Book Reviews of Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer

Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer
Bad Dogs Have More Fun Selected Writings on Animals Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer
Author: John Grogan
ISBN-13: 9781593154684
ISBN-10: 1593154682
Publication Date: 9/24/2007
Pages: 256
Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 58

3.3 stars, based on 58 ratings
Publisher: Vanguard Press
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

10 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 507 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
This book is clearly intended to appeal to fans of Marley and Me (aka every literate person in America who has ever owned a dog), but those expecting more of the same may be disappointed. The "animals" section is brief, though it does contain an enjoyable essay about how the author's life changes after Marley and Me became a best seller. Most of the book is short essays on news happenings, people (mostly old or sick), or rants on smoking, smoking bans, (?) and littering.
As another PBS reviewer said, this is a waiting room read. I can see how Grogan's column would be enjoyable as a periodic newspaper feature, but as a collection I don't think the essays hold up as well.
The other strange thing is that the book clearly states that John Grogan had nothing to do with the publication. Although they are giving some of the proceeds to charity, the whole thing just smacks of someone else trying to profit from Grogan's success.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
Although it is no Marley, this was a very entertaining and quick read. Perfect for waiting rooms and commutes.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I loved Marley and me and was a little dissapointed with this book. It had some cute stories, but was no where near as good as Marley and Me.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on
Helpful Score: 1
Easy quick read, very enjoyable book from Grogan.Views on many subjects and interesting people
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 48 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Don't let the cute title fool you that this is a book full of adorable dog stories. About 1/3 is animal stories - the rest are rants and raves about Mr Grogan's pet peeves. I would not recommend this book. Period.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 20 more book reviews
A must read! Grogan excels, wonderful read!
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 3 more book reviews
If you need a pick me up, then this is the book for you. John Grogan is a very creative, honest and caring man who write his stories from the heart. He also has a great sense of humor!
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 2 more book reviews
Excellent author and delightful book.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 8 more book reviews
I read this after reading Marley. It wasn't what I expected, but a good read nonetheless.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 3 more book reviews
Great when you need a quick pick me up or feel good story. Lots of short stories/snippets.