Facebook

Barbara C. (readinggranny) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 78 - Page:
The 13: Fall
The 13: Fall
Author: Robbie Cheuvront, Erik Reed, Shawn Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/25/2019


Book 1 God sends a message to the United States by a so called Prophet warning Them that their freedom is at stake unless the country turn back to God. Through evil people in high positions of the government God allows a country to invade U.S. Special former black ops specialist CIA operative Jonathan Keene is summoned to the White House. together with FBI agent Megan Taylor and former military chaplain Boz Hamilton they attempt to help find the Prophet and return U.S. back to the country it once was.


THE 13: STAND
THE 13: STAND
Author: Robbie Cheuvront, Erik Reed, Shawn Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/25/2019


Book 2 the story continues. A new plot is brewing inside the already weakened US< one that could cripple the vulnerable nation and bring the country to the brink of A second civil war.


The Amber Photograph
The Amber Photograph
Author: Penelope J. Stokes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/20/2012


Before 25 yr old Diedre McAlister's mother dies she shares with her a box containing a picture of her older sister who has not been talked about since she was small. Everyone said she was no longer living. Her mothers parting words were "Find yourself.Find your truth.Don't expect it to be what you thought it would be.
So begins a search for the truth. Some good mystery involved and the end keeps you guessing.


Angel in the Alley
Angel in the Alley
Author: Keith Clemons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/29/2010


Bibles are banned, true churches are underground. One man named Peter Dufoe is trying to keep the Word alive.His daughter is dying of cancer and he's trying to get her help while he is on the run from authorities, who are trying to arrest him to keep him quiet.
Its a journey that will challenge Peter to become the man he truly is.
A good read full of suspense and action.


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 5/20/2010


A story about a woman dealing with her childhood. After the death of her parents at a early age she is sent to live with her uncle who is a priest. She is taken from him when she is nine and doesn't understand why. She is told he is dead and mourns his death. After she has recovered from a near fatal accident when she was thirty she remembers seeing her beloved uncle at her bedside in the hospital. Was it a dream? She struggles to make sense of her memories and discover what happened to cause her to be separated from her uncle. A very good story, I found it hard to put down. Full of surprises.


Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them
Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them
Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 7/15/2009


Great study on women from the bible. good for small group


The Baker's Wife
The Baker's Wife
Author: Erin Healy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/5/2020


Good book. It held my attention right from the start. Audrey and her husband run a bakery now that he is no longer a pastor, A scandalous lie by a church elder and believed by the church members have removed them from being the pastor. Driving to the bakery early one foggy morning Audrey hits something or someone.
Blood is every where but no body. The scooter and blood belong to Julie,detective Jack Mansfield'wife.He believes Audrey has something to do with the disappearance of Julie to get back to him for starting the lie that removed the Bofinger's from the church.


A Barn in New England: Making a Home on Three Acres
A Barn in New England: Making a Home on Three Acres
Author: Joseph Monninger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/22/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I've never read any of Joseph Monninger books. I picked this one as the title sounded interesting. I really loved the book. As a child I grew up in rural Pennsylvania and I remember the fields and forests I walked in. Monninger writes with his five senses the
New York Times says. How true. Monninger describes his environment using his sights,sounds and smells,it took me back to my youth.I also enjoyed reading about the joys and problems of making an old barn into a home. My only dissapointment was no pictures of the barn. He describes it but I lacked the ability to visualize it.


Beguiled
Beguiled
Author: deeanne gist, j. mark bertrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/17/2010


I enjoyed this book. The story kept you in suspense till near the end. the story is about a girl named Rylee who is a dog walker. The houses that she works with are being
robbed. The police think she has a part of the break-ins. Rylee knows someone is following her, can she convince the police? In steps a reporter who is covering the story for his paper. He gets to know Rylee and wants to help her prove she is innocent.


Blessed Child
Blessed Child
Author: Ted Dekker, Bill Bright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 8/12/2009


Interesting book. A modern parable of sorts. I like to read fiction that makes you think about your christian walk.Jack Hayford wrote of this book that is is a letter from God's heart to every Christian! A cutting edge call to the church.


The Book of Hours
The Book of Hours
Author: T. Davis Bunn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/12/2011


I didn't think I was going to like the book at the begining, but it turned out to be very interesting. Kept me very interested. A man inherits an old castle in England from his wife's aunt. At first he's not interested in it. It took him 2 years to go see the house after his wife's death.A series of hidden messages keep him and others looking to solve the mysteries.


The Book of the Dun Cow
The Book of the Dun Cow
Author: Walter Wangerin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/20/2010


From back of book: a strange and magical story set in the time when the sun turned around the earth and animals could speak.Chaunticleer the Rooster rules over a more or less peaceful kingdom, but what the animals do not know is that they are the keepers of Wyrm, monster of Evil, long imprisoned beneath the earth.And Wyrm is breaking free.


Broken Angel
Broken Angel
Author: Sigmund Brouwer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/6/2017


I was looking for something different to read from the usual fiction. This was an interesting story. This book is part one of a 2 part book. Book 2 is" Flight of Shadows". The story centers around Caitlyn who has been born deformed but we don't know what is wrong with her until almost the end. The book is a suspense thriller
He father is trying to save her as he knows when the government finds out about her they will destroy her. He was a scientist who helped create her. The story takes place in a setting where the author says he wondered what society might be like at the extremes. Appalachia is a walled place of its own ruled by religious extremists having total political control over that society. Then there is the world outside Appalachia. The book "Flight of Shadows" enlightens us to a world of degraded freedoms and stability. City states ruled by government people called the Enforcers. Society has different levels. Influentials at the top Industrials and Illegals at the bottom. The story in book 2 is the struggle of Caitlyn struggling to survive outside Appalachia and find freedom from people pursuing her.


By My Hands (Medical Suspense Series, Bk 1)
By My Hands (Medical Suspense Series, Bk 1)
Author: Alton Gansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/20/2010


This is the first book I've read by Alton Gansky. I found the book hard to put down.
People are getting healed without medical intervention and then disappearing. Rev. Adam
Bridger wants to find out what is going on. The hospital orders Dr. Rachel Tremaine to get to the bottom of the healings . Rachel and Adam make the most unlikely of teams.


The Calling of Emily Evans (Women of the West, Bk 1)
The Calling of Emily Evans (Women of the West, Bk 1)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 1/24/2010


A story of a young girl committed to serving God and not allowing people or circumstances
to prevent her.


The Clear Light of Day
The Clear Light of Day
Author: Penelope Wilcock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/1/2012


Esme is a 40+ divorced Methodist minister. Dealing with her divorce and the demands of the church she feels lonely and overwhelmed. Struggling to find fulfillment in her life she meets 2 country gnostics who happen to cause her to see " The Clear Light of Day. The author at the back of the book states the book was to be the first of a triiogy which would complete the book, but I don't see any evidence that follow up books were written.


Come Away My Beloved: The Intimate Devotional Classic Updated in Today's Language
Review Date: 9/27/2011


I love this little book. I use it as a daily reading,
there are different topics to pick from.Francis Roberts writes as tho God/Jesus were speaking to, you sending you little love letters.


Come to the Table (SouledOut Sisters, Bk 2)
Come to the Table (SouledOut Sisters, Bk 2)
Author: Neta Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/27/2019


See my review for book 1


Come Walk with Me
Come Walk with Me
Author: Joan Medlicott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/19/2016


I have read several Joan Medicott books and have enjoyed them. This book is ficton but has several thought provoking pages. Its a story of a woman struggling to deal with the death of her husband. Who is she and what should she be doing are the major issues in her life. She feels she has no direction. After making some major decisions based on emotions and some wrong choices she begins to accept her husband's death and works toward rebuilding her friendships with her children and finding new interests and friends.


Cosmic Christmas
Cosmic Christmas
Author: Max Lucado
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/15/2009


Really enjoyed reading the Christmas story from an other angle. One showing just how much God was in control, something I've never given thought to.


1 to 20 of 78 - Page: