sunshinems - - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess
7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess
Author: Jen Hatmaker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/22/2016


I found this book "convicting", perhaps because some of the author's journey through her simplification and clarification of what it truly means to walk closer to the Christian path are thoughts that have been working in my heart for a while. The realization of how truly rich we are, even when we may not be affluent, is enough to stop me short. Do I own two coats, do I own two jackets, do I have five blouses, or five pants or four pairs of shoes, several changes of underwear, more than two pans, etc. etc. We are so rich and we don't even see it. We have so much food at our disposal and we throw so much of it away. We have cell phones and computers and internet service and cable and go to the movies and take hot showers everyday on and on and on. Things we feel we are entitled to, that are par for the course, accepted as rights - all those things I have begun questioning. What is need in my life? What is greed in my life? These are the things that Jen Hatmaker's book has made me look at with new eyes. I definitely recommend this book, even if only to see her process and the benefits she and her family derived from this journey.


Binary Numbers (Young Math)
Binary Numbers (Young Math)
Author: Clyde Watson, Wendy Watson (Illustrator)
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/20/2014


Simple, Succinct and Interesting.


The Borrowers (Borrowers, Bk 1)
The Borrowers (Borrowers, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Norton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/21/2006


Charming, the Borrowers - explains fancifully what happens to all those little things that "disappear" at home.


The Brooklyn Bridge: A Wonders of the World Book (Wonders of the World)
Review Date: 12/27/2015


This is a very enjoyable book with a simple story line and great illustrations. I read it to my grandchildren, ages 3, 6 and 8 and they loved it. In fact, they wanted to read it again the next day. There are plenty of interesting facts and the illustrations sparked discussion about engineering, architecture, health, tourism and family. A great read!


A Drop Of Water
A Drop Of Water
Author: Walter Wick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/3/2015


Beautiful photographs and simple explanations.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 5/11/2015


I enjoyed most of this book. I think that the movie portrays her as rather shallow and self-indulged, but in reading the book I could truly understand her angst when she realized that her life was just not worth living the way she had until that moment. Depression is not a pretty place, and she's not afraid of showing that.
There is a depth to her self-discovery in the first part of the book that is not as evident toward the latter part but, nevertheless, it is an interesting journey of self-discovery, of letting go of the safe, expected path and letting go of fear.
It is thought provoking rather than entertaining.


Fallen from Babel
Fallen from Babel
Author: T. L. Higley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/25/2011


I enjoyed this book. Asan avid history reader, I'm also interested in historical fiction. The author weaves in many details into the storyline that I had not been aware of thus expanding my understanding of Babilonian culture.


GI Brides: The Wartime Girls Who Crossed the Atlantic for Love
Review Date: 9/3/2018


I truly enjoyed this book. It was so interesting to learn about conditions in England during the War. Even though much of the book focuses on the romantic aspects of the four ladies featured, their relationships with their own families, parents, siblings, grandparents, friends, neighbours and co-workers are also touched upon.
I have spent the last year reading mostly books surrounding WWII, during and post, I had not considered the GI brides, how many there were and how many moved to the USA after the war..
I definitely recommend this book to history buffs. It reads like a novel, but the stories are about real people.


Insects:  A Guide to Familiar American Insects
Insects: A Guide to Familiar American Insects
Author: Herbert S. Zim, Clarence Cottam
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/14/2006


Wonderful resource - easy to carry in jacket pocket or backpack because of its size and weight.


Little Toot and the Lighthouse
Little Toot and the Lighthouse
Author: Hardie Gramatky, Hardie Gramatky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/19/2013


Cute little book about being watchful and courageous.


Little Toot on the Thames
Little Toot on the Thames
Author: Hardie Gramatky
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/11/2014


Lovely children's story about Little Toot's adventures and misadventures on the Thames River. Bravery, friendship, and helpfulness are lessons taught throughout.


Little Toot Through the Golden Gate
Little Toot Through the Golden Gate
Author: Gramatky Hardie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/19/2013


Lovely little story. Young kids enjoy reading about the difficulties that a "child" boat goes through and the importance of being true to yourself. A keeper!


The Scarlet Letter
The Scarlet Letter
Author: Nathaniel Hawthorne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/23/2006


The Scarlet Letter
An ardent young woman, her cowardly lover and her aging, vengeful husband - these are the central characters in this stark drama of the conflict between passion and convetion in the harsh, Puritan world of seventeenth-century Boston. Tremendously moving, rich in psychological insight, this tragic novel of shame and redemption reveals Hawthorne's concern with the New England past and its influence on American attitudes. From his dramatic illumination of the struggles between mind and heart, dogma and self-reliance, he fashioned one of the masterpieces of fiction. "the one American literary work which comes as near to perfection as is granted a man to bring his achievements." - Arnold Bennett
With a Foreword by Leo Marx
Published by the New American Library
A signet classic


The Signature of All Things
The Signature of All Things
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/25/2014
Helpful Score: 2


This was an interesting read. The story line is very plausible and it kept me moving forward, wanting to know what happened next. I learned quite a bit about nature, especially about mosses, and other plants and about cultural mores in the 19th century. I was a bit surprised at some of the sexual themes, so I would not share this book with young teenagers. Which, to me, is a shame because there is so much more to recommend it.


Silas Marner
Silas Marner
Author: George Eliot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 6/21/2006


Beautifully crafted language fill the pages of this heart-warming classic. George Eliot allows light, justice and fairness to shine through the darkness.


West from Home: Letters of Laura Ingalls Wilder, San Francisco, 1915
Review Date: 11/11/2016


Interesting read with good details about 1915 San Francisco from the perspective of a first time visitor from the Midwest. Highly recommended.


1 to 16 of 16