Charlene D. (Silk) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Act of War (Scot Harvath, Bk 13)
Act of War (Scot Harvath, Bk 13)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/5/2016


Anything written by Brad Thor is fabulous! This book is no exception. It is written in such a way that there is a surprise around every corner! Every time you think you know what is going to happen - boom! - Thor throws a curve in the story line! He is an amazing writer!!


The Apostle (Scot Horvath, Bk 8)
The Apostle (Scot Horvath, Bk 8)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 6/5/2016


STUPENDOUS! What more can I say? It's a book written by Brad Thor! He has no equal! Each and every book of his is different, delightful, thrilling, fabulous and just damned great!!!


Arise from Darkness: What to Do When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Review Date: 8/20/2011


Benedict Groeschel is one of the wisest, and most spiritual writer and speaker one could hope for. His writing is amazing, and he speaks to our souls and hearts.


Chill of Night (Night, Bk 6)
Chill of Night (Night, Bk 6)
Author: John Lutz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 3/1/2008


Any book by John Lutz is terrific and this is no exception! It is truly chilling!! Loved it! He is the master of suspense!


Die Trying  (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Die Trying (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 353
Review Date: 9/1/2009


Loved this book as well as all other books by Lee Child! What a writer! What an imagination! He keeps you in suspense and just when you think you MIGHT know the answers, he turns the game around completely. Love all of his books!


The Dying Hour (Jason Wade, Bk 1)
The Dying Hour (Jason Wade, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Mofina
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/29/2011


I didn't care much for this book. It was the first I have read by Rick Mofina and I was very disappointed. The focus of the book was on the reporter, Jason, rather than on the main character, the woman who was kidnapped. I wanted to know more about what was happening to her.

The ending was quickly wrapped up with lots of questions - at least on my part - and few answers. I don't think I will be reading any more of Mofina's books. This left a negative taste.


The Fancy Dancer
The Fancy Dancer
Author: Patricia Nell Warren
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/18/2008


I found this a very compelling book. It's about a priest who struggles with his sexuality and the influences around him. He is very likable and could be anybody's parish priest. Temptation is always around them. Good book!


Fear the Night
Fear the Night
Author: John Lutz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/5/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Lutz is the master of suspense! I had to get to the end, but I didn't want the book to end! What a writer!! Great book!


First Family (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Bk 4)
First Family (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Bk 4)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 4/24/2013


In keeping with Baldacci's style, this is a suspenseful which demands your attention! It is excellent! I love all of his work! Hope he never stops writing!


Gifts & greetings
Gifts & greetings
Author: Izumi Hayashi
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 5/20/2007


Hardcover; great coffee table book and extremely useful. Has a special section on wrapping techniques and terrific ideas - with photos - of how to wrap gifts and how to create exquisite gift packages. This book sells for $39.95. Dust cover is beautiful and it and book are in perfect condition. Would be great for a gift.


Hidden Prey  (Lucas Davenport, Bk 15)
Hidden Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 15)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 9/1/2012


Vintage Sanford! Fabulous! What a writer! I live for the "Prey" books! Sanford is truly a master of suspense! Love his books! You can't go wrong with any of Sandford's books!


Killjoy (Buchanan-Renard, Bk 3)
Killjoy (Buchanan-Renard, Bk 3)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 2/15/2007


Good book! Lots of twists and turns and just when you think you know where it's heading, it takes off in another direction. Grabs you from the first line! Read it!


Mr. Murder
Mr. Murder
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 314
Review Date: 3/19/2007


Not one of his best books, not then he is turning out books too fast to give much thought to them anymore. This book was quite a stretch of the imagination, almost absurd at times. It was OK, but nothing to rave about.


Nightlife
Nightlife
Author: Thomas Perry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Thomas Perry is amazing! This is definitely one of the most exciting and suspenseful books that I have read in a long, long time! You won't put it down! Great characters! Loved it!!


Path of the Assassin (Scot Harvath, Bk 2)
Path of the Assassin (Scot Harvath, Bk 2)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 3/18/2008


This is a real thriller! First book I've read by Brad Thor, but I'll be watching for more of his books! The topic is current and completely possible! Loved it!


Pursuit
Pursuit
Author: Thomas Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/25/2007


My first Thomas Perry book. It is fabulous! Suspensful! Clever! Fast moving plot! I now want to read everything that Perry has ever written! Great writer!! If it's mystery, suspense and good writing you are looking for, look no further!


Room
Room
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 419
Review Date: 9/29/2013


This is an incredible book, and extremely well written! It's from the headlines of a few months ago even though it was written a few years before we ever heard of that dreadful man who kidnapped three women off the streets of Cleveland and held them hostage for ten years, fathering a child by one woman and kicking the other woman until she lost the baby. In this novel, there is an amazing bond between the mother and her son. I shuddered when she asked him to play dead so that her kidnapper would take him out of the "room" and into the back of his truck to bury him. The child is amazingly intelligent and when he needs comforting he reaches for his mother's breasts - which shocks most people that she is still breast feeding him. But as the mother says, "There was nothing else to do." This book is exceptional!


The Ruins
The Ruins
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 3/2/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This was one of the most depressing and utterly useless books I have ever read! I wanted to throw this book out the window midway through it! I had a feeling that it would end just the way it did! I have never read a more depressing book! I am bitterly disappointed after reading rave reviews of Smith's first book. It is on my shelf to be read, but it will be a long, long time before I read it!! What a waste of paper and of my time!!


A Simple Plan
A Simple Plan
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 6/5/2007
Helpful Score: 8


The story is quite incredible. I would love to see the movie. What a mind. I didn't like Smith's second book, but this one, his first, blew me away! Just when you think nothing worse can happen, it does and it keeps on happening! It's a good book!!!


Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance, Bk 1)
Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 7/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


An unqualified five + stars for this book! This is the way a mystery should be written! It keeps you wondering, guessing and not knowing what the author will come up with next! Wonderfully written! This would make a terrific movie!!! Loved it!


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: