Michelle S. (chocolatyshatnr) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
29
29
Author: Adena Halpern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 6/10/2011


A fun, quick read. The characters were enjoyable (even the ones who were a little annoying). Ellie, the main character, has you rooting for her the whole time.


After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 1/31/2015


I'm glad I didn't pay for this book. A total waste of time. Granted, it only took 10 minutes to read, but still. I've read all of the Sookie Stackhouse books, and I couldn't remember who a lot of these people were. Did she just need a total number of characters included in the book to reach a certain page number? A better idea would be to focus on the characters people actually care about and spend 4-5 pages each.


The Best Laid Plans
The Best Laid Plans
Author: Lynn Schnurnberger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/28/2016


I started this book, read a chapter, and then waited two weeks to pick it back up. Never a good sign!

I had to look back at the front of the book to see when it was published, because it just seemed so dated! The pop culture things that the author threw in (Paula Abdul's judging on American Idol...really?) seemed so out of place. The book is only about 5 years old, but has not aged well. There were no surprises in this book. Every step was mapped out A to B, so there were no twists and no unexpected character moments. There was so much foreshadowing it was ridiculous. That said, I didn't hate, hate it...so two stars it is.


Between the Tides
Between the Tides
Author: Patti Callahan Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 1/31/2015


When I started this book, I wasn't sure I was going to like it. But after the first few chapters, it became harder to put down. I figured out the "twists" long before the reveals in the book, but the main character's realizations were well written and didn't lose impact just because I'd already figured out where the story was going.


The Body Finder
The Body Finder
Author: Kimberly Derting
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 3/28/2016


This book had a lot of potential, but I didn't find myself with any great need to finish it. The "romance" fell flat, and Jay seemed very overbearing and overprotective. There was no feeling of danger, even when girls were being kidnapped and killed and the ending felt rushed. Violet's powers were interesting, but maybe would have worked better in a more adult thriller, instead of a YA novel.


Devoted in Death (In Death, Bk 41)
Devoted in Death (In Death, Bk 41)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 3/28/2016


Another great entry into the series. It seems like in the last couple of books we have been spending more time with Dallas' cops at work, and I'm really enjoying their increased integration into the story.


Doctor Who: A History
Doctor Who: A History
Author: Alan Kistler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/28/2016


An interesting look at the history of the show and up through the Matt Smith years. A light gloss of information (an in-depth history would need several large editions), I did learn a few things about the original seasons of Doctor Who before discovering the modern program.


Down the Rabbit Hole: Wonderment in Death / Alice and Earl in Wonderland / iLove / A True Heart / Fallen
Review Date: 3/28/2016


I bought this book mainly for the In Death short story, and as always that was on point.

The other stories were not as successful. The three stories in the middle of the book dragged on. The last story "Fallen" had a lot of potential. I've read a very similar story before in a full-length book, so that might explain why it felt really abrupt. It was the shortest story in the book.


Everlasting (Immortals, Bk 6)
Everlasting (Immortals, Bk 6)
Author: Alyson Noel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/28/2016


It's done! And, I think this book might have been the best one since the first one. Characters were minimally annoying (although Damen had his moments)! Characters were developed! I actually found myself skimming a lot less in this book than the last couple previous, because there didn't seem to be as much re-capping.


Overall, this series would have been much better as a trilogy.


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 445
Review Date: 3/28/2016


Really well written book. I didn't really like anyone in this book, but they felt real with their flaws and I felt compelled to keep reading to find out what happened. I actually figured out the twist, but I'm thinking that was just a lucky guess.


Golden
Golden
Author: Jessi Kirby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/31/2015


This was a very relatable coming-of-age story. A good girl coming to the end of her senior year, Parker has always done what her mother wanted and followed the path laid out for her. Until she has a moment of realization and decides to solve a town mystery and breaks the rules for once in her life and do something she wants to do. A very quick but satisfying read.


Gone (Gone, Bk 1)
Gone (Gone, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 3/28/2016


For the first half of this book, I considered putting it down and coming back to it later. But I was pleasantly surprised when the story picked up speed after I got past the half-way point. I am not the intended audience for this book, but I think kids around the same age as the kids in the book would really like this one.


Home Front
Home Front
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 3/28/2016


I couldn't put this book down. I read a few chapters one night, and finished it the next day. Some of the characters were hard to like at times (or for the entire book), but the story was very engaging! Even though I could guess how it was going to end, I still wanted to read it on the page.


Is This Tomorrow: A Novel
Is This Tomorrow: A Novel
Author: Caroline Leavitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/28/2016


I really enjoyed this book. After the first couple of chapters, it was hard to put down. There were a few spots it dragged, but I wanted to keep going to find out what happened and how it was all going to wrap up.


It's Not Really About the Hair: The Honest Truth About Life, Love, and the Business of Beauty
Review Date: 1/31/2015


I really enjoyed this book. As a fan of Tabatha on Tabatha's Salon Takeover, it was very interesting to read about how she got her start and her thoughts on how she conducts business and other aspects of her life. She's certainly had many interesting travels and experiences. I'll be on the lookout for her next book!


Review Date: 3/28/2016


Jen Lancaster never fails to make me laugh. Another great entry into her series of memoirs.


Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
Author: Susanna Clarke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 3/28/2016


This is not a book that will appeal to everyone. When I started it I thought I might be one of those people. It felt so slow moving at first. But by the time I finished, it has landed a spot on a list of my favorite books. Well-developed and unforgettable characters, a believable world with an alternate history, humor...I'll be re-reading this one for sure.


Legend (Legend, Bk 1)
Legend (Legend, Bk 1)
Author: Marie Lu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/28/2016


I really enjoyed this story, and I'm looking forward to picking up the next book in the trilogy.


Mean Streak
Mean Streak
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/28/2016


This was a really good mystery/suspense. It took several turns that didn't even occur to me, probably because I just wanted to get to the next page. There were a couple of exposition spots in the book that took me out of the story a bit, and some of the language used by the characters in places didn't ring true, but other than little nitpicky stuff I really enjoyed it. I used to read a lot of Sandra Brown...I need to remember to pick up some more of her novels!


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, Bk 1)
Review Date: 3/28/2016


Super-quick read. At the end I felt like I had just been reading a setup for the sequel. But the author has an easy-to-read style that keeps you interested. The photos were smartly integrated in to the story.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: