Book Review of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
reviewed on + 181 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8


As Jenny Lawson would say, "This book is dumb, you guys." The premise sounded great: a potty-mouth blogger who talks about her vagina a lot. Hmmm...when I put it that way, it probably doesn't sound like everyone's cup of tea, but it sounded good to me. Nope. I just felt like she was trying way too hard and really wasn't funny. At least to me. Several of my reader friends think this book is fantastic.

The Harry Potter episiotomy scar story (a conversation with her OB/GYN, not an actual event) and the stories from her HR jobs were the only parts that actually made me laugh. The rest was just eh. Some is even straight-up sad and depressing. I realize that life is that way, but I wanted funny. Only funny.

The GR blurb recommends this book for fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris. I really liked Bossypants, but was lukewarm towards Me Talk Pretty One Day. I think Lawson is closer to Sedaris on the comedy spectrum.