Facebook

Ashley A. (faith4jesus) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Act of Marriage: The Beauty of Sexual Love
The Act of Marriage: The Beauty of Sexual Love
Author: Tim F. LaHaye, Beverly LaHaye
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


WONDERFUL book!!! I got married at the young age of 18. I had a long history of childhood sexual abuse too. I found this book about 3 or 4yrs ago and wish I had it when I first got married. This book changed my view of the "Marriage bed" and has opened my eyes.

I plan on giving this to my sister as a wedding gift.


Babyhood (Large Print)
Babyhood (Large Print)
Author: Paul Reiser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/19/2007


Very funny! At times reading it was like watching Mad About You. A great book.


Baby's First Book of Blessings: First Steps of Faith (Lullabible, 2)
Review Date: 5/11/2007


such a cute book. The pictures are really cute & full of bible verses to read to your baby or toddler. My little girl at age 6 loved the illustrations of the this book so much we had to buy it for her to read to her dolls. ; )


Bart Simpson's Guide to Life: A Wee Handbook for the Perplexed
Bart Simpson's Guide to Life: A Wee Handbook for the Perplexed
Author: Matt Groening
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/11/2007


I got this book as a teen and I have read it dozens of times. I love the book


Beauty for Ashes
Beauty for Ashes
Author: Joyce Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Wonderful book. Joyce Meyer is a wonderful person. This book really helped me a lot.


The Big Book of Losers : Pathetic but True Tales of the World's Most Titanic Failures! (Factoid Books)
Review Date: 9/11/2007


Fun to read. I love the lay out of the Factoid books which read like a comic book.


Chugga Chugga Choo Choo
Chugga Chugga Choo Choo
Author: Kevin Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/10/2007


My little boy has a lot of books but this has been one of his favorites. The pictures in the book are wonderful. The pictures show a little boy who has built like a town with his toys and his train travels through the town while the little boy is going to bed.
The story is short and simple yet the pictures bring the whole book to life.


Cruel Sacrifice
Cruel Sacrifice
Author: Aphrodite Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I read this book as a teenager & this book gave me nightmares. I read it again years later as an adult and again it gave me nightmares due to the graphic details of the crime.

I can watch horror movies without batting and eyes yet this book really got to me.

The book tells more about the killers than the victim. Teen girls kill a 12yr old girl. You will learn about the life of the girls and their childhoods. Some are pretty disturbing.

The details of the crime are very shocking and sick. A lot about the crime is very hard to read.

I've seen this shocking story featured on shows such as "Deadly Women", home made documentaries are found on Youtube & tons of Internet sites retelling the crime.


Disney & the Bible : A Scriptural Critique of the Magic Kingdom
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book pretty interesting. I'm a huge Disney fan & have been for years. I'm also a Christian, wife & mom. One day doing I went to friend's website and she had a link about Christian's protesting Disney! I was shocked. I got the book and read it. While I don't agree with it I did find it interesting.

Yes, my children still watch Disney movies. We have taken to Disney world & I am still a HUGE Disney fan. lol


English for the Thoughtful Child, Vol. 1
English for the Thoughtful Child, Vol. 1
Author: Mary Hyde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/16/2007


I love this book! I am a homeschooling mom of 3 & I am using this book with my girls. They are 7 & 11. It is great to have something that both of them can do together. I let my 7yr old do a small amount of work and my older daughter will do a little more work than her sister. They enjoy working together too.
The lessons are quick and easy. Plus each one is different than the other. I like the fact that there are discussions for us to have about pictures and even sentences.
At first my 11yr old was turn off about doing with her younger sister. Esp. the first few pages that would review a sentence and capital letters. But I liked doing the review to refresh her mind. After a few lessons she perked up and started to enjoy it.


Five Minutes' Peace
Five Minutes' Peace
Author: Jill Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/19/2007


A really cute book! I enjoyed reading this.


Friends
Friends
Author: David Wild
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/11/2007


lots of fun info for any Friends fan!


Halloween: What's a Christian to Do?
Halloween: What's a Christian to Do?
Author: Steve Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I bought this book a few years ago as a Christian mom wanting to learn more about the holiday. I had met a few other Christian families who wouldn't allow their kids to trick or treat. So after reading this book and a few other ones on the same subject I felt well learned.
My family LOVES Halloween and the fun it brings. I would recommend parents to read this with an open mind and a lot of prayer.
There is no right or wrong in how a Christian should handle Halloween. I say let your heart lead you in the right direction.


The Homeschooling Handbook (Revised 2nd Edition) (Prima's Homeschooling Series)
Review Date: 3/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


well written and easy to read


I Know What You Did Last Summer
I Know What You Did Last Summer
Author: Lois Duncan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/11/2007


Wonderful book. I read it years before the movie.

Like most books this book was different than the movie. I honestly think this was better than the movie.


If You're Missing Baby Jesus : A True Story that Embraces the Spirit of Christmas
Review Date: 4/3/2007


A very sweet story about a family who gets a nativity set, see that it has two baby Jesus's and post an ad about it.


Left Behind (Left Behind, Bk 1)
Left Behind (Left Behind, Bk 1)
Author: Jerry Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 407
Review Date: 5/11/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Wonderful book! My husband who isn't a reader couldn't put down this book or any of the others that go with the series! A must read for everyone!


Magic Eye, Vol 3
Magic Eye, Vol 3
Author: N.E. Thing Enterprises, Magic Eye Inc.
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/19/2007


I am one of the rare people who can not see the 3D images, but my husband & daughter tell me that what they see it really neat. lol


The Mist : In 3-D Sound
The Mist : In 3-D Sound
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 11/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I got this book as a teenager. I loved the fact that it was in 3D sound I must of have listened to it a million times. This is a must a have for any Stephen King fan.


The Movies (Prima Official Game Guide)
The Movies (Prima Official Game Guide)
Author: Greg Kramer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/11/2007


Lots of great pictures and info about playing the game "The Movies."


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: