Book Reviews of God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2)

God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2)
God Save the Child - Spenser, Bk 2
Author: Robert B. Parker
ISBN-13: 9780440128991
ISBN-10: 0440128994
Publication Date: 1987
Pages: 208
Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 108

3.9 stars, based on 108 ratings
Publisher: Dell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

10 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 517 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
I've always wondered how Spenser met Susan Silverman. It is told in this story which is typical irreverant Spenser. Very good story.
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 142 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
The 2nd Spenser novel. These early Spenser's are fun because Robert Parker does a great job of describing the clothes and fashions of the early 70's ... what a walk down memory lane!!
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 284 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Not my favorite Spenser book plot-wise but this is the book that introduces Susan Silverman to the mix. Their relationship is more important than the story, at least to me. There is a twist (a little one) to the ending.
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 142 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Parker (and Spenser) at his best. This is the 2nd Spenser novel. A must read for fans of Parker, Spenser, or detective fiction.
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 5550 more book reviews
Homophobic novel, Spenser gets into unnecessary fisticuffs (of course, most of what Spenser does is unnecessary), presumably to prove to a 15 year old what a true man is like.
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 11 more book reviews
One of Robert Parker's better writings.
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 36 more book reviews
Fast and hard.... No pun intended!
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 17 more book reviews
Fast Read.
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 171 more book reviews
A great read! Robert Parker is a master at capturing fascinating characters and great mysteries. His Spenser series starts in the late 60's-early-70's so each book is like a perfect time capsule for the way life was during those decades. Rather like an historical novel, but totally true-to-form since it was contemporary while being written. Absolutely marvelous books. I highly, highly recommend!
reviewed God Save the Child (Spenser, Bk 2) on + 389 more book reviews
FROM THE PUBLISHER
Appie Knoll is the kind of suburb where kids grow up right. But something is wrong. Fourteen-year-old Kevin Bartlett disappears. Everyone thinks he's run away -- until the comic strip ransom note arrives.
It doesn't take Spenser long to get the picture -- an affluent family seething with rage, a desperate boy making strange friends...friends like Vic Harroway, body builder. Mr. Muscle is Spenser's only lead and he isn't talking...except with his fists. But when push comes to shove, when a boy's life is on the line, Spenser can speak that language too.