Traci B. (tlbrown206) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 83 - Page:
Glorious Appearing: The End of Days (Left Behind, Bk 12)
Glorious Appearing: The End of Days (Left Behind, Bk 12)
Author: Tim F. LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Whether or not you believe in the Bible, Left Behind does make for an interesting tale of comfort through crisis (especially post 9/11), conspiracy, a father's relationship to his daughter, and how a newsman deals with removing his feelings to get to a story. The best way to read this series is as a fictional novel in which extraordinary events have happened, people will start to believe in religion. Details are taken out of the Book of Revelation and fiction is added to make it an enjoyable read. I enjoyed the book and the and the rest of the series intense action and feeling which makes them page turners.


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, Bk 2)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, Bk 2)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 1495
Review Date: 8/30/2008


It's Harry Potter what can I say! He teachs us about courage, friendship, respect, love, the importance of history and destiny. Read a dozen times and will read again.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, Bk 4)
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, Bk 4)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 1898
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


It's Harry Potter what can I say. He teachs us about courage, friendship, respect, love, the importance of history and destiny. Read a dozen times and will read again.


Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, Bk 6)
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, Bk 6)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2806
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


It's Harry Potter what can I say. He teachs us about courage, friendship, respect, love, the importance of history and destiny. Read a dozen times and will read again.


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, Bk 5)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, Bk 5)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2293
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


It's Harry Potter what can I say. He teachs us about courage, friendship, respect, love, the importance of history and destiny. Read a dozen times and will read again.


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, Bk 3)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, Bk 3)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1548
Review Date: 8/30/2008


It's Harry Potter what can I say. He teachs us about courage, friendship, respect, love, the importance of history and destiny. Read a dozen times and will read again.


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, Bk 1)
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, Bk 1)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1373
Review Date: 8/30/2008


It's Harry Potter what can I say. He teachs us about courage, friendship, respect, love, the importance of history and destiny. Read a dozen times and will read again.


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 984
Review Date: 1/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The history detailed within this book is fascinating. The author does a great job of creating an atmosphere of actually being with the characters in the libraries and the monsteries of Eastern Europe.

I loved the personal touch of divoulging crtitical information through handwritten letters.

Bram Stroker only glimpses into the history of Dracula where this book brings a whole new perspective.


The House on Mango Street
The House on Mango Street
Author: Sandra Cisneros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 8/30/2008


A girl coming of age in the Hispanic quarter of Chicago, uses poems and stories to express thoughts and emotions about her oppressive environment.


I Love You Like Crazy Cakes
I Love You Like Crazy Cakes
Author: Rose Lewis, Jane Dyer (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/30/2008


Wonderful little book for adopted children. I can't wait to share this my little girl!


Incident Response and Computer Forensics, Second Edition
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Written by FBI insiders, this updated best-seller offers a look at the legal, procedural, and technical steps of incident response and computer forensics. Including new chapters on forensic analysis and remediation, and real-world case studies, this revealing book shows how to counteract and conquer todays hack attacks.

Great as a textbook and for those in the field. As an average read, you would probrably want to start with a more introducary read on the subject.


The Indwelling: The Beast Takes Possession (Left Behind No. 7)
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Whether or not you believe in the Bible, Left Behind does make for an interesting tale of comfort through crisis (especially post 9/11), conspiracy, a father's relationship to his daughter, and how a newsman deals with removing his feelings to get to a story. The best way to read this series is as a fictional novel in which extraordinary events have happened, people will start to believe in religion. Details are taken out of the Book of Revelation and fiction is added to make it an enjoyable read. I enjoyed the book and the and the rest of the series intense action and feeling which makes them page turners.


Kama Sutra: An Intimate Photographic Guide to the Arts of Love
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


one of the better books on Kama Sutra


Key of Knowledge (Key, Bk 2)
Key of Knowledge (Key, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 8/30/2008


Second book of this triology. Enjoyable read.


Key of Light (Key, Bk 1)
Key of Light (Key, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 8/30/2008


First trilogy of Nora Roberts that I read. Like the magical aspect of it and it kept me entertained and eager to read the next one. Not a big romance fan but it was tolerable.


Key of Valor (Key, Bk 3)
Key of Valor (Key, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 8/30/2008


Last book of this triology. Enjoyable read.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Heartbreaking story of the unlikely friendship between Amir, the son of a wealthy Afghan businessman, and Hassan, the son of his father's servant. Amir is Sunni; Hassan is Shi'a. One is born to a privileged class; the other to a loathed minority. One to a father of enormous presence; the other to a crippled man. One is a voracious reader; the other illiterate.

The book brings the beauty and violence of this country, Afghanistan, to life. I have listened to the audio version also. The author is the reader and he is a fantastic storyteller.


The Last Lecture
The Last Lecture
Author: Randy Pausch, Jeffrey Zaslow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 596
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Full of arrogance but also very inspiring. It seems he lived his life to the fullest and wants to pass on his ideas and successes to others. The book gets you to look within and examine what it is you have accomplished and what your dreams are. He gives you inspiration to follow your childhood dreams.

I admire his outlook on life knowing that his time is limited. I hope that if ever faced with should a situation that I can see it the same way.


Left Behind (Left Behind, Bk 1)
Left Behind (Left Behind, Bk 1)
Author: Jerry B. Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 988
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Whether or not you believe in the Bible, Left Behind does make for an interesting tale of comfort through crisis (especially post 9/11), conspiracy, a father's relationship to his daughter, and how a newsman deals with removing his feelings to get to a story. The best way to read this series is as a fictional novel in which extraordinary events have happened, people will start to believe in religion. Details are taken out of the Book of Revelation and fiction is added to make it an enjoyable read. I enjoyed the book and the and the rest of the series intense action and feeling which makes them page turners.


Living Well on a Shoestring
Living Well on a Shoestring
Author: Yankee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Much of the information was common sense and the other half didn't make sense. Found very few useful tips. Advice, check out of library first to see if you really want it and don't waste the money or credit.


21 to 40 of 83 - Page: