Book Reviews of Sharpe's Devil (Sharpe, Bk 19)

Sharpe's Devil (Sharpe, Bk 19)
Sharpe's Devil - Sharpe, Bk 19
Author: Bernard Cornwell
ISBN-13: 9780061090288
ISBN-10: 006109028X
Publication Date: 8/15/1993
Pages: 368
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.

3.9 stars, based on 17 ratings
Publisher: HarperTorch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

4 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Sharpe's Devil (Sharpe, Bk 19) on + 43 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
An older, but no less audacious, Sharpe and Harper save the independence movement in Chile alongside the equally audacious Lord Cochrane. Great Cornwell adventure with a mix of actual history. I liked it.
reviewed Sharpe's Devil (Sharpe, Bk 19) on + 200 more book reviews
This is a fast-moving, well paced story. Though it is abridged, it still keeps the flavor of the original stories. It is set after Waterloo, which is after the original Sharpe books, but the author provides enough background information so it can be enjoyed by those who haven't read the other books. Sean Bean narrates, and nobody voices Sharpe better than the man who plays him on TV. Recommended for fans of the original series, Chilean history (the story is set in Chile) or historical fiction.
reviewed Sharpe's Devil (Sharpe, Bk 19) on + 13 more book reviews
Excellent addition to Cornwell's body of work. He never fails to bring his era to life.
reviewed Sharpe's Devil (Sharpe, Bk 19) on + 1058 more book reviews
Apparently this book, set in late 1820, early 1821 during the Wars for Independence in South America, will close the history of Mr. Sharpe. The story begins on St. Helena, with Sharpe a Major on half-pay and Sgt Harper, a successful publican in Dublin, traveling to Chile as a favor for an old acquaintance. while they are going about their business, they fall in with Admiral Cochrane. To the end, the series includes descriptions of bloody wounds and deaths in combat. It is somewhat of a mystery, in that Mr. Sharpe and Mr. Harper have to figure out who is lying to them....
Captain Hornblower is not encountered, Beat to Quarters (1937) that had him on this coast having taken place in 1808.
As this was published in 1992, it does tie up all the outcomes for the characters encountered in previous books.
This series, except the short stories such a Sharpe's Ransom, was included in a box and two bags of books left at the old soldiers and sailors' home. I put out this series a couple at a time and pulled them a couple at a time after eight weeks, as I did with a nice group of westerns that were mostly well-written novels from the second half of the 20th C. but not as common as some of that genre. We have few readers and no takers on this adventure series or the westerns, so I took the latter and a few of the former to the free book truck at the VA Hospital, where I will in due course take the WEB Griffin books I am now putting out each week.
As the space for new books has been limited lately (and I am limited in how many I can carry on the bud), I am going to try to fulfill wishes with some of the Cornwell books, hopefully finding someone who needs several so I can ship one package for one credit and the rest free. Whoever these somewhat well worn books belonged to seems to have enjoyed well written guys' tales. And Cornwell does write well, although there is a little too much description of bloody entrails for my taste.