Jeanne S. (bookwormmama) - Reviews

21 to 30 of 30 - Page:
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 4/26/2010


Absolutely love this book. Wish it were a true story, but I know it's based a lot of historical facts. Great read for book clubs, too. The narrative flows well and it touches on some great topics. I also like "The Bondswoman's Narrative", for a similar historical story.


Out of the Night That Covers Me
Out of the Night That Covers Me
Author: Pat Cunningham Devoto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/14/2009


interesting story. I liked the subject matter and some of the episodes. Not the best written or easiest story to follow, but definitely worth the read.


Sarah Morgan : The Civil War Diary Of A Southern Woman
Sarah Morgan : The Civil War Diary Of A Southern Woman
Author: Charles East
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/1/2012


I enjoyed the book, very much. It's a bit confusing to keep up with all the people Sarah refers to, but I find her voice charming, exasperating, poetic, and truthful. I want to slap her a little, when she writes about how uninteresting and uneducated she is. I find her just the opposite. What a miracle this survived and was published. She represents a part of our history that has not been often recorded.

I'm pleased to have made this discovery. Make sure you read a recent version of this, the original publications were edited heavily. The East version is complete and features a bit of background about the family.


Tales of the Greek Heroes: Retold from the Ancient Authors
Review Date: 4/12/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I didn't read it, but my 10 year old son loves this book. He has read through it several times. I ordered it after he became fascinated with mythology and the Percy Jackson Olympian series. Great companion to the book, as it provides the original Greek myths enhanced by Rick Riordan in the Olympian series.


Their Eyes Were Watching God
Their Eyes Were Watching God
Author: Zora Neale Hurston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/17/2009


I learned about Hurston from a PBS documentary and was curious to read one of her novels. This was my first and I loved the story. Hurston's use of dialect can be difficult to read at times, but the passion and life of Janie just grabs you and pulls you in. Janie is a woman on a quest for love, laughter, and her own life. It's a short read, but one that is memorable and unique. Hurston has a way of writing that is simple, yet eloquent. I hope you enjoy the book as I did.


The Thief Taker
The Thief Taker
Author: Janet Gleeson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 4/16/2013


Good story, though implausible in many ways. The mystery is tantalizing, but not overly complex. It's nice to see a strong female character for this era, but I have a difficult time believing that a wealthy man would seek help from a cook, in any circumstances. However, that aside, the story is entertaining.


The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Tale
Author: Diane Setterfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 923
Review Date: 1/21/2010
Helpful Score: 8


Just finished this and all I can think is, "WOW!" No other words for it. The plot twists are great, the characters are so complex, and I really enjoyed the beginning descriptions of the book store, Margaret's life, and how she feels when summoned to write the biography. An all-around fantastic read.

Someone mentioned how slow the beginning is, but I enjoyed it, as it set the tone for the rest of the novel. It's fanciful, gothic, gruesome, and a testament to the ties we have with our families. I kept thinking of all the romantic novels mentioned in the book, Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, etc., and how much the story was a tribute to their influences in literature.


This Book is Not Good for You (Secret, Bk 3)
Review Date: 4/26/2010


Another great tale from Bosch. My son really enjoys this series and it's great for those who are in the 9-12 year old range. Full of wit, sarcasm, and not always a happy ending, its a good and challenging read, but the content is still young enough for the pre-teen kids and early teens. Enjoy it with a bit of chocolate.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5273
Review Date: 3/9/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a read selected by my book club, and honestly, I would never have chosen it for myself. The book intrigued me, but I can't say that I loved it or suggest it as a must read. The storyline was hard to follow, with all the jumps in time, I often forgot what was happening. The love story was beautiful and unique, but they sure do love to get intimate! I kept thinking of Quantum Leap and the Journeyman, as I read. It'll be interesting to see as a movie, maybe it will make more sense then. I did like the way the author sets up the rules for his time travel. Great way to get around anachronisms and it also provides for some humorous incidents.

Overall, an interesting read, but not my favorite. Unique premise and setting.


A Year and a Day
A Year and a Day
Author: Leslie Pietrzyk
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/16/2013


I enjoyed this novel and found myself reading fast, to see what would happen with Alice. A great story following the highs and lows of a young woman struggling to accept her mother's suicide and the aftermath of this event. It takes place during her 16th year, as she is on the brink of 16.

In many ways, Alice is a typical teenager and we see her journey through grief and the discovery that people are more than what they appear. Pietrzyk develops her characters in many ways and as you journey with Alice, those layers come off and we discover, as Alice does, all the complexities that make up life.

Pietrzyk is a thoughtful author and I think you will enjoy the book and identify deeply with Alice and her family, especially if you grew up in rural America during the 1970s.


21 to 30 of 30 - Page: