Stacey M. - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Baby Om: Yoga for Mothers and Babies
Baby Om: Yoga for Mothers and Babies
Author: Laura Staton, Sarah Perron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/6/2007


A lovely book with helpful information and exercise photos.


The Egoscue Method of Health Through Motion: A Revolutionary Program That Lets You Rediscover the Body's Power To Protect and Rejuvenate Itself
Review Date: 3/18/2007


Useful conditioning ideas. Helpful for those of us with back and other musculoskeletal pain and weakness. Nice drawings of exercises, too.


Gathering of Angels
Gathering of Angels
Author: Morris B. Margolies
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a book about Angels in Jewish literature and history. Unique.


The Happiest Baby on the Block : The New Way to Calm Crying and Help Your Newborn Baby Sleep Longer
Review Date: 3/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was a godsend with our newborn twins! It helped us soothe our little ones and help them sleep.


Incidental FIndings: Lessons from My Patients in the Art of Medicine
Review Date: 4/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is the second of Danielle Ofri's books. Her first, Singular Intimacies, is about becoming a physician, her training at Bellevue Hospital and the lessons she learned from her patients and the process. This book continues with her lessons learned as a physicians both in New York and traveling the U.S. The stories are very moving and intriguing. I hope that her compassion is welcomed by her patients. She is a gift to the medical profession. I especially appreciated her descriptions about delivering her child and the challenge of navigating the health care system, with the understanding of what her patients undergo every day. Well done.


Kitchens
Kitchens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/16/2007


Wonderful, stylish examples of kitchen decoration and design. Filled with good ideas.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 1/24/2007


Powerful and unforgettable images. Heartbreaking and uplifting.


The Known World
The Known World
Author: Edward P. Jones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 2/26/2007


A powerful and unforgettable story.


Living Out Loud
Living Out Loud
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/18/2007


I love this book. I have several copies. I used to read her column in the NY Times in the 80's. Anna Quindlen speaks to all of us like a friend. She talks about career, family, friendship, motherhood, politics, religion, love. Having lived in New York City for many years, I related strongly to some of her warm and wonderful essays. And raising toddlers, an essay or two a night is about all I can read these days!


Lucia, Lucia
Lucia, Lucia
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 4/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A wonderful story. I grew up going to B. Altman's and sewing, and loved the lead character's desire to be herself in the face of a strong italian family from Greenwich Village. A must read for anyone who loves fashion and New York City and the characters of Andriana Trigiani.


The No-Cry Sleep Solution: Gentle Ways to Help Your Baby Sleep Through the Night
Review Date: 3/18/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Some good common sense for new moms, and a lovely and loving alternative to the "cry it out" option.


Pitching My Tent : On Marriage, Motherhood, Friendship, and Other Leaps of Faith
Review Date: 4/18/2007


By the author of The Red Tent and many other books, this is a wonderful compilation of brief essays about motherhood, liberal Jewish practice, marriage and friendship.


Ready or Not...Here We Come! The REAL Experts' Cannot-Live-Without Guide to the First Year with Twins
Review Date: 1/24/2007


As the mother of twins, I could relate! Some good advice for a new parent of multiples.


Shiksa Goddess : Or, How I Spent My Forties
Shiksa Goddess : Or, How I Spent My Forties
Author: Wendy Wasserstein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Wendy Wasserstein was one of my favorites - The Heidi Chronicles defined my younger years. This collection of essays gives some insight into Wendy's life in NYC in her 40s, her work to bring students to the theater, her attempt at hiring a cook/trainer, her family, her many years of fertility treatments before giving birth to Lucy Jane. Funny in part, moving in part.


Tom Hopkins' Low Profile Selling
Tom Hopkins' Low Profile Selling
Author: Tom Hopkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/18/2007


Some good common sense techniques, like listening well, hearing people out, showing empathy, becoming a student of selling, learning about your clients' needs, painting inviting "word pictures." Good questions and suggestions throughout.


The Trees of the Dancing Goats (Aladdin Picture Books)
The Trees of the Dancing Goats (Aladdin Picture Books)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/21/2013


As a Jewish family in a primarily non-Jewish, non-urban community, we can completely relate to the narrator's experience. The family in the book both embraces their own religious life and yet honors the religious practices of their neighbors by bringing Christmas to those who are ill. A beautiful book about acceptance, diversity, tolerance, love, and being a light in the world. This book is a favorite.


Walking on Walnuts
Walking on Walnuts
Author: Nancy Ring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of my favorite books. It is a story about an artist who becomes a pastry chef in New York, and about relationships, and, perhaps most importantly, about how a woman recognizes the power of her Jewish culture through her family recipes, many of which are included in the book. Warm, engaging, and a real eye-opener for anyone who ever wondered about what happens in the kitchens of fine restaurants.


1 to 17 of 17