highland, Bk 1)
Author: Kathleen Givens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 3/13/2009
Helpful Score: 3


An utterly fantastic story of epic proportions -- I had trouble putting it down. This is not a light and fluffy read, it is one of those books where the characters stay with you.


Prisoner Of My Desire
Prisoner Of My Desire
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 12/30/2009


Easily one of Lindsey's hottest books -- this book was probably my favorite of her books that I have read to date. I could not put it down -- if you want a good old fashioned bodice ripper kind of book, this is the book for you!!


The Rules : Time-tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mr. Right
The Rules : Time-tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mr. Right
Author: Sherrie Schneider, Ellen Fein
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 7/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


If memory serves me right, the authors wrote this book as a bit of a joke, but I actually think that they were right on in many areas, despite the over the top feel on a few points. If nothing else, this book is a fun read. I remember enjoying it a lot when it came out!!


Son of the Morning
Son of the Morning
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 1/14/2010


I simply adored this book. I have read it twice, and loaned it out a couple of times, and everyone I talk to is a huge fan of this book. It's not your average time-travel AT ALL. It's so much more than that -- It's as much thriller as anything else. Very fast paced and totally engrossing, this book is a permanent keeper!!!!


Tantalizing  (Blaze) (Harlequin Temptation, No 715)
Tantalizing (Blaze) (Harlequin Temptation, No 715)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/30/2010


I found this book utterly delightful. I was looking for something short, hot, and to the point, without a complicated plot. This totally fit the bill! It really starts off with a bang in the sexual tension department, and really flows at a nice clip. I read the whole thing in less than a day and was sad to see it end. If you're looking for something short and sexy, you'll love this book!


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: