Facebook

Ben S. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 6/14/2016


It was a good book. Maybe after a year of hype I'd expected it to be a phenomenal book. Maybe because I did it as an audio book, it didn't quite grip me the same as if I'd read it.


Baseball's Great Experiment: Jackie Robinson and His Legacy
Baseball's Great Experiment: Jackie Robinson and His Legacy
Author: Jules Tygiel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/25/2016


It was a good book, but a little dense and slow at times. Certainly not a riveting page turning novel. Also not a biography of Jackie Robinson. Still I learned quite a bit about a lot of early integrationist that I had never even heard of let alone known anything about.


Basketball Diaries
Basketball Diaries
Author: Jim Carroll
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/8/2016


Not a bad book, but left some things to be desired. At times he rambled on a little too quick with too much slang to follow along. I understand that just fits with the style/personality of the book. And it had no ending. It was literally just over, like maybe I was missing pages. Again I understand its a diary so it shouldn't end. Overall a quick read, and something that didn't take too much thought.


Buffalo Soldiers (Black Sabre Chronicles / Tom Willard, Bk 1)
Review Date: 7/15/2016


Very interesting book and a pretty quick read. Not sure how much is true or based on true stories or completely fabricated, but it was very entertaining and a different take on a lot of classical western stories.


Connecticut Lore: Strange, Off-Kilter, & Full of Surprises
Connecticut Lore: Strange, Off-Kilter, & Full of Surprises
Author: Zachary Lamothe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/26/2016


Took forever to read just kinda picked it up when I was bored. A lot of stuff from the eastern side of the state. I will say my girlfriend and I have a bunch of new day trips planned because of this book


Diamonds in the Rough
Diamonds in the Rough
Author: Lew Freedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/18/2016


Some good info, but I thought it was poorly written. Very choppy without flow. It almost seemed like it should have been a book of bullet points


The Gates of the Alamo
The Gates of the Alamo
Author: Stephen Harrigan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/13/2016


I looked forward to this. It was good, but I found that my interest in it went up and down throughout the book. Might have been that I was distracted while reading, so it may have not been the books fault.


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 459
Review Date: 7/5/2016


I would certainly say I was only drawn to this at first due to the popularity of it. It wasn't an amazing book but wasn't bad either. I did it as an audio book in the car, and definitely found myself wondering what was going to happen next when I was not driving. Intrigued about the movie coming out this fall. At times I felt like it would translate well, at other times I thought it will fall flat. I am not happy that it is being reset in NYC rather than London, as the book just had such a British feel too it, however I guess that a movie set in America generates better American ticket sales.


The Killer Angels (Civil War, Bk 2)
The Killer Angels (Civil War, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Shaara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 9/1/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Generally a fan of the Civil War genre, I found there to be way too many characters that made it difficult to follow along. I found that it made for a very dense and choppy read, much more like a history book than a novel. I can appreciate the historical accuracy, its just this book was a little too much for my tastes.


Looking for Alaska
Looking for Alaska
Author: John Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 264
Review Date: 5/31/2016


Not a bad book, but it was a little predicable. I guess thats what happens when you're a 30 year old reading a young adult book


The Monuments Men: Allied Heroes, Nazi Thieves, and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History
Review Date: 12/3/2015


A little more art and a little less war/history than I hoped for. Probably the second book I've ever ready where I like the movie better.


Seabiscuit: An American Legend
Seabiscuit: An American Legend
Author: Laura Hillenbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 390
Review Date: 7/15/2016


I've always been fascinated by horses and horse racing, glad to learn a lot more about one of the greatest horses ever. Very hard to imagine our society today getting so wrapped up in horse racing. I must say I was very close to shedding a tear at the end when The Biscuit passed away.


Stuff: Compulsive Hoarding and the Meaning of Things
Stuff: Compulsive Hoarding and the Meaning of Things
Author: Gail Steketee, Randy Frost
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/14/2015
Helpful Score: 2


My mom just gave me this book. My wife and I are currently going through a divorce and she was a hoarder. She certainly wasn't as extreme as some of the people in this book, but it was great to read so many lines that just really hit home to me and the life I had to live for years.


1 to 13 of 13