Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2)

The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2)
The Servant's Tale - Sister Frevisse, Bk 2
Author: Margaret Frazer
It was Christmastime, and the sisters of St. Frideswide cannot turn away travelers...even the players knocking at the nunnery door. But along with the motley troupe comes the grievously wounded husband of the cloister's scullery maid, Meg. They swear they found the drunken wastrel in a ditch...but the tale sounds like another song and dance....  more »
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780425143896
ISBN-10: 0425143899
Publication Date: 11/1/1993
Pages: 240
Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 63

3.8 stars, based on 63 ratings
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Members Wishing: 2
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2) on + 204 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Book 2
the ending totally had me surprised! We also meet Joliffe who is the main character in another series by same author. This is a good one!
lnicolay avatar reviewed The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2) on + 19 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
An entertaining read. There are plenty murders involved but, like the first of the Sister Frevisse mysteries, I was able to guess the murderer early in the novel. Despite that fact, I enjoyed the book and enjoyed reading of the new characters introduced. It is also interesting to compare the portrayal of the crowner in these novels and the crowner in the Crowner John Mysteries. Reading medieval mysteries by different authors shines light on medieval life and times.
reviewed The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2) on + 83 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Enjoyable, medieval mystery. Follows the book "The Novice's Tale" but can be read as a stand-alone. I believe "The Boy's Tale" follows this one and I have it on my shelf but haven't read it yet.
wgw avatar reviewed The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2) on + 136 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
In the tradition of Ellis Peters' Brother Cadfael, Sister Frevisse is good at discerning both spiritual and secular mysteries.
Read All 12 Book Reviews of "The Servants Tale Sister Frevisse Bk 2"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2) on + 17 more book reviews
I enjoyed this book for several reasons. I liked the realistic way the author writes about the medieval period of history. She appears to have an extensive knowledge of the period and helps the reader to imagine really being there. At the same time, she tells a good story. Her characters are interesting and she keeps the reader focused on her story.
It got a 4 out of 5, because it's not a life changing book; but it was a very good read, and I will read more by this author.
reviewed The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2) on + 4 more book reviews
Another intelligent nun who keeps you interested until the end.
reviewed The Servant's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 2) on + 254 more book reviews
This was my introduction to Sister Frevisse. As a sleuth, I like her. She has some depth to her background and I suspect it is being slowly revealed as the books go on (I could be wrong on that, it might just be being repeated, but I don't think so).

Unlike a lot of modern mysteries, this one actually has the sleuth doing some sleuthing and relies on the plot to move the story along rather than comedy. She also appears to have a good working knowledge of the time period. I don't know myself, but there were just touches here and there (and not overdone--characters didn't discuss things they'd already know, yet I had enough info to know what was going on even though I didn't know the time period. Nicely done).

If I found another of this series I'd read it. I don't think I was quite in the mood for something suspenseful when I read this, though, so I didn't enjoy it as much as I think I should have, given it was plot driven with a good character set and well written. Still, it had a good ending which redeems much and I will certainly give the author another try when I'm not so tense.


Genres:

Want fewer ads?