Audry P. (witchywoman) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 45 - Page:
Absolutely, Positively
Absolutely, Positively
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 12/2/2007


Funny and fast moving. Just right for light entertainment. It's a keeper on my shelf and reread periodically.


Adam, Eve, and the Serpent
Adam, Eve, and the Serpent
Author: Elaine Pagels
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/19/2008


An excellent book that shows how Christianity changed from original beliefs to current beliefs.


The Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark and Dangerous, Bk 7)
The Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark and Dangerous, Bk 7)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 1/13/2008
Helpful Score: 1


He is 23 years older than her. He saved her father's life before she was born. He's a hero and she has been in love with him all her life and this mission gives her the opportunity to meet and work with him. She gets to know the man, not just the hero as the mission to recover a dangerous chemical from a egomaniac leader, white supremist, requires that that they pose as man and wife to get inside the compound and recover the chemicals before they are used to kill thousands of people. The scary thing is that the group leader thinks he has anthrax, but what he has is Triple X, many more times powerful than anthrax.


Affair
Affair
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 12/2/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Good read. Interesting idea for the time period. I like that the characters are average in appearance but see in each other things that others do not. A historical mystery with just enough sexy scenes without an over focusing on them.


After Dark  (Harmony, Bk 1)
After Dark (Harmony, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 12/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you like romantic suspense with a paranormal twist, you'll this book. It is one of several that take place on another world where certain paranormal abilities are normal.


After Glow (Harmony, Bk 2)
After Glow (Harmony, Bk 2)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 12/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This picks up the story that was began in AFTER DARK. I liked it, and actually felt that both should have been put together. Still good romantic suspense on a world where paranormal is normal.


Against the Odds (Serrano Legacy, Bk 7)
Against the Odds (Serrano Legacy, Bk 7)
Author: Elizabeth Moon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 10/10/2007


Continues the story of Esmay Suiza. Military basis. Good story.


Always (Forever Trilogy, Book 3)
Always (Forever Trilogy, Book 3)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 343
Review Date: 12/2/2007
Helpful Score: 3


It's ok but certainly not up to Deveraux's older books. I was glad to finish this trilogy, but still felt like I was left hanging.


Amaryllis (Futuristic World of St. Helen's, Bk 1)
Amaryllis (Futuristic World of St. Helen's, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Castle, Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 12/2/2007


This one is a keeper for me. I re-read it periodically. I love this world where certain paranormal abilities are normal but it take two complementary abilities to work well, which draws people that seem like opposites together. Romantic suspense with a paranormal twist.


At Her Service
At Her Service
Author: Shari Anton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Good medieval romance.


THE BLOODY SUN
THE BLOODY SUN
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/18/2007


One of the earliest Darkover novels, which tells Jeff Kerwin's story. While not as in depth as MZB's later novels, it rounds out a character that shows up in her later books. I love all the Darkover novels and the only reason I am letting this ACE First printing go is that I finally got it in hardcover.


The Celtic Riddle (Archaelogical, Bk 4)
The Celtic Riddle (Archaelogical, Bk 4)
Author: Lyn Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 11/22/2007


"...rich in Celtic lore."

The co-owner of a Toronto antiques store, Lara McClintoch is obsessed with finding rare and beautiful artifacts. Her travels take her to the ends of the earth, where history jealously guards its treasures---and where the mysteries of the past meet the dangers of the present...

When Lara discovers the ancient Celtic poem that serves as the key to finding a mysterious treasure, she comes closer to the secret, someone thwarts her at every turn--with murder.


Confessions of an Economic Hit Man
Confessions of an Economic Hit Man
Author: John Perkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 1/19/2009
Helpful Score: 8


The casual connections between our political leaders and the corporations are confirmed. Profit and power are all that matter. Now I understand why banks loan money to less developed countries, money that they can never repay. Their economies are destroyed, their lands polluted and more and more people become destitute. The USA forces concessions from their leaders. Leaders that won't fall in line somehow don't live long.

The author seems somewhat hypocritical. He admits that himself as he has become very well off from his activities as an economic hit man but every American should read this book. It is devastating to read to what is done in the name of "helping" other countries. Read this book and learn why other countries hate the USA.

It is particularly chilling seeing the backlash as America is reaping what they have sown.


Dark Revelations (Madonna Key, Bk 3) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 106)
Dark Revelations (Madonna Key, Bk 3) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 106)
Author: Lorna Tedder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/7/2009


Aubrey de Lune is much more than an art thief, but she doesn't know it until she finds out that her employers are the ones that trapped her into a life of crime in order to track down the descendants of a group of powerful women that the Catholic Church has long sought to destroy and she is one of them.

This is book 3 of the Madonna Key series. Each book stands alone but it is better to read them in the order that that they occur. The books are by different authors.
Book 1 is LOST CALLING by Evelyn Vaughn
Book 2 is HAUNTED ECHOES by Cindy Dees.


Desire
Desire
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 10/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of my all time favorites by Quick. It's a medieval romance with an interesting story line. A strong heroine that is being forced to marry, as women were in those days, is surprised by a knight with a fierce reputation who values not just the wonderful perfumes and scents made from the flowers her land is famous for, but the woman that oversees their production.

I love all Krentz's books written as Amanda Quick, but especially her older ones.


Exception to the Rule (Silhouette Bombshell, No 11)
Exception to the Rule (Silhouette Bombshell, No 11)
Author: Doranna Durgin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/19/2009


Hunter Agency operative, Kimmer Reed fled an abusive home life as a teen and with the help of the Agency, recreated herself, determined to never be a victim again but assigned to a job that took her back to the area from which she fled causes her to face her fears. Meanwhile she is undercover back up for former CIA agent, Rio Carlsen. Trouble is he doesn't know it.

Good story. Fast paced, with a good plot. More action than romance, but there is enough to keep romance as part of the description.


Falcons of Narabedla
Falcons of Narabedla
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/18/2007


While not a Darkover novel and much less in depth than her later books, I really liked this book and I wish that she had returned to Narabedla and provided us with more books set on this world. The only reason I am letting this ACE First printing copy go is that I finally got it in hardcover.


Gateway to Xanadu (Diana Santee Spaceways Agent, No 2)
Gateway to Xanadu (Diana Santee Spaceways Agent, No 2)
Author: Sharon Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/28/2010


"R" rated, erotica with slavery and bondage.

Special agent Diana Santee had beat the odds, returning alive and well from the slaver, Radman, had meant to be a one-way trip to fringes of space. With her new partner, the alien Val, Diana was only too eager to pick up Radman's trail again--this time to complete her mission as the slaver's judge, jury, and executioner.


The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, Bk 1)
The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, Bk 1)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 392
Review Date: 1/18/2008


After hearing and receiving emails regarding this book/movie's anti-Christian contents I decided to read it myself to determine was was causing the hysteria.

This is book 1 of a trilogy. Book 2 is THE SUBTLE KNIFE, which I will review separately.

I did not find THE GOLDEN COMPASS to be anti-Christian. It did, however base a church in the book and that church's followers, on historical activities of the Christian church, in particular the Catholic church of the middle ages. The main character is a young girl that is dropped off at a university by a person she believes is her uncle, but turns out to be her father. She is raised in a haphazard manner by the scholars, but has a good life until children begin disappearing. This is the story of her adventures as she tries to find her best friend, who is one of the children that disappears.

While the story line is interesting, the over all message seems to be that people that should love and care for you will betray you at every turn and that the few good people that do love and care for you will continually be either overcome or out witted by evil people. I also found the main character's pride in being a good liar a problem. As for the part that touches on the the evils of the church and those seeking to overthrow it, by so opposing God, well both groups of people are so horrible that I found the whole book to be depressing. There is no good vs. evil. It seems it is just evil vs. evil.

In addition, most of the book was rather tedious and at times, boring.


Haunted Echoes (Madonna Key, Bk 2) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 101)
Haunted Echoes (Madonna Key, Bk 2) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 101)
Author: Cindy Dees
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/7/2009


Interpol agent Ana Reisner is ordered, by the president of France, to solve murder that hasn't happened yet and recover a stolen item that the owner refuses to name or describe. Along the way she learns of her connection to a group of women linked down through history, powerful women that the Catholic Church has sought to destroy. The connections between the Black Madonnas, tiny ceramic tiles, ley lines and Power lead the main character into a new world of experiences linked to the past.


1 to 20 of 45 - Page: