Sheryl S. (sunshine79) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 19)
Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 19)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 6/29/2010
Helpful Score: 9


I think I'm giving up on reading any more Anita Blake books.

As someone else said, there's too much sex and the books aren't good like they once were. There used to be an interesting storyline with Anita actually doing something. Lately all she does is have sex and then more sex with almost anyone that she comes in contact with, or so it seems.

Enough is enough already. I'm glad I checked this out of the library instead of buying it or wasting a credit on it. Maybe in the next book things will improve and there will be a better storyline (in my opinion), but I'm not holding my breath. Don't waste your time on this book.


But I Trusted You (Ann Rule's Crime Files, Vol 14)
But I Trusted You (Ann Rule's Crime Files, Vol 14)
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 2/7/2010


I always enjoy Ann Rule's books. Her style of writing draws you right into the story. I also like the way she makes it seem as if she were talking to you, the reader, personally. She makes comments, or asks questions, that have come to my mind.

I like true crime stories and most of the time I haven't heard about the cases that she puts in her books. Keeping some of the stories short allows me to more easily stop and start her books when I'm busy without having to try and remember every character I've met, which sometimes happens with novels I'm reading.

I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys true crime stories.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2046
Review Date: 10/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love this book! Having read all of them in the series so far, there is an innocence in Sookie when we are first introduced to her that changes over time. I guess hanging out with vampires and other supernatural creatures will do that to you.

There are very few books that I consider keepers but all of the Sookie books are. I tried to watch the series based on the books but I can't stand it. I didn't care for the way the characters were portrayed and when you read books, you picture everyone and everything a certain way, and rarely do the actors live up to what you have imagined in your head.

I also enjoyed the humor in these books. Great series!


I Am Ozzy
I Am Ozzy
Author: Ozzy Osbourne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/5/2010


First off, I'm not an Ozzy fan. I like biographies and saw this one at the library and decided to read it. I'm glad I did! This book has humor running all through it. Some places were laugh out loud funny. I laughed so hard over something that happened with one of Sharon's dogs that I had to read that part to my husband who got a big laugh out of it too.

Having said that, it's not all fun and games for Ozzy. This is the story of his life, failures and success. He has abused his body so much over the years with drugs and alcohol that I'm amazed he's still alive! So is he. I didn't know that Ozzy had been married before Sharon and had 2 children with his first wife. He needed someone strong like Sharon that wasn't going to put up with his crap, yet who has his best interest at heart.


Reading about Ozzy's life as a rocker was pretty much what you would expect. Sex, drugs and rock & roll, all in excess. I would definitely recommend this book even if you're not a fan. It's a quick read and you'll learn a lot about what shaped Ozzy and made him who he is, the good and the bad.


Obsidian Prey (Ghost Hunters, Bk 6)
Obsidian Prey (Ghost Hunters, Bk 6)
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz (writing as Jayne Castle)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 2/7/2010


I really enjoy all of the books in this series. Normally I would not be into reading about life on other planets, plus the whole other realm underneath the planet Harmony. It's a fun series, easy to read and characters you care about, especially the dust bunnies!

I recommend this book and if you're not sure about it, go for it. It's well worth a credit.


Salem's Lot
Salem's Lot
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/3/2009


Talk about scary! I love vampire books and Stephen King does an excellent job of making the impossible seem possible. It's very frightening. I wouldn't recommend reading it late at night when you're home all alone unless you're prepared to be scared by every little sound you hear!

If anyone watched the movie made from the book (I think two were made), this has that beat hands down. Much more intense and creepy than any movie. This book is definitely a keeper for me.


The Stand
The Stand
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 10/3/2009


This is one of my all time favorite books! It's easy to imagine something like this happening. The characters are very well written and you get drawn into their story, and what happens to them, very quickly. It's scary to imagine some super flu or other disaster wiping almost everyone from the face of the earth.

If anyone watched the mini-series and liked it, this book is MUCH better as books always are. I highly recommend it!


Tick Tock
Tick Tock
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 10/3/2009


Dean Koontz is one of my favorite authors but this book was not up to his usual standards. I read it when it was first released and recently decided to re-read it. The story had some scary moments and was a quick read but I really didn't care for the ending and thought it was dumb and kind of came out of nowhere.

Still, if you're a fan of his, it's not a horrible book and you will probably want to read it.


A Touch of Dead (Sookie Stackhouse: The Complete Stories)
A Touch of Dead (Sookie Stackhouse: The Complete Stories)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 10/14/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I didn't realize that this was a book of short stories that had already been published elsewhere. They were ok but if I were to decide whether or not I wanted to read other Sookie books based on these short stories I would probably pass.

The book is very slim and I read it in less than 2 hours. With the bigger print and the spacing between lines, and the drawings at the beginning of each story, I felt short-changed by buying this book new.

The Sookie books are among my favorite ones and are keepers for me but I will probably be posting this book on here.


What Doesn't Kill You (Catherine Ling, Bk 2)
What Doesn't Kill You (Catherine Ling, Bk 2)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/8/2012


I really enjoyed this book and all of the characters. It pulled me in from the beginning and was one of those books that are hard to put down.

Fast-paced with a lot of action that really has you rooting for the main character and all that she has gone through to become the person she is now.

I really hope that this book is the first of many to come. I highly recommend it!


The Witness
The Witness
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 6/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book!

I've never read about a character quite like Elizabeth before. Born to a mother using an unknown donor so she would have a child that is extremely intelligent, a genius really, but her mom didn't love her, she just wanted to control every area of her life.

Being 16 y/o she finally rebels against her mom and soon finds her life in danger from the Russian mafia.

Very suspenseful and exciting along with a love story that warms your heart. Highly recommend!


1 to 11 of 11