Search - A Robin McKinley Collection

A Robin McKinley Collection
A Robin McKinley Collection
Author: Robin McKinley
Robin McKinley is best known for her tales about the mythical land of Damar, and the occasional retelling of time-honored fairy tales. This collection includes both -- the stories about Damar, "The Hero and the Crown" and "The Blue Sword," and Sleeping Beauty with a twist in "Spindle's End." — "The Blue Swor...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780142302330
ISBN-10: 0142302333
Publication Date: 9/16/2002
Reading Level: Young Adult
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.

4.5 stars, based on 4 ratings
Publisher: Puffin
Book Type: Paperback
Members Wishing: 21
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
Read All 1 Book Reviews of "A Robin McKinley Collection"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed A Robin McKinley Collection on + 70 more book reviews
I love these books. "The Hero and The Crown" is related to "The Blue Sword", but the stories can be read in either order and one does not require knowledge of the other. "Spindle's End" seems to give a nod to "Deerskin" (another McKinley book for adults) when they mention the country of the queen's origin.

All three are suitable for young readers, but also fun for adults. I love her twist on Sleeping Beauty. If you like Spindle's End also check out her two versions of Beauty and the Beast - "Beauty" and "Rose Daughter".

The Hero and the Crown is more of an up and down adventure than The Blue Sword.