Amanda L. (al7221) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
After Midnight (Youngbloods, Bk 1)
After Midnight (Youngbloods, Bk 1)
Author: Lynn Viehl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/27/2012


I read this book months ago and just never wrote a review. Anyway, I love paranormal romances/YA expecially ones involving vampires :) I have to say though, this book was a disappointment. I'll admit, the attractive covered caught my eye...but the inside is certainly not as attractive as the outside makes it seem.

The book was very boring. It just lacked excitment. If you are looking for some romance in this YA book, you won't find much.

There are so many other good vampire/YA books out there, that I wouldn't waste your time on this one.

When I give new series a wing, I usually read the second one to at least give the series a shot. However, I can't bring myself to read the second in the series....I'm afraid I'll fall asleep haha :)


Bite Me!
Bite Me!
Author: Melissa Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/28/2011


LOOOOOVED this book!!! I dont know where to begin with this amazing vampire love story. It had some adventure, but not so much that it over powered the love story. The love/hate chemistry between the characters was so realistic that it made me feel like I was actually in the story!

Also, the book was hilarious and filled with smarted witted comments made back and forth between the main characters. I laughed out loud many times :)
Although this is considered young adult it wasnt filled with all the teen aguish, unlike most young adult novels. If you read Twilight and constantly finding yourself fed up with the mellow dramatic Bella, definitely pick this book up---because AJ is just so darn loveable!

PLEASE give this book a chance and order it NOW (or start wishing for it lol)


Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 874
Review Date: 8/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was actually one of my favorite books in the House of Night series. I thought it kept me on the edge of my seat until the very end. It was certainly a page turner :)

Without giving too much away...I had a gut feeling something wasn't right; but in the end, I was still shocked!!!


Here Comes the Vampire (Dead-End Dating, Bk 6)
Here Comes the Vampire (Dead-End Dating, Bk 6)
Author: Kimberly Raye
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/24/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I'm so sad about this because I do not have an E-reader but...here's an email I received from Kimberly Raye:

..."Also, I've finally decided to release the next Dead End Dating book as an e-book. Here Comes The Vampire should be available at the end of June. I will send out a reminder and let you know when the exact release date will be. Thank you so much for being patient and waiting for Lil. I truly appreciate your support!

All best,
Kimberly Raye"


How To Marry a Millionaire Vampire (Love at Stake, Bk 1)
How To Marry a Millionaire Vampire (Love at Stake, Bk 1)
Author: Kerrelyn Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 641
Review Date: 7/3/2011


I just could not get into this book. The majority of books I read are paranormal romance---and mostly involve vampires. I was expecting to like this book; however, I put it down after page 120. There are so many other great books and/or series on my TBR pile, that I felt I shouldn't waste anymore of my "reading time" for this specific book.

Reasons why I did not like the book: Well besides the fact that up until page 120, there wasnt so much as a kiss.The book lost my interest because of the drawn out timeline of events. I read up to page 120, and only hours past in the plot. It hadnt even been a full day!
Roman (the vampire) loses his tooth probably by page 10. He seeks a dentist (Shannon). Well, all I have to say is that where I left off, the tooth still wasnt put back into his mouth. Keep in mind, the reader is told immediately after he loses his tooth that he needs to have it fixed before the sun comes upbecause during the day, vampires sleep (and repair any wounds i.e. the gapping whole in his mouth).

The book was just dragging on for me. If anyone likes Kresley Coles Immortals After Dark series, you will surely be disappointed if you pick this book up.


Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side
Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side
Author: Beth Fantaskey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 8/27/2011


I loved this book! When reading YA, I tend to find myself hoping that it would be more adult (i.e. a bit steamier). Some YA books are steamier than others. I found that the romance and the love between the two characters made it strong enough alone, that there didnt need to be a bunch of make-out scenes for me. I thought it was perfect.

Needless to say, I am anticipating the sequel Jessica Rules the Dark Side. Although it will not be released until early 2012, fans of Jessica and Lucius can get their fix by reading The Wedding of Anastasia Jessica Packwood and Lucius Valeriu Vladescu on Beth Fantaskeys page (http://www.bethfantaskey.com/wedding/wedding-chapt1.html)

I certainly recommend YA lovers (especially those who love vampires) to read this book. It was a very cute, couldnt-put-down teen novel! :)


Love Sucks!
Love Sucks!
Author: Melissa Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/26/2011


This was a pretty good sequel to Bite Me. Although, I thought the story line was a bit predictable. There werent many different elements to the mystery portion of the book, as there was in the first book. I think the first was better. In fact, Bite Me is one my favorite books. I hope that Melissa Francis writes another book in this series. I still want to find out what becomes of Ryan and AJ. I would love to read about their story unfolding as a couple!!! :)


Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1186
Review Date: 7/3/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I was hesitant about reading this book/series, since there has been such mix reviews by fellow PBS members. The majority of the books I read are paranormal romancemostly involving vampires. Before this book, the only YA vampire series I had read was the Twilight Saga.

Needless to say, I was NOT disappointed with Marked. The best way I think I can describe this book isHarry Potter meets Vampires. lol I know, sounds silly right?? While reading this, I found my self seeing the similarities with Harry Potter going off to Hogwarts to Zoey Redbird going to the House of Night.

Sex was disgusted and certain sexual acts were elaborated. I do not think this would be suitable for teens---well I shouldnt say all teens. This book would probably be more acceptable for older teens (as well as adults).

I liked the book. I think if you are someone who likes YA books and like reading paranormal (specifically vampires) I think you should at least give this a shot!!! :)


Seascape
Seascape
Author: Stephanie Burke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/6/2011


I packed this book for the beach. I thought what a perfect read for a nice relaxing day on the beach----a book about mermaids :)

Well, I was mistaken. I disliked this book. I love reading about mermaids, especially romances. I have come across a few mermaid filled romance books, and this book falls to the bottom of the sea compared to the others!

For an Elloras Cave book, I was disappointed in the sex scenes, or the lack there of. I think there was about two, and they were not even that great.

Storm, the mermaid, is not as sexy as I would imagine a mermaid should be. One distributing characteristic is the fact that he has razor sharp teeth---shark like (scarynot sexy). He falls in love with Dr. Elanna Richfield, an African American woman. I thought it was a bit racist with bringing up the stereotypes of African American women and their physical featuresbut that is just me.

I read this book in less than 2 hours. I think it is because I skimmed, A LOT!!! There was no substance to the plot. It was a bore fest.

If you are looking for some great mermaid filled books, I would suggest reading Judi Fennell (first book is In Over Her Head), Joey W. Hill (first book is A Mermaids Kiss), MaryJanice Davidson (first book is Sleeping with the Fishes).


1 to 9 of 9