Facebook

Adrienne (starvinArtist) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 45 - Page:
11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 5/19/2014
Helpful Score: 2


Although I read a few of his books when I was a teenager, I've never been much of a King fan, mostly because I don't like horror much. But with a title like 11/22/63 to catch my eye I couldn't resist giving it a go.
The story grabbed my attention from page one and continued throughout the story. But how could it not... I enjoy love stories, time travel and the premise of stopping the Kennedy assassination! It didn't disappoint. As a slow reader I was surprised that I read 880 pages in less than a month. Highly recommend.


1Q84
1Q84
Author: Haruki Murakami, Jay Rubin (Translator), Philip Gabriel (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/3/2016


The basic story, about 2 lonely people in an off kilter world, was interesting and was what kept me reading, but I think it was way too long. Happy with part of the ending but yet disappointed that I was left with a "what happens now" feeling after reading over 1000 pages.


The Accidental Time Machine
The Accidental Time Machine
Author: Joe Haldeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 7/6/2010


A down on his luck graduate student working as a lab assistant at MIT discovers that a machine he is working on travels through time. Many adventures ensue. Enjoyable read.


Acting in Commercials: A Guide to Auditioning and Performing on Camera
Acting in Commercials: A Guide to Auditioning and Performing on Camera
Author: Joan See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Great guide for an actor making the switch from stage to screen. Very clearly explains what you need to know in a concise and easy to read format. Highly recommend.


All About Evie (Chameleon Chronicles, Bk 1)
All About Evie (Chameleon Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Beth Ciotta
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 7/15/2009


Evie, a middle-aged washed up actress gets "cast" to be the wife of an older, distinguished man, on a honeymoon cruise. In reality it is a secret government mission to usurp scam artists at their own game. Her "leading man" is mysterious, sexy stud with an accent that would melt butter. This is an exciting story of woman undergoing a midlife and professional crisis and discovering who she is.


The Circle
The Circle
Author: Dave Eggers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 12/11/2018


The beginning was rather slow but I really enjoyed the story. The story is about a woman who gets a job at a place that sounded similar to Googleplex. A great place to work, famous chefs prepare the meals, a modern apartment complex so you can live on campus, the best medical care, all perks given to the employees. But not all is as it seems. A dystopian utopia ?? at what price.


Crazy for You
Crazy for You
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 6/5/2012


Sometimes a girl's gotta do what she's gotta do, even if it's not the most popular thing. Crazy for you started slow, I wassn't swept into the story like some of Crusie's others. But as the story progressed it became more interesting. Light, funny, with a hint of suspense, overall it was a quick and fun read.


The Distant Hours
The Distant Hours
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 10/11/2014


Have to admit it took quite a while to get involved. Almost quit quite a few times. I would rate the first half of the book a 2 - so slow - the first 200 pages could have be edited down to 100 pages, much too wordy. Too many rambling descriptions that were unnecessary and bogged the story down. Was disappointed because I had read "The Forgotten Garden" and enjoyed it from the beginning so was looking forward to reading this. I persevered because I liked the basic plot and characters.

The second half of the book I would rate a 4. Once more of the actual story was being told and I got involved I enjoyed the book. But still disappointed in the end, felt like there were still loose ends.


The Dream Daughter
The Dream Daughter
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/15/2019


I enjoyed the audiobook of The Silent Sister, the first experience I had with Chamberlain. But The Dream Daughter surpassed what I expected when I began reading it. I was sucked in almost immediately. "When Caroline Sears receives the news that her unborn baby girl has a heart defect, she is devastated. It is 1970 and there seems to be little that can be done." But thru Hunter, her brother in law, she finds that there may be a way to help her child, if she is strong enough to have the trust and faith in him to allow him to help them both.
They say there is nothing stronger than a mothers love... and Chamberlain proves this to be so in this multi-generational, wonderfully written multi-genre novel full of twists and turns!

I'd like to thank St. Martin's Press for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I truly enjoyed it!


Garden of Lies
Garden of Lies
Author: Eileen Goudge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 10/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book I've read by Eileen Goudge and I must say I wasn't disappointed. I was hooked from the start and had trouble putting it down. The babies deliberately switched at birth plot device is driven by her well fleshed out and endearing characters. I just finished reading it and plan to start the sequel tonight. I can't wait.


The Ghost Bride
The Ghost Bride
Author: Yangsze Choo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/12/2018


Overall the story of Li Lan, the ghost bride, was interesting. The problem I had with the story was that Li Lan was very shallow. She had no personality, was childish and although supposedly educated by her opium addicted father, made bad decisions. I also had trouble reading more than a few pages at a time, feeling overwhelmed by description. I enjoyed the secondary characters more and wanted to know more about them. I also would have like another chapter, she had made a decision and I would have like to have seen if she stuck by it and what happened.


The Great Alone
The Great Alone
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/23/2019


Love, love, love! I love Kristin Hannah! I love "The Great Alone"! I love Leni, the main character. I love the engrossing tale of a young girl who feels like an outcast (because of moving so often)that falls in love with Alaska and a boy, while dealing with the horrors of an abusive father with PTSD. I love the supporting characters as well and how they befriended her. Highly recommend!


Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor, Bk 3)
Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor, Bk 3)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 10/2/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Jill Shalvis is another author I discovered after joining PBS. She has become one of my favorites.

The Lucky Harbor Series is about 3 sisters who move to Lucky Harbor to claim an inheritance. Head Over Heels is the 3rd book of the series and centers on the youngest sister Chloe, a quirky, soft hearted girl who has gained the reputation of being "the wild child" Enter a very sexy hunk, a reformed "bad boy" who is now the sheriff and fun ensues. The shower scene, among others, is hot, hot, hot!!

If you're looking for a contemporary romance that is fun, yet steamy, look no further. You can't go wrong with this series and this book!


The Holly Joliday (Judy Moody & Stink, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/28/2011


Join Judy Moody and Stink for the holidays for a nice dose of holiday magic!!


Karolina's Twins (Liam and Catherine, Bk 3)
Karolina's Twins (Liam and Catherine, Bk 3)
Author: Ronald H. Balson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/21/2019


Even though the 3rd of the series, I had heard that it could be read as a stand alone, so I went ahead and read it. Have to say I want to go ahead and read the others now.
Balson's tale was hard to put down. It kept me interested from the first page. Some reviewers had a problem with the fact that Lena waited over 60 yrs. to begin to search for the "babies", however I know survivors (including my inlaws) who "locked the door on the holocaust) when the war was over. Remember, there was no internet back then so it was hard to get information and after the war, many of the survivors were under communism so no info was available. Most lost their families, lost everything and wanted to be able to get on with their lives. They were already reliving the horrors of the holocaust in their dreams. Highly recommend.


The Last Aloha
The Last Aloha
Author: Gaellen Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/3/2014
Helpful Score: 2


4 1/2 stars
I enjoyed this book. I learned something about the history of Hawaii. Made me extremely disgusted and ashamed of the greedy, corrupt americans who took advantage of the current regime (who welcomed and befriended them) and were responsible for overthrowing the queen.


The Last Camellia: A Novel
The Last Camellia: A Novel
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/17/2013


This is the 4th book of Jio's that I've read. I enjoyed it but it wasn't as good as the other 3. This one takes place in 2 different time periods, the 1940's and present day. There is a mystery that surrounds an exotic and rare flower, a pink cammelia, that joins the 2 stories. In the first story, a woman named Flora takes a job as a nanny in England to help out her aging parents who are struggling financially. The 2nd story is about Addison, a woman who accompanies her husband to his parents recently purchased
English manor in order to run away from her past. In both stories there were characters who weren't fleshed out enough and if they had been perhaps I would have understood and enjoyed the ending better. All in all a good read.


The Last Letter from Your Lover
The Last Letter from Your Lover
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/25/2014


The Last Letter from Your Lover is a wonderful love story. It follows the lives of 2 couples. It reads a bit like 2 separate stories, one from the 60's and the other occurring 40 years later and how the time period influences each story.


The Life She Was Given
The Life She Was Given
Author: Ellen Marie Wiseman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/20/2018
Helpful Score: 3


THE LIFE SHE WAS GIVEN is the first book by ELLEN MARIE WISEMAN that I've read. I thoroughly enjoyed the stories of Lilly and Julia, how they were raised and how it affected their lives. I give it 4.5 stars because I felt that the ending was a bit rushed and somewhat vague. But I just found another author to add to my favorites list.


Love You Forever
Love You Forever
Author: Robert N. Munsch, Sheila McGraw (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 3/21/2009


Great book. The circle of life. Makes me cry everytime I read it.


1 to 20 of 45 - Page: