Kelly W. (kww) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Across Time And Death: A Mother's Search For Her Past Life Children
Across Time And Death: A Mother's Search For Her Past Life Children
Author: Jenny Cockell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 2/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I've always been conflicted with stories of past lives and / or reincarnation. My heart tells me it exists and my logic refutes it.

Jenny's story is extremely convincing. She knows so many small details that only the mother of those children could know. Completely amazing.

If you are skeptical, this book will give you pause. If you believe, it will give you hope.


All Over But the Shoutin'
All Over But the Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 5/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Rick Bragg is another in the tradition of fine writers from the South. The poetry of his writing belies its subject; his hardscrabble upbringing.

He'll make you wince until you cry, he'll make you laugh until you cry. You'll wonder how he was able to work his way out of the shack he grew up in to the halls of power at the New York Times and beyond.

Everyone will be touched by this memorable book, but if you consider yourself a Southerner, it's required reading.


Anne Frank: Beyond the Diary : A Photographic Remembrance
Review Date: 6/18/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Don't let the fact that this is tagged as a "young adult" reading level dissuade you from reading this. It's chock full of photographs I'd never seen before and was very interesting. There are even photos of the diary itself. Unless you were able to travel to Amsterdam ( to the actual hiding place ) you'd never get to see these fascinating photos.


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 7/22/2009
Helpful Score: 3


As I approach middle age ( who am I kidding? I'm there ),death is claiming more of my friends. People are beginning to "personalize" their funerals. I recently lost a friend who donated her body to science and instructed her husband to take what they would have spent on a traditional funeral and throw a huge cocktail party at her local golf & country club. It was a great appropriate sendoff. If that idea appeals to you, this book is a must. I almost didn't want to let it go, but decided to share it with my PBS family.

I'll be buying several copies of this for friends. You'll wish you had a great group of girlfriends like Annie did.


Review Date: 4/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I liked this book so well I'm going to buy copies for my sister, daughter and a couple of friends. It's laugh-out-loud funny. At 56, I was afraid I was the wrong generation to enjoy this. I thought it might be full of Gen X and Gen Y cultural references that I hadn't heard of, but that wasn't the case.


Bless Your Heart, Tramp: And Other Southern Endearments
Bless Your Heart, Tramp: And Other Southern Endearments
Author: Celia Rivenbark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 9/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I am from the South and enjoyed this. One point I'd like to bring up is that I didn't expect it to be a collection of essays / newspaper columns. That kind of spoiled it for me a little bit. It was laugh out loud funny in many places, but I was expecting something more along the lines of a memoir with a plot that moves through the whole book.

Don't let that deter you from reading this, just be aware this is more Erma Bombeck than Jen Lancaster.


Craig Claiborne's A feast made for laughter
Craig Claiborne's A feast made for laughter
Author: Craig Claiborne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a "memoir with recipes"-a perfect combination. Being a Southerner, Claiborne was a born raconteur and this book shows it. Very enjoyable.


Death at La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Death at La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I'll definitely be reading the rest of this series. It's intelligently written and the characters and plot hold your interest. If you've ever been to Venice, the author's many local references will make you smile remembering. If you haven't been to Venice, she evokes the mood and makes you feel you are right there.


Do Black Patent-Leather Shoes Really Reflect Up?
Review Date: 4/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If you went to Catholic school, this funny and warm-hearted book is a must. Powers tells stories that will have you remembering things you hadn't thought of in years and laughing with him.


Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation
Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation
Author: Lynne Truss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 4/19/2008


Much more pedantic than I had been led to believe.


The Films of Tom Hanks (Citadel Film)
The Films of Tom Hanks (Citadel Film)
Author: Lee Pfeiffer, Michael Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you are a Tom Hanks fan, you need this book. Full of pictures and stories, it's a great compilation of his amazing career so far. Until I read it, I hadn't remembered just how many important films he's made. Fascinating!


Flint House
Flint House
Author: Nancetta Liles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


If you like ghost stories, this is for you. It's set in the close vicinity of Asheville, North Carolina in a huge, creepy mansion. ( I pictured Biltmore House as I was reading.) The characters are well drawn and you CARE about them. You'll even begin to care about some of the ghosts and spirits.

This author has done her historical homework. It's obviously been well researched on a number of topics. It's also fun to read if you live in or have visited Asheville because she mentions local businesses and landmarks. But it won't detract from your enjoyment if you haven't.

I highly recommend this book and wish Ms. Lyles would write another. She spins one heck of a yarn with plot twists aplenty. It would make a terrific movie!


The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 689
Review Date: 4/19/2008
Helpful Score: 12


This book is amazing, intelligent and thought-provoking. It's my first exposure to Margaret Atwood and, on the strength of this one, I'll be reading her other books.

A cautionary tale, told through simple fiction, it more than deserves all the attention it garnered. A must read!


The Hidden Life of Otto Frank
The Hidden Life of Otto Frank
Author: Carol Ann Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/21/2007
Helpful Score: 7


In this shocking and definitive new biography, Carol Ann Lee provides the answer to one of the most heartbreaking questions of modern times: Who betrayed Anne Frank and her family to the Nazis? Probing this startling act of treachery, Lee brings to light never-before-documented information about Anne's father, Otto Frank, and the individual who would claim responsibility -- and their terrifying and complicated relationship that continued until the day Frank died.

With The Hidden Life of Otto Frank, Carol Ann Lee presents an astonishing and moving portrait of a man whose life, both charmed and cursed, was interwoven with one of the most momentous events of the last century as the father of Anne Frank. Based on impeccable research into rare archives and filled with excerpts from the secret journal that he kept from the day of his liberation from Auschwitz until his return to the secret annex in 1945, this landmark biography explores every facet of Frank's life. The publication of Anne Frank's diary turned this quietly heroic man into a legend, but until now, apart from a few basic facts, almost nothing has been written about Otto Frank's own extraordinary life.

The father of the most famous young girl of the twentieth century, Otto Frank was born a month before Adolf Hitler, and grew up in a wealthy German Jewish household. In World War I, he fought for Germany -- which he believed to be his homeland -- as an officer in the trenches of the Somme. Lee documents these privileged early years, when Frank and his family were models of wholly assembled European Jewry. She also reveals the full story behind Frank's first cruelly thwarted love affair, as well as the truth about his subsequent arranged marriage to Anne's mother.

After struggling to establish a business in Amsterdam, Frank and his family spent happy years together before the war. Then came their period in hiding, their eventual betrayal, and their internment in the death camps of Poland and Germany. For the first time, Frank's experiences during and after Auschwitz -- and during his return to Amsterdam, where, wholly destitute, he lost everything "except life" -- are told in full. The subsequent delivery of his daughter's diary, and the publishing phenomenon that ensued, helped him begin to recover.

Deeply moving and powerfully honest, The Hidden Life of Otto Frank authoritatively brings into focus a little-understood man whose story illuminates some of the most harrowing and memorable events of the last century.


Hollywood's Silent Closet
Hollywood's Silent Closet
Author: Darwin Porter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 1.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/18/2011


A complete and utter joke and poorly written at that. Had I known this was fanfic, I would never have wasted a credit on it. I'm sure there's better gay erotica out there. This is just sludge.


The Nazi Officer's Wife: How One Jewish Woman Survived the Holocaust
The Nazi Officer's Wife: How One Jewish Woman Survived the Holocaust
Author: Edith H. Beer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 10/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


If not for the urging of her daughter, Edith Beer wouldn't have written this book and this amazing story of courage and ingenuity would have been lost to history. It is of paramount importance to preserve first person accounts of the Holocaust and this one is fascinating.

Mrs. Beer is what is termed a "U Boat" ( called so by this type of survivor themselves). The reference refers to spending the war "just under the surface", akin to "hiding in plain sight".


The Summer I Dared
The Summer I Dared
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 10/19/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This was the first book of Delinsky's that I'd read. It centered around a strong, intelligent woman and I really enjoyed it. I'll be reading more of her books for sure.


The Tender Bar: A Memoir
The Tender Bar: A Memoir
Author: J. R. Moehringer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 1/31/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was one of those books that I was sorry to see end. It's full of fascinating characters; some wonderful-some jerks. Moehringer survived an impoverished childhood and an absent father by surrounding himself with a whole group of "father-figures", the denizens of a neighborhood bar.Not only does he learn how to be a man, he sees the type of man he does NOT want to emulate.

Do yourself a favor and read it. It's all there-charm,heartbreak,humor and hope.


What Happened: Inside the Bush White House and Washington's Culture of Deception
Review Date: 7/22/2009
Helpful Score: 8


I had high hopes for this book, but ultimately, was disappointed. I don't think any thoughtful, logical person would have blamed McClellan for the lies he disseminated for Bush and company. But after he found out, why didn't he resign and blow the whistle? He has plenty of connections in Texas ( he's Dean Keeton's grandson, for pity's sake !!! ) and could have found another job quickly.

McClellan's book is too little, too late. It's just the whining apologia of another "good ol' boy".


1 to 19 of 19