Search - Something in the Water: A Novel

Something in the Water: A Novel
Something in the Water A Novel
Author: Catherine Steadman
A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut?for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena. —   — If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?   —   — Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professi...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $27.00
Buy New (Hardcover): $9.99 (save 62%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $6.09+1 PBS book credit (save 77%)
ISBN-13: 9781524797188
ISBN-10: 1524797189
Publication Date: 6/12/2018
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 22

3.2 stars, based on 22 ratings
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 87
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Something in the Water: A Novel on + 1906 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This review is going to be rather short and sweet because I don't have all that much to say. Something in the Water is a well-written example of domestic suspense, the type of novel that's come in on Gone Girl's wave of popularity. Therein lies the rub: I was so not a fan of Gone Girl that I couldn't finish it. At least Catherine Steadman's characters aren't as obnoxious as those in Gillian Flynn's book, and I could stick with it to the very last page.

As I read the book, I could admire the writing, the characters, the story, and the pacing... but I simply could not care for the book. This review has more to do with me than it does with Steadman's work. I am tired of domestic suspense. I'm tired of reading books in which you can't trust any of your nearest and dearest. Just give me a simple murder and a dedicated cop to solve it. If you are a fan of Gone Girl and the domestic suspense subgenre, Something in the Water should be something that you will really enjoy. As for me, I'm going to steer clear of Domestic Suspense Circle and head for Harry Bosch Boulevard.
Read All 6 Book Reviews of "Something in the Water A Novel"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Something in the Water: A Novel on + 323 more book reviews
This thriller is kind of boring for the first 100 pages, but stick with it (if you can) because it gets exciting from then on. I read all the rest of it in one sitting and especially appreciated the male character who she meets through her prison documentary.


Genres: