Facebook

Julie K. (swingingwithmonkeys) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
The Big Little Book of Jewish Wit  Wisdom
The Big Little Book of Jewish Wit Wisdom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/30/2012


This is one of my favorite books! I am generally quite discerning about humor, averse to schmaltz, but I find this book a delight. Equally important, the relatives to whom I have given this when they are going through difficult times have enjoyed and appreciated it. It strikes just the right balance between philosophy and humor (and irony, perhaps the perfect marriage of both),which seems to tone down the funniness, while still amusing and providing levity, often a very important respite from sadness or worry. It is also a completely painless way to learn Yiddishkeit for this culturally deprived Boomer!


A Clean Kill (April Woo, Bk 9)
A Clean Kill (April Woo, Bk 9)
Author: Leslie Glass
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 4/7/2006


I loved it! Glass's writing keeps me up much too late, some of the time laughing out loud.


The Farewell Chronicles: How We Really Respond to Death
The Farewell Chronicles: How We Really Respond to Death
Author: Anneli S. Rufus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/13/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The Farewell Chronicles is one of the finest books I have read. The author establishes a rapport with the reader in the blink of an eye, and from that point on, Ms. Rufus allows the reader to feel that she is speaking personally and directly to her or him.If this is the only book you read about death, you could not be better served. What a beautiful, special book.


Final Target
Final Target
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/6/2006


Great combination of medical, political & law enforcement suspense.


The Hot Zone
The Hot Zone
Author: Richard Preston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 409
Review Date: 10/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I read most of the 35 reviews available, and I changed my mind about reading it! It sounds like a thriller that's just a little too real for me to read before sleep- which is when I read for entertainment.


The Little Giant Encyclopedia of One-Liners
Review Date: 10/30/2006


Plenty of material for would-be stand-up comics, but use with discretion if you seek success!


Patriot Games (Jack Ryan, Bk 1)
Patriot Games (Jack Ryan, Bk 1)
Author: Tom Clancy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/6/2006


Very intricate plot- not for bedtime readers!


Red Light (Merci Rayborn, Bk 2)
Red Light (Merci Rayborn, Bk 2)
Author: T. Jefferson Parker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 4/6/2006


Very engrossing!


Running on Empty
Running on Empty
Author: Ellen Sue Stern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/29/2006


Most of us can find ourselves in at least a few pages of this daily meditation book (subtitled: Meditations for Indispensable Women). It's one of the better books I've seen in this genre.


Springs of Water
Springs of Water
Author: Mary Jo Weaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/28/2007


Complete Title is: Springs of Water in a Dry Land; Spiritual Survival for Catholic Women Today. By Mary Jo Weaver


Wherever You Go, There You Are : Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life
Review Date: 10/22/2006


Very important book.


1 to 11 of 11