Search - Dear Edward: A Novel

Dear Edward: A Novel
Dear Edward A Novel
Author: Ann Napolitano
After losing everything, a young boy discovers there are still reasons for hope in this luminous, life-affirming novel, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Patchett. — In the face of tragedy, what does it take to find joy? — One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his parents, and 183 other passengers board ...  more »
ISBN-13: 9781984854780
ISBN-10: 198485478X
Publication Date: 1/14/2020
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15

4.2 stars, based on 15 ratings
Publisher: The Dial Press
Book Type: Hardcover
Members Wishing: 162
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

virgosun avatar reviewed Dear Edward: A Novel on + 756 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Read this one because it's wonderful in a haunting, traumatic sort of way. It's the type of book that leaves a lasting impression. The tale toggles between past and present, which turned out to be really effective. It was like two tales at once, both equally riveting for different reasons. I began to dread the intimate accounts of the passengers on the flight in the final countdown to the crash. Those affected me deeply. All the what-ifs. In some sections, it was a tough and emotional read. And a novel that compels me to delve into the actual events that were the inspiration behind the work make it especially memorable. 4.5 stars.
esjro avatar reviewed Dear Edward: A Novel on + 680 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Dear Edward tells the story of a 12 year old who is the sole survivor of a plane crash that kills the rest of his family. The story is told in chapters that alternate between the flight and Edward's life after the crash. Edward's story was sad and moving, but much of the plane portions focused on other people on the flight. I didn't feel much of a connection to the other characters, as not enough of their stories were told to have much emotional resonance. Although sad, the story is ultimately hopeful.
debbiemd avatar reviewed Dear Edward: A Novel on
Helpful Score: 1
Great book. Sad but hopeful. Edward is on a plane with his family, both parents and an older brother, when he is 12. The plane crashes and 191 people die. Edward is the only survivor. Chapters alternate between the plane flight and the next six years of Edward's life. His grieving process, his family and friends, and how he finds the strength to live again and forge a new path. And make good out of his new world.
Read All 3 Book Reviews of "Dear Edward A Novel"


Genres: