Lisa C. - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Before I Wake
Before I Wake
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 6/14/2011


Not what I expected...Dee definitley has a gift for writing suspence, but this book is NOT one of her best. I would suggest the O'Malley series (my favorites), way over this book.


Isabel: Taking Wing (Girls of Many Lands)
Isabel: Taking Wing (Girls of Many Lands)
Author: Annie Dalton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/3/2009


I thought this was a very good book! It was very exciting, and just a great read! I would say it would be for ages 12-16.


Quo Vadis?
Quo Vadis?
Author: Henryk Sienkiewicz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/18/2011


I am actually in the process of reading this book still. As a 16 year old reading this for school, so far I have found that the writing style is good, and the descriptions were/are very good. It is very interesting about the early Christians.

However, there is a "side story" about Viniticus' great love/passion for Lygia. There are a couple of scenes that are very sensual, and...awkward if you know what I mean. For example, in one spot, it mentions how Lygia would look nude. Things like this kept me from rating it 5 stars, to only 2 and a half.


Soaring Eagle (Prairie Winds, Bk 2)
Soaring Eagle (Prairie Winds, Bk 2)
Author: Stephanie Grace Whitson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/9/2010


Stephanie Grace Whitson is my favorite author, and the story line of the Prairie Winds series is right up my alley, as the plight of the Native American and missions have always been of interest to me. I love the way Mrs. Whitson is able to communicate the Gospel thru her characters as they minister to each others' needs. The story line keeps you coming back for more--one of those books you can't put down, as has been my experience w/ all of her books.


The Spiritual Lives of Great Composers
The Spiritual Lives of Great Composers
Author: Patrick Kavanaugh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/19/2011


This is a great book. It tells all about the lives of our favorite composers. I highly recommend this book to anyone even slightly interested in music. One of my favorite music books..give it a try!! You won't regret it!


Standing in the Light: The Captive Diary of Catharine Carey Logan (Dear America)
Review Date: 11/3/2009


I thought this was a very good book! Very Exciting!


SummerHill Secrets, Vol 1
SummerHill Secrets, Vol 1
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 2/17/2011


I was rather dissapointed with these series. They had some good "moments" in them, but I thought (as a 16 year old) that these books were kind of a let down after all her other books. I have to say this is my least favorite series of Beverly Lewis (I have read over half her books/series). Some might really enjoy them, I just didn't. Maybe it was all the drama, etc.


SummerHill Secrets, Vol 2
SummerHill Secrets, Vol 2
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 2/17/2011


I was rather dissapointed with these series. They had some good "moments" in them, but I thought (as a 16 year old) that these books were kind of a let down after all her other books. I have to say this is my least favorite series of Beverly Lewis (I have read over half her books/series). Some might really enjoy them, I just didn't.


1 to 8 of 8