Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Bonnie S. (Bonnie) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 418 - Page:
10% Happier: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually Works--A True Story
Review Date: 12/29/2019
Helpful Score: 1


Truly one of the most interesting books on why we should meditate and how easy and helpful it can be that I've read so far. I've read many. Lots of anecdotes so it isn't just a textbook; more a memoir.


101 Ways to Stop Eating After Dinner
101 Ways to Stop Eating After Dinner
Author: Nancy Butcher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 5


A very thin paperback of ideas we all already know, but probably need to hear again anyway.


11/22/63: A Novel
11/22/63: A Novel
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/17/2012


I have thought and thought about this...yes, it was a good listen while I cooked, cleaned, did crafty stuff in the house. It kept me company. I was listening to the lives of some friends, chuckling as they brought up a few memories from our far past. I got to know these people, inside and out, in a way that only King can accomplish. I've said many times, no one does characterization like Stephen King. That is usually why I love his loooong books. But even a character-driven story needs something to happen now and again, and in reality, except for meeting new people and a couple of beatings, nothing ever happened. Nothing.

The denoument of Kennedy/Oswald was so glossed over, so minor, that it shocked me that a whole 30 plus hour book was written about it. Not to spoil anything for others, but you who have read it will know who I mean....when there was the death of a major character, I didn't give a crap. I didn't much care how George/Jacob grieved. The only time I felt sad about it was when Deke, the old man, talked about it. And, if you must know, I am a total wimp when it comes to deaths and other griefs in books or movies. I will cry and think about these things for weeks.

Anyone who's taken writing courses or attended writing conferences knows the any author or editor will tell you, you can save a book with that hit them between the eyes beginning that will grab the reader, then you will make the reader always recall your book fondly if you give them an ending that is heartwrenching, in a good way or bad. Tender, sweet...memorable. And that is my very point about 11-22-63.

This book started off so well, a terrific premise. That last scene...it made the listen almost worth it. It was tender, so beautifully written, and in my case, so lovingly read, that I thought about it long after the story ended. I loved loved loved the ending.

Thus...this book seems far far better than it actually was for me. Like I said earlier...if it hadn't been Stephen King, I doubt it would have gotten past the first reader to an actual editor's desk for consideration.


11/22/63 (Audio CD-MP3) (Unabridged)
11/22/63 (Audio CD-MP3) (Unabridged)
Author: Stephen King, Craig Wasson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/17/2012


I have thought and thought about this...yes, it was a good listen while I cooked, cleaned, did crafty stuff in the house. It kept me company. I was listening to the lives of some friends, chuckling as they brought up a few memories from our far past. I got to know these people, inside and out, in a way that only King can accomplish. I've said many times, no one does characterization like Stephen King. That is usually why I love his loooong books. But even a character-driven story needs something to happen now and again, and in reality, except for meeting new people and a couple of beatings, nothing ever happened. Nothing.

The denoument of Kennedy/Oswald was so glossed over, so minor, that it shocked me that a whole 30 plus hour book was written about it. Not to spoil anything for others, but you who have read it will know who I mean....when there was the death of a major character, I didn't give a crap. I didn't much care how George/Jacob grieved. The only time I felt sad about it was when Deke, the old man, talked about it. And, if you must know, I am a total wimp when it comes to deaths and other griefs in books or movies. I will cry and think about these things for weeks.

Anyone who's taken writing courses or attended writing conferences knows the any author or editor will tell you, you can save a book with that hit them between the eyes beginning that will grab the reader, then you will make the reader always recall your book fondly if you give them an ending that is heartwrenching, in a good way or bad. Tender, sweet...memorable. And that is my very point about 11-22-63.

This book started off so well, a terrific premise. That last scene...it made the listen almost worth it. It was tender, so beautifully written, and in my case, so lovingly read, that I thought about it long after the story ended. I loved loved loved the ending.

Thus...this book seems far far better than it actually was for me. Like I said earlier...if it hadn't been Stephen King, I doubt it would have gotten past the first reader to an actual editor's desk for consideration.


Accordion Crimes (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Accordion Crimes (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Annie Proulx, Edward Hermann (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/7/2007


Edward Herrmann reads, and he is wonderful.


Adventures in Yarn Farming: Four Seasons on a New England Fiber Farm
Review Date: 6/26/2023


This is a physically beautiful book, but I cannot figure out why it had to be so heavy. It is surely the weight of 2 hardcovers its size. And weight matters. The year on a fiber farm is very interesting, even if you are not all that interested in sheep, yarn, or fiber arts. I thought even the explanations of the how's and why's of haying were worth reading. The photos were lovely, but I've never seen a book with lots of photos that did not have captioning. Never realized it mattered so much. The author, who is a good writer, added patterns, which were nice. They'd certainly have to be copied as it would be inconvenient trying to follow patterns in such a heavy book. Though it may not seem like it, I really do recommend this book especially if you are a knitter or crocheter.


Adverbs CD : A Novel
Adverbs CD : A Novel
Author: Daniel Handler
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/26/2008


I hated this book and could not finish it. But that doesn't say much, does it. I didn't like the tone, the lalala-ness of it. I didn't like the story line. The reader annoyed me. I sure hope I just wasn't having a bad day and it is really a marvel of a story.


All the Pretty Horses
All the Pretty Horses
Author: Cormac Mccarthy
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/23/2008


A quick read by Brad Pitt. If you liked the movie you should like this. But if truth be told, I was bored by the author's writing style when I read the book (didn't finish it), didn't watch the whole movie, and was even more bored when listening to this audio. Foolishly persistent, but I was determined to figure out why this was so popular. I never did.


The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton
The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton
Author: Jane Smiley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


All those great reviews! Gee, I had a really hard time getting through this book...and I love Westerns. But this one dragged and dragged, and I remember the narrative overpowering the flow of the story.


Allen Carr's Easyweigh to Lose Weight
Allen Carr's Easyweigh to Lose Weight
Author: Allen Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I've seen miracles worked with his quitting smoking book, but this one just turned me off. I don't see it working.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 557
Review Date: 9/7/2007


Depressing, but very good read.


Angels in My Hair
Angels in My Hair
Author: Lorna Byrne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/3/2018


Note, the review below was for the print book. I was recently drawn to the audio and loved it. 4 stars, and much more interesting with the brogue. I don't know why.
***************************

Usually I won't continue with a book I rate below 3 stars (average) but I was curious. By her own admission, Lorna was considered seriously mentally challenged by her family and school. Mostly it was because of her odd behavior and comments, as she saw and interacted with angels since she was a baby, and sometimes gave their advice to others. One teacher in particular refused to call on her when she would raise her hand to answer his questions because he didn't want to waste his time, and made it clear to her and to the class. And while her mother frequently ignored her, her father doted and most of her learning was from him, as she was not allowed to finish school. This might be why I thought the writing too simplistic, and at times, seriously bland with events mentioned not at all interesting. There were repetitions, frequently. So where was her editor? Why not a ghost writer even?

I read a lot of these books, and I will say that hers was different in perhaps the descriptions of the angels and how they acted/reacted and taught her. Though I am loath to say this because I will believe anything, I found some things just too fantastic.

It is an interesting read in some parts, though.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 824
Review Date: 9/7/2007


I enjoyed this book, getting to know the characters. It spans the years and the emotions, but don't let the title fool you. It is a facetious name these women give themselves and their "book club." I just wish the author had gone a bit more into the characters reviews of the books.


Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Author: Nick Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 5/1/2008


Well, I had a dang hard time getting into reading this book. Yet another where the author thinks that writing in a weird tense makes it more dramatic. I found the style and voice so annoying that I wouldn't waste my time going much beyond page 20.


The Antelope Wife
The Antelope Wife
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/7/2007


I couldn't believe there was a book written by this author that I had to struggle through...but I did.


APHC Christmas (Lake Wobegon)
APHC Christmas (Lake Wobegon)
Author: Garrison Keillor
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/20/2008


Too much silly music, which could be typical for this show, but not nearly enough great talking as I would have expected and liked.


Appetites: On the Search for True Nourishment
Appetites: On the Search for True Nourishment
Author: Geneen Roth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was the first of her books that I actually couldn't finish. Too much babbling.


The Apron Book: Making, Wearing, and Sharing a Bit of Cloth and Comfort
Review Date: 1/26/2015


A fun book to be savored and picked up and glanced through again and again. Part history, part instruction, it is chockful of sweet essays about aprons, sewing, cooking, moms, and grandmothers. Not only are there simple sewing instructions throughout, there is an envelope in the back holding an easy pattern for an apron. A keeper for sure.


The Atlas of Middle-Earth
The Atlas of Middle-Earth
Author: Karen Wynn Fonstad
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 9/7/2007


A really great old book...a true guide to Tolkien's world.


Audiobook (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Audiobook (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Whoopi Goldberg
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/11/2007
Helpful Score: 4


If you like The Whoop, this is a fun listen. I wish she didn't use the F word so much (though she didn't really overdo it) as there were quite a few segments that would have been appropriate for children, and fun for the whole family on a long trip. She talked about growing up in New York, snow-sledding, Christmas, her hatred of eggs. Kids would have loved all that, esp the segment on farts.
But then, she did talk about men, and the difficulty they have with their aim, and their pubes on the soap, and pissing in the bathtub and the bathroom sink...


1 to 20 of 418 - Page: